We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gardens”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Good: The beach house has wonderful gardens and superb views of boats, surfers, the beaches, and Half Moon Bay. The rooms are roomy and well-appointed. Dishes and silverware, and wine glasses are provided. An electric stovetop, microwave and a small fridge are standard. We keep coming back because overall, this is the best value in Half Moon Bay. The only cookware is a stovetop kettle, so bring what you need.

Not Bad but Set Your Expectations: Don't confuse this with a full-service hotel or spa, or you may be slightly disappointed. These units are privately-owned and are managed to keep repair costs low for owners. Most units we have stayed in over 10 years have persistent repair needs ranging from manual thermostats to sticking toilet flush systems.

Room Tip: The Partial Ocean view units which face North and South are cheaper, but we prefer their arrangement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandTour48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    265
    77
    29
    14
See reviews for
227
477
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
899 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,778 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Of course, the Ritz-Carlton is my favorite hotel in this area! We have now stayed in 4 different hotels in this area and The Beach House is my new #2 favorite. Last week we enjoyed 3 wonderful nights here in a Partial View Room. The rooms are very nice with a fireplace, small kitchen, two TV's and spacous bathrooms. Although I was not thrilled with the view our room had, the grounds, pool and oceanview jacuzzi made up for what the room was lacking in a view.

The Beach House offers a beautiful deck area with gorgeous views of the harbor and water where we enjoyed breakfast each morning. Fresh fruit, pasteries, juice and coffee were offered each morning starting at 7:30. I used the pool and jacuzzi daily, also. The pool was perfectly heated for swimming even when the weather was a bit chilly one day. I enjoyed chatting with the other families that were there with their small children.

There is access to the beach and walking trails from this property and although there is no room service offered, Sam's Chowder House is just steps away where I picked up lunch one day and took it back to the room to enjoy by the fire. There are robes in the room and comfy striped towels for the pool which you pick up at the front desk as needed.

The staff was very accomodating and made a fire and fresh coffee for my husband at 5:00 am who was working in the lobby. The wireless internet is complimentary and worked very well from the room and lobby. Next time we are going to pay a little more for a full view room, I think it's worth the extra $$$ for this. Our room had a view of Sam's parking lot and out on the small patio you could see the view of the harbor.

If you cannot afford the Ritz-Carlton, this is a lovely second choice. I give it an edge over the Hotel Oceano which I also love but the Beach House has the the pool, jacuzzi, outdoor deck area with seating and the breakfast.

I highly recommend a stay at this beautiful hotel in Half Moon Bay! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I flew in to SF and spent two nights, drove up to wine counttry and spent two nights, then drove down the beautiful HWY 1 to Half Moon Bay and spent our last night at the Beach House which was beautiful and perfect. The weather was sunny but cold, but being from Wisconsin that's nothing new and we loved every minute! We used the fireplace and I used the bathtub to take the chill off after spending a wonderful day outside enjoying the outdoors.

I did find this to be a good value considering the location, the view, and all of the ammenities. Especally after paying top prices for a very basic room in SF.

I did find the comment another patron made regarding asking for an extra half hour to check out and being denied interesting as we got there 17 minutes prior to our scheduled check in time and one of the ladies at the front desk scolded us, which at the time found rather humorous considering all the places we had seen and done in the last 5 days. Management might want to consider lightening up on that rule. Seems a little rude to scold paying guests for showing up 17 minutes early. We weren't 17 hours early. just 17 minutes early. Not a huge deal. Everything else was really, really nice. Loved the wine and cheese reception and the continental breakfast was really nice and fresh and delicious. Nice way to start the day. If we are ever back in the area we will most certainly book a room here again!

Room Tip: Our room was an ocean view on the second floor and we loved the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luluMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A perfect getaway for couples and only about 20 minutes away but an entirely different world from the city. Our balcony (although small) was facing the marina/bay and the view was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had our staff retreat at the Beach House and it was great! It's a small hotel without a bad room in it! I had the ocean view jr. suite which was spectacular! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Their catering staff is very hospitable and the food great! They don't have a restaurant on site but offer a list of restaurants nearby and even restaurants that will deliver. The fireplace in the rooms are a nice touch also. I highly recommend the Beach House if you're looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was a great hotel for our family vacation to Half Moon Bay. The rooms were comfortable, and spacious enough to accommodate an extra uncle on the sleep couch plus an infant in a pack and play. It was windy and cool while we were there, so instead of the kids playing in the sand on the beaches as we had planned, we instead enjoyed playing in the heated pool and large hot tub. The complimentary breakfast featured good pastries (not stale), bagels, fresh juice and milk, and an excellent fruit salad. Though the hotel doesn't have room service or a restaurant, the excellent Sam's Chowderhouse was right next door, and was excellent and so convenient that we ate there two of our three nights.

Our bathroom included both a shower and a bathtub, which is very helpful for bathing kids.

My one complaint would be that something was not quite right with the track of the pocket door closing off the bathroom. Sliding the door closed was difficult and noisy, so we either risked waking up the baby or gave up bathrooming privacy.

The hotel is right on the harbor beach, so in less windy weather, it would be a great place for kids to go to a sheltered beach to play.

Highlights of the trip for us included hiking the short trails on the bluffs above the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve/Seal Cove.

The 3-Zero cafe at the local airport was a great spot for breakfast if you do choose to go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 201 and 202, which share a little foyer with its own locking door, so a larger fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Triplebock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This was a wonderful surprise! We desperately needed to get away for one night this week due to an emergency, but could not go far from home. I searched and searched for something local, and decided to try the Beach House. Growing up in SF, Half Moon Bay has always been one of my favorite day trips. To turn it into an overnight was heaven. The suite was beautiful, clean, modern. We were on the first floor and had full view of the ocean. Incredibly comfortable bed, double sinks in bathroom, and very welcoming and helpful staff. Even though this was a splurge for us at $250 per night, it was worth every penny. Our daughter LOVED the heated pool and hot tub, and we walked to dinner in Princeton - Barbara's Fish Trap is a favorite. Tidepools are only a couple miles away. Although we were only forty miles from home, it felt like a million miles away. We will definitely be back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.5 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
178 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Property: Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Address: 4100 Cabrillo Hwy N, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing