We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Safe & Solid Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Safe & Solid Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Traveled with senior, a child, and one adult. Check in was quick and easy. Check out was quick and easy too. The grounds are well-kept, the parking was simple, beds were comfortable. I like the touch of bathrobes for all guests, including the children (much nicer for after-pool instead of strategically wrapping towels and dragging them all over the place).
TV reception was okay-sometimes static-y (but not most people's top priority in a hotel). A loud, old ceiling fan. A beeping delivery truck in the A.M. (but trash DOES need to be picked up & deliveries made). Pretty view of the golf course off of the balcony. A nice pool, a nice hot tub, both good for families. Other guests were also quite friendly, and the breakfast was good. (Yay! Waffles! Not to mention efficiently bussed tables!)

Room Tip: Be mindful about proximity to the pool and get the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersplustoddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    216
    72
    15
    13
See reviews for
158
226
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey County, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the tower suite, very nice except for the several hotel phone calls (malfunctioning) beginning at 3 a.m Our bill was discounted a bit at check out..Friendly staff, nice roomy room with fireplace,great amenities, good breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our clean, spacoiuos room had a fireplace and was on the ground floor with a balcony that opened up to the garden area (which is lovely). It was loctaed only a few steps away from the pool (which is heated to 83 degrees and salt water) with a separate covered spa and a beautiful outdoor fire place, with plenty of seating. The kids were in heaven with the heated pool and the adults were happy to curl up next tot he fire and watch our happy children frolic about.
The staff was very nice, they run what I would deem a wonderful little establishment. If you're looking for the Ritz, stay at the Ritza. If you're looking for a nice, little hotel to spend some quiet time with your family and relax in then your search is over.
The only downside: The room was quiet (which was awesome) until about 7:30 am when the free continental breakfast (it is an ample breakfast too with bagels, muffins, coffee, croissants, cereal, waffles etc. SUPER yummy!) is served and everyone in the hotel congregates right outside your patio to eat their breakfast. No sliding glass door is thick enough to keep the noise of 40-60 people talking and laughing from waking you up.
The uninvited morning wake up call is the only reason I didn't give The Half Moon Bay Lodge 5 stars. We really did have a lovely time other than the tons of people two feet from our sliding glass door at every morning 7:30 am.
We will absolutely be back, however this time we will be requesting a room a bit further away from the breakfast location and perhaps on the second floor.

Room Tip: Chooose a room away from the fireside room where they serve breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysTimeToRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My son booked this place for a golf outing & it was as convenient as could possibly be for our plan.Our group doubled up in rooms for the night & not a complaint one was heard.The breakfast that was complimentary was basic but well received & handy before a day on the links.We arrived late at night & the front desk was kind enough to grant our request for a late check-out(1 PM.)so we could freshen up after our round before another road trip.After it was all said & done , I would stay there again in the same situation.It is a beautiful location & a nice property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the great review and for your recent visit! We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your time here, and we hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Keith Wesselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The fridge in the room was broken. We called for service and we're told to wait for the next maintenance man. It was never fixed. The phone was also broken so we couldn't rely on a wake up call. There was an event that we were told was ending a 6 pm. It lasted all night. We we're told they only had first floor rooms which ARE really loud. I just wish the folks at the front desk would have been more honest with us. If you're going to give us a crappy room and there is a party next to it, at least be honest about it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fink61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I am truly disappointed to know that we didn't meet your expectations and would love the opportunity to learn more about your experience and address your concerns directly. Please call me at 650-726-9000 and I'll do all I can to make it up to you.
Sincerely,
Keith Wesselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for a wedding recently and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are spacious (perhaps 25' by 15'), and most have a balcony. We found them to be clean and quiet. The most memorable aspect of our stay was the complimentary breakfast, which included a waffle station and a selection of very fresh bread and fruit. There is no shuttle to the town center, which is not walkable, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I use Tripadvisor regularly when planning trips, and I am really glad that I took reviews seriously when it came to this hotel. It is a basic hotel in a pretty setting. The room was large and it was very clean when we arrived (it even had a "just cleaned" smell). The breakfast provided was basic: breads, cereals, make your own waffle kinds of things. I had read that the walls and floors were very thin, so I called the night before our arrival and requested a second floor room, as suggested by fellow Tripadvisors. Excellent advice! I had also read that the outside corridor was very noisy and people had a hard time sleeping, so I brought a small fan to create some white noise. Excellent idea! We slept soundly, with no interruptions. We did not hear a peep from any other guests until we turned off the fan that we had brought and, all of a sudden, we could hear every person coming up the stairs, walking by our door, even the shower of the room next door! It sounded like they were in our room without the fan! The advice that we gleaned from previous guests definitely made this a positive stay for us.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room. Bring something to create white noise, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
4.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Property: Half Moon Bay Lodge
Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing