We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful mini vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a wonderful mini vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here for one night but it felt like a mini vacation. It was so relaxing. We stayed in one of the first floor oceanfront rooms. The foghorn that others have mentioned didn't bother me. When the door is closed you can't really hear it. The room was clean and spacious. I definitely would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyKeWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    248
    71
    27
    12
See reviews for
208
448
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southern nj
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We only stayed one night, I wish we had a week. The room was beautiful and comfortable. We arrived late about 515 pm and changed and went right in the hot tub. What a beautiful relaxing place to be. This hotl is on the water. No restaurant, but plenty close by. We got a bottle of wine, ordered a Hawaiian pizza and sat outside our deck. Wonderful wonderful wonderful

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We are so glad this guest had such a wonderful experience with us and that they were able to enjoy all the wonderful amenities (especially the hot tub which over looks the ocean).

We look forward to seeing them in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife & I had a wonderful time at the Beach House. We included the :Seaside Escape Package" with our reservation. Such a great combination the Beach House has to offer. The continental breakfast was fantastic as well.

We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Penthouse view overlooking the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripCounsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home south jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

The junior penthouse suite is not cheap, but very nice, especially the views. The continental breakfast was fine. No air conditioning, which was not a problem during our stay (late June 2012); we needed sweatshirts pretty much the entire time. Restaurants around here are fairly pricey, though there are Donalds and Subway just a few miles down Route 1. Some have complained about the foghorn every 10 seconds. It's not the deep bass blast that I had expected, but more like a medium-pitched beep, a 370 Hz tone for you scientific geeks, F sharp above middle C (F#4) for you musicians. Much quieter with the sliding glass door shut. They give you earplugs. If you're a person that has something get on your nerves and can't make it stop getting on your nerves, maybe Half Moon Bay near the ocean isn't for you.

Room Tip: Highway 1 on the opposite side from the ocean is noisy with constant traffic. Rooms off the lobby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had 2 ocean view rooms that had their own little alcove (we could shut a 3rd door and our rooms were completely closed to the other rooms). We absolutely loved this place and the very kind, helpful people who worked the front desk. The rooms were spacious for our large family (we had 5 of our 6 children with us), the pool was lovely, and the other guests all seemed happy, too. The fruit and pastry breakfast was perfect for us. The fog horn was semi-noticable but was easily drowned out if you wanted it to be (by using room fan, etc.). We loved the fact that the rooms had fridges, microwaves, and toasters--the kids could reheat any leftovers from meals out. Sam's next door was terrific; for something different, try Moss Beach Distillery--incredible views but more expensive than Sam's. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: take the ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We found this hotel ideal for a perfect getaway. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We loved the wine and cheese in the evenings, the other guests friendly and it just seemed everyone was in a relaxing, good mood. This is our favorite hotel in Half Moon Bay and can't wait to return. Love the location right next to Sam's so we can walk over for music and entertainment. The rooms have a great view, and all the comforts, with a cozy fireplace. It's a great choice at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craignsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moraga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The room was nice and clean with 2 televisions. We felt very safe at the beach house and had a great time at the pool. We felt like we took a far away vacation even though it was only about an hour from our house. We will return to the beach house.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gilbertc402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.6 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Property: Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Address: 4100 N. Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing