We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Nearby Hotels
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Bay Lodge(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Rose Inn(Half Moon Bay)
US$453
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$382
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nantucket Whale Inn(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastside Inn(Half Moon Bay)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,033
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$956
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveller rating
581
276
83
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
276
83
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssam's chowder housefog horncontinental breakfastjunior suitestove topocean viewmini kitchenbagelswine and cheese receptionpool and hot tubliving areasmall kitchenetteget awaythird floorfresh fruitno air conditioningwalking path
Filter
Updating list...
741 - 746 of 985 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Good: The beach house has wonderful gardens and superb views of boats, surfers, the beaches, and Half Moon Bay. The rooms are roomy and well-appointed. Dishes and silverware, and wine glasses are provided. An electric stovetop, microwave and a small fridge are standard. We keep coming back because overall, this is the best value in Half Moon Bay. The only cookware is a stovetop kettle, so bring what you need.

Not Bad but Set Your Expectations: Don't confuse this with a full-service hotel or spa, or you may be slightly disappointed. These units are privately-owned and are managed to keep repair costs low for owners. Most units we have stayed in over 10 years have persistent repair needs ranging from manual thermostats to sticking toilet flush systems.

Room Tip: The Partial Ocean view units which face North and South are cheaper, but we prefer their arrangements and the views are actually nice with much livelier views than the full ocean units. The higher floor you can get in the Partial View units, the better on the South side due to occasional kitchen chimney use below you. You can hear the hiss of the Pacific Coast Highway in the end rooms (and laugh at the traffic in Sam's Chowder House) even though the noise is low due to triple glazing-- The management thoughtfull provides soft earplugs in the bedside table drawers, too. Really not a problem unless your nerves are just shattered!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrandTour48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Of course, the Ritz-Carlton is my favorite hotel in this area! We have now stayed in 4 different hotels in this area and The Beach House is my new #2 favorite. Last week we enjoyed 3 wonderful nights here in a Partial View Room. The rooms are very nice with a fireplace, small kitchen, two TV's and spacous bathrooms. Although I was not thrilled with the view our room had, the grounds, pool and oceanview jacuzzi made up for what the room was lacking in a view.

The Beach House offers a beautiful deck area with gorgeous views of the harbor and water where we enjoyed breakfast each morning. Fresh fruit, pasteries, juice and coffee were offered each morning starting at 7:30. I used the pool and jacuzzi daily, also. The pool was perfectly heated for swimming even when the weather was a bit chilly one day. I enjoyed chatting with the other families that were there with their small children.

There is access to the beach and walking trails from this property and although there is no room service offered, Sam's Chowder House is just steps away where I picked up lunch one day and took it back to the room to enjoy by the fire. There are robes in the room and comfy striped towels for the pool which you pick up at the front desk as needed.

The staff was very accomodating and made a fire and fresh coffee for my husband at 5:00 am who was working in the lobby. The wireless internet is complimentary and worked very well from the room and lobby. Next time we are going to pay a little more for a full view room, I think it's worth the extra $$$ for this. Our room had a view of Sam's parking lot and out on the small patio you could see the view of the harbor.

If you cannot afford the Ritz-Carlton, this is a lovely second choice. I give it an edge over the Hotel Oceano which I also love but the Beach House has the the pool, jacuzzi, outdoor deck area with seating and the breakfast.

I highly recommend a stay at this beautiful hotel in Half Moon Bay! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I flew in to SF and spent two nights, drove up to wine counttry and spent two nights, then drove down the beautiful HWY 1 to Half Moon Bay and spent our last night at the Beach House which was beautiful and perfect. The weather was sunny but cold, but being from Wisconsin that's nothing new and we loved every minute! We used the fireplace and I used the bathtub to take the chill off after spending a wonderful day outside enjoying the outdoors.

I did find this to be a good value considering the location, the view, and all of the ammenities. Especally after paying top prices for a very basic room in SF.

I did find the comment another patron made regarding asking for an extra half hour to check out and being denied interesting as we got there 17 minutes prior to our scheduled check in time and one of the ladies at the front desk scolded us, which at the time found rather humorous considering all the places we had seen and done in the last 5 days. Management might want to consider lightening up on that rule. Seems a little rude to scold paying guests for showing up 17 minutes early. We weren't 17 hours early. just 17 minutes early. Not a huge deal. Everything else was really, really nice. Loved the wine and cheese reception and the continental breakfast was really nice and fresh and delicious. Nice way to start the day. If we are ever back in the area we will most certainly book a room here again!

Room Tip: Our room was an ocean view on the second floor and we loved the view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luluMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A perfect getaway for couples and only about 20 minutes away but an entirely different world from the city. Our balcony (although small) was facing the marina/bay and the view was amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had our staff retreat at the Beach House and it was great! It's a small hotel without a bad room in it! I had the ocean view jr. suite which was spectacular! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Their catering staff is very hospitable and the food great! They don't have a restaurant on site but offer a list of restaurants nearby and even restaurants that will deliver. The fireplace in the rooms are a nice touch also. I highly recommend the Beach House if you're looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews