We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Francisco Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“San Francisco Getaway”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I decided to stay at The Beach House in Half Moon Bay and drive into the city. The Hotel was nice and would stay here again. I only noticed the fog horn when I woke up in the middle of the night. I turned on the room fan and that solved the problem. The bed in our room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view was enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Jim C,

Thank you for your comments. The Beach House is located just enough out of the city to make feel completely removed, yet conveniently located close enough to get to the Embarcadero within 35 minutes.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    266
    78
    29
    14
See reviews for
227
482
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is our third visit to the Beach House. Perfect for families, as every room is a suite.
Great bike trails, beach and Sam's Chowder House on the doorstep.
Check what room you get assigned. Our last trip we got the worst ocean view room - first floor, right next to the reception and breakfast areas - altho' they did provide ear plugs!!
Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: First floor ocean rooms can be noisy since close to reception and breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kracken2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Kracken2014,

Thank you for your comments. We are close enough to most highlights of Half Moon Bay, yet still removed so it feels secluded. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.\

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We heard that this was the place to stay in Half Moon Bay, and they were right! We loved the location and the room was very nice. It was a great size for the four of us. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 668Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear 668Jill,

Thank you for your comments. I'm a former 668 myself; and for going from one coast to another, I can attest HMB is very reminiscent of the MTK. Very quiet, quaint & costal. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were so pleased with our stay at the Beach House April 2014. We had a room that was on the corner of the street but still provided us a view of the harbor. Room was basic & had a fridge which was a huge plus, the bed & sofa sleeper were super comfy.Road noise was our only complaint but a fan helped tone down that noise.
Location to all the sights was perfect & beach access for walking was a stairway away. Kids loved the pool & Jacuzzi. Staff was incredibly nice & helped with any questions/directions to sights. The continental breakfast & morning coffee was a great touch!
We would stay again and recommend to friends.
Loved our stay in Half Moon Bay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMichelle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach-House_10, Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our location, property and staff. I am glad to hear your kids enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi, we hope to see you next time you in the area.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our10th wedding anniversary having stayed our wedding night in 2004. We absolutely love this hotel and if we weren't 5000 miles away in Scotland would stay more often! Yes there is a fog horn but guys, this is a coastal town and its part of the noise you expect in these areas...don't concentrate on it, let it fade into the back ground with the seal and bird noises that are part of the charm. The hotel is beautiful, rooms are amazing, breakfast superb and all staff are fantastic. Great choice of food close by...Flavor and Half Moon Bay Brewing Co are lovely. Hope to be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach-House_10, Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay for your anniversary. Thank you for your return business and your kind comments regarding our rooms and staff. I am also pleased to hear you had a chance to enjoy a couple of the wonderful restaurants we have in walking distance. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel has a beautiful setting Our room was on the 1st floor, so peaceful and very comfortable. I especially liked the little kitchen (with 2 hot plates) which allowed us the freedom to eat in (although no cooking utensils are supplied)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMGV446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach-House_10, Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We appreciate the time you took in writing this review. I am glad to hear you had relaxing and comfortable stay her at the Beach House. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Half Moon Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at the Beach House on March 26, 2014. I paid $321 dollars and was upgraded to their Oceanview Suite at no extra charge. If this was $150 room it would have been fine. My guest described the hotel as "tired looking". Not exactly what I wanted for her to experience. Its a nice location and we stayed there becasue of its proximity to the SF airport. It is at the point where it needs a remodal. Carpets, couches, paint etc. A $300 place should be exceptional. The fog horn was not an issue until I got to thinking that a paid twice what the hotel room was worth.

Im also wondering why the second bed was a hide-away bed. My back still hurts! What is wrong with another normal bed for the $300 dollars?

Staff was excellent and beach nice. The place is just over priced for what it is currently. After a thorough remodal it would be well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sarah G,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor, but I am disappointed to learn that the room wasn’t up to your expectations. All of our rooms have recently been updated, and as of March 23rd we replaced all sofa beds with new models that have pillow top mattresses. We do have some of the largest rooms on the coast; but even with our room size, it isn’t enough for two king size beds and still have room for a comfortable sitting area which we find is a well utilized space for reading, conversing with friends and family, or to watch the flames emanating from the authentic in-room fireplace. Thank you again and I do hope you would visit us again on your next west coast trip.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
567 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
183 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
0.9 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Property: Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Address: 4100 Cabrillo Hwy N, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing