We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the quality I expected for the price I paid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at the Beach House on March 26, 2014. I paid $321 dollars and was upgraded to their Oceanview Suite at no extra charge. If this was $150 room it would have been fine. My guest described the hotel as "tired looking". Not exactly what I wanted for her to experience. Its a nice location and we stayed there becasue of its proximity to the SF airport. It is at the point where it needs a remodal. Carpets, couches, paint etc. A $300 place should be exceptional. The fog horn was not an issue until I got to thinking that a paid twice what the hotel room was worth.

Im also wondering why the second bed was a hide-away bed. My back still hurts! What is wrong with another normal bed for the $300 dollars?

Staff was excellent and beach nice. The place is just over priced for what it is currently. After a thorough remodal it would be well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Sarah G,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor, but I am disappointed to learn that the room wasn’t up to your expectations. All of our rooms have recently been updated, and as of March 23rd we replaced all sofa beds with new models that have pillow top mattresses. We do have some of the largest rooms on the coast; but even with our room size, it isn’t enough for two king size beds and still have room for a comfortable sitting area which we find is a well utilized space for reading, conversing with friends and family, or to watch the flames emanating from the authentic in-room fireplace. Thank you again and I do hope you would visit us again on your next west coast trip.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Beach House for our 23rd Anniversary...let me just say it was a perfect weekend! The staff and massage therapists were very nice and made sure our needs were taken care of. We had a room on the first floor (very quiet) with a king bed, two TVs, bar, refrigerator, fireplace including a fire log, bottle opener and the sliding door that led to the bay trails. The view was spectacular! Everything about the room was extremely clean and the down pillows and comforter were so cozy!! The yummy continental breakfast included assorted pastries, bagels, fruit, coffee, tea and fresh squeezed OJ. My one and only complaint was the lighthouse horn that sounded off every 10 seconds! All in all this was a great place to stay for our weekend away together! We will return in the summer!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Mehltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach-House_10, Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We are happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay for your anniversary. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spa services and very helpful staff. I agree with you " the view is spectacular". Though many guests enjoy falling asleep to the fog horn we do provide ear plugs in each room for those who prefer not to hear it. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to your return visit this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is situated in a wonderful location, overlooking the beach and harbour, and with direct access to the walking/biking path that goes along the coast. Easy to walk to a number of fun restaurants. Breakfast is great - lots of fruit, some pastries (could do with a bit more protein, perhaps some yogurt or meats).

So, it should be idyllic. However there is a fog horn that blasts every 10 seconds, 24/7, regardless of the weather. Most people perhaps can block this noise out, but I found it incredibly annoying. I would have liked to sit on the balcony watching the surfers - but the noise was too irritating. It was so bad that I had four of the worst nights sleeping that I recall in a hotel.

The hotel has responded to similar reviews by suggesting that this is to be expected on an ocean-side hotel, and that ear plugs are provided. But it is not to be expected - even a short distance further along the coast there is no such noise. And the idea of using ear plugs is not acceptable to me as I do not want to be unable to hear things - I don't like being without my senses!

Sorry guys, but the noise ruined what would have been a top notch stay. I won't be recommending this place until they have a better solution to the fog horn noise

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Adrian Z,

Thank you for your comments. I regret to learn that the fog horn had a negative impact on your otherwise pleasant stay. The intensity of the fog horn varies on winds, air density and weather. Being close to the harbor and all of the amenities there, as well as the functionality of the harbor itself, the fog horn is necessary for the safety of the ships that enter and exit the harbor. It is part of the coastal charm of Half Moon Bay, but again apologize for your experience.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Beautiful location, very peacefull! We were looking at the location as a possible stay for our upcoming wedding in Half Moon Bay. Sat on the porch for morning cup of coffee.
The breakfast could have been better with more healthy options besides fruit but overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Megan H,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor. Half Moon Bay does provide a very tranquil setting for weddings at any time of year; and the Beach House Hotel is perfect for a post-matrimonial escape.

Best regards,


Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House - Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

View of the bay from all rooms facing the ocean even from 1st floor. View even when having the complimentory breakfast in bed! Rooms well designed with little kitchen if you need one.

And i am forgetting the complimentory wine at sunset time!

Room Tip: Nice building, rooms well designed, easy access to the beach from 1st floor directly from the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear CKJG,

Thank you for your comments. We are incredibly fortunate to have the location we do; and yes all Ocean View rooms do have spectacularly unobstructed views of the water.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House - Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Did a quick getaway at the last minute at The Beach House. Just a one night stay but it was perfect! Ocean view Jr Suite on 1st floor with a great patio & view. The room was very nicely appointed - super comfy & cozy bed, with a view! Easy access to the Coast Trail & the beach - and an short walk to restaurants. Wine & cheese in the evening & a nice light breakfast in the morning.

Will definitely be returning for a longer stay as it's a great location & an easy, fun getaway from the Silicon Valley!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Katherine B,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor. Whether it is a quick trip of an extended stay, the Beach House fits all getaways. We hope to welcome you back in the not-to-distant future.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House - Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a wonderful one nite stay at the Beach House/Half Moon Bay. For a little extra I strongly recommend the suites on the 3rd floor. Vaulted ceilings with private lanai and great view of the ocean just outside your room!! Room includes small stove, fridge, microwave, fireplace, flat screen TV, great shower and very comfortable king size bed - his/her bathrobes were super comfortable. Room also has a very nice separate living area. Great seafood restaurant right next door to hotel. Very friendly staff. Will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Tom R,

Thank you for your comments. All of our rooms have all the comforts of home as well as private outdoor spaces. I truly hope to welcome you back to the Beach House in the near future.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House - Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
185 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
1.0 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Address: 4100 Cabrillo Hwy N, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: £198 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing