We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never choose this!”
Review of Coastside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coastside Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked one room through Expedia, but my plan changed and I canceled it online on June 5th. To my surprise, they charged me $154 on July 10th for the room I canceled a month ago! I called them on July 11th and they promise me to refund in 3 days, but I haven't get my money now! I will never try is motel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank malanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam K, General Manager at Coastside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Malanly,

We do greatly apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately we do not always receive cancellation confirmations from our 3rd party providers in a timely manner. Depending on the provider of the card used to make the reservation, it may take up to 10 days for a refund to complete. If you have any questions, or to confirm a refund please do not hesitate to call us at 650-726-3400. Again, we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We paid $175.02 for one night including a $35 pet fee. Room is old and appeared clean. We had to move the bed out to plug in a cpap machine and it was obvious that they hadn't cleaned behind the bed in years. We were awoken by the sound of the maids running the industrial washers and dryers in the morning. We were just passing through and the location didn't matter. We should have continued on.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank collegemom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Yes, it is right off the highway. Yes, it is a motel. However, it is very well maintained. It was clean, and the staff was helpful and friendly. I stayed in some pretty old motels, and this one is very good. This was a good motel for a family with free breakfast. It is right next to Half Moon Bay State beach. A Mexican restruarant is right next store. When it comes to value this motel is a clear winner.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordonlbsmithjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Because we did not want to end our journey at an airport hotel, we decided to stay at the Coastside Inn in Half Moon Bay, which had a very convenient location for us: just in between of Monterey and the San Francisco airport. The room itself was not too big, but it was clean and calm, which was all that we were looking for. Adam at the reception desk helped us print our boarding passes and made great dinner recommendations. The included breakfast was standard but tasty (I especially loved the waffles). It's perfectly fine if you're looking for a simple stay in the Half Moon Bay area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Heading down Hiway 1 at 8:15, I saw this motel and drove past it and turned around to get a room for the evening. Upon check in I noticed their TRIPADVISOR emblem. Must be a nice place? Very comfortable room on second floor but at top of stairs and room had no view=we only saw the walls of the room over balcony (Couldn't peek out to check on car during night).
Room was nicely equipped and very clean an comfortable.
Breakfast was typical waffle and cereal and pastries coffee and juices but sufficed nicely. I would stay here again

Room Tip: Room at top of stairs on second floor has no view due to two other rooms extending out over parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daytripper19-20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a tidy, family friendly motel in Half Moon Bay. The breakfast was the make your own waffle, the scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, cereals, toast, were fine and I thought the coffee was particularly good. The bed was very comfortable. We had a good night sleep. I liked the proximity to the HMB beach off Kelly street. You could bike down to the beach, we drove and parked by 8:30am on the street. This was an affordable place to stay. The staff at the front desk were pleasant too! I would go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Only a few blocks from the ocean, and easy to find. The reception/breakfast area is pleasant, and there is a nice patio with tables and chairs. The room was comfortable, the water was hot, and it's always nice to have a mini fridge. There are several eating locations within a couple of blocks. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USAwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
266 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
971 reviews
2.3 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
192 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastside Inn

Address: 230 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-8207 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Half Moon Bay)
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £85 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is AAA Diamond certified as well as Green Certified through the California Green Lodging Program. Located along the scenic Pacific Coast Highway with its pristine, natural beaches, Coastside is ideally located between Kelly Beach and historic downtown Half Moon Bay ` home of the famous "Pumpkin Festival". Take the leisurely walk either direction ~ no more driving is necessary. With plenty of shops, dining, grocery stores and specialty shops. Enjoy the spa amenities, in room comforts of soft & warm bedding. Daily housekeeping service along with a full hot breakfast to get your day started. 24 hours front desk to service your every need. Close to SFO, downtown San Francisco, Peninsula and bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coastside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastside Hotel Half Moon Bay
Holiday Inn Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing