We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROOM WAS NOT WHAT I BOOKED ON LINE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The room I booked on line which I have a picture off, was not like any room I saw when I arrived at location.The Mgr said they have the right to not have the pictured room, and all the rooms are alittle differant....yes they are, they DO Not look anything like the picture on line... so be advised these people do not honor their booking, which I booked on line, called them twice on the telephone to make sure of the room, but after all that , when We arrived there, the room was terrible...did not stay there, had to drive on down the coast at night.. I do not think they even have the room that is pictured on their web site, I think is was Photoshoped.

Room Tip: Look at the room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
5  Thank Don31373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

I am sorry to hear that this guest felt upset upon his arrival at our property. Yes, we do have a picture on our website of each room category, but we can only choose one picture for our brochure and website. All of our guest rooms have a few little differences, but they all have the same layout, square footage, and lovely amenities (spacious 400 square foot junior suite with joined bedroom area and living area, fireplaces, and complimentary Aveda spa products to name a few). We assisted this guest to the best of our ability and offered him other rooms to view to see if they were to his liking. He declined and decided to leave the property at no charge, and we wished him well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for 2nights at the Beach House recently. Our room had an ocean view and it was quite nice. They provide a continental breakfast with an assortment of pastries, bagels and cream cheese and a large bowl of mixed seasonal fruit. There was also coffee, tea and o.j. We found it to be quite adequate. Next door to the hotel is Sam's Chowder house which has great fresh seafood.
The grounds at the Beach House are really lovely and there is a courtyard area to sit and relax in the afternoon sun. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The hotel staff is great, the room is comfortable, and the number of restaurants within walking distance make this a very relaxing location. Highly recommended for couples!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs and you won't hear the foghorn. Deep sleepers like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was my 6th stay at the Beach House Hotel. The location is exceptional - ideal for coastal walks and bike rides - with great restaurants located within walking distance (Mezzaluna is a particular favorite). The atmosphere is relaxed and low key, suites are large and self-contained with comfy beds, kitchenettes, balconies and dazzling views and the staff are friendly and accommodating. I will definitely be back next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here for one night but it felt like a mini vacation. It was so relaxing. We stayed in one of the first floor oceanfront rooms. The foghorn that others have mentioned didn't bother me. When the door is closed you can't really hear it. The room was clean and spacious. I definitely would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyKeWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We only stayed one night, I wish we had a week. The room was beautiful and comfortable. We arrived late about 515 pm and changed and went right in the hot tub. What a beautiful relaxing place to be. This hotl is on the water. No restaurant, but plenty close by. We got a bottle of wine, ordered a Hawaiian pizza and sat outside our deck. Wonderful wonderful wonderful

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

We are so glad this guest had such a wonderful experience with us and that they were able to enjoy all the wonderful amenities (especially the hot tub which over looks the ocean).

We look forward to seeing them in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife & I had a wonderful time at the Beach House. We included the :Seaside Escape Package" with our reservation. Such a great combination the Beach House has to offer. The continental breakfast was fantastic as well.

We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Penthouse view overlooking the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripCounsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
185 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
1.0 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Address: 4100 Cabrillo Hwy N, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £197 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing