We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views(bay and mountains)/Great Service/Serene Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Views(bay and mountains)/Great Service/Serene Nature”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is one of the nicest beach hotels I have ever stayed in or even heard of. Stayed for three nights as a base for a long Northern California weekend and couldn't be happier with the way it turned out. The location is very beautiful - the beach is literally right out the back door but it is a quiet area- no big crush of tourists - just water, sky and a view of the often fog-capped mountains that ring the bay. Seagulls, pelicans, herons can be seen very easily. Easy to walk a long way on the beach with no driving.
Quite an eco conscious hotel also but not up in your grill about it.
5 minute drive or 15 minute walk to the much busier town full of restaurants and art/shops. The rooms are large, comfortable and everything is cozy, airy, fresh, natural. This place is expensive by my own generally frugal standards but worth every dime if you can splurge. Best of all the staff just rock. From the night auditor who checked is in after a later arrival to the desk managers, the cleaning staff and even one young lady who offered to take our laundry home to her house to do it when the local laundry was closed. We didn't take her up on that of course but it typifies the "whatever you need" attitude! Stayed in the lovely room 309. Nice fireplace and deck to sit out on. The hotel is U shaped and you want the highest floor on the flat part of the U facing the water, not the sides of the U if you can swing it. Try Sam's Chowder House next door for fun, delicious seafood dinner and the 3-zero Cafe at the tiny local air strip for terrific lunch or brunch. Also walk over to Mavericks Surf shop. Lots of nearby hiking, other beaches to try and a great Marine Reserve very close by. Also close to many organic farms. If you love coastal nature and want a classy, quiet hotel this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full bay view and the third or if possible at least the second floor. First fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockingRobin78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear RockingRobin78704,

Thank you for your kind post on Tripadvisor and it was a pleasure hosting you. We do try as much as possible to be environmentally conscience. This sentiment can be seen in our cups, cleaning products, even the biodegradable keys we use. We strive to minimize our impact on the local area. I do hope you will be able to visit again on your next Californian trip.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    265
    77
    29
    14
See reviews for
227
478
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Have stayed here on business twice and both times, wished I was there with hubby! Very well done hotel with large rooms and great views. Very romantic and perfectly located for walks, bike riding and kayaking. Walking distance to great seafood restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Laura F,


Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I'm glad you were able to visit (albeit for work purposes) but do hope you will be able to experience the Beach House with those you love. We are a great peaceful and romantic escape from the City. Our Coastal Romance Package is a phenomenal deal if you can visit on a weekday and our spa offers up a great Couples Massage.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We only stayed here one night, given the expense, but it was lovely. Our room looked out on the ocean/bay. There is a little deck to sit outside and enjoy the view and the sounds. The room is very comfortable, though my kids took the big bed and I took the couch bed, which was a couch bed, so only so-so. There is a little pool in back, and a gate to a path that is great for running or waling or biking. I wish we could've spent our whole vacation here.

Room Tip: I think getting the ocean view room is worth the extra money, if you are splurging for this place an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jennifer H,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor. The Beach House is a great jumping off point for activities of all ages. The Coastal Trail is ideal for biking or running; Sea Horse Ranch is perfect for horseback rides; and of course the Pacific Ocean is great for surfing, or viewing surfers catching a wave.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was here for a business meeting. It's a lovely little boutique hotel. Don't expect a restaurant or bar-you need to get to the nearby restaurants which close early. Lovely, quiet rooms with sea views and pleasant attentive staff.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CabinteelyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear CabinteelyFlyer,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor. We are very fortunate to have a great staff who are attentive yet not overbearing and personable yet professional. It truly is a great mix. We hope to see you again in the future (and that it would be for a leisure visit too).

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daly City, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had driven by the Beach House several times and thought it would be a great getaway for my husbands birthday in June. The moment we arrived the staff were friendly - special thanks to Galina at the reception counter for getting us a great penthouse room. To our surprise we discovered a mini frig, microwave, plates, glassware, hardware and a tea kettle/stove in the room which added to the ambience. The continental breakfast was nice, and trays were provided to take food back to your room or out to the patio area. All in all, my husband and I were impressed with the Beach House and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciRod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear CeciRod12,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and for selecting the Beach House for such a celebratory event! The rooms are comfortably appointed and truly act as a home away from home. Also, thank you for commenting on Galina! She is a true hotelier and very excited to make all of guest stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida USA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just steps from the beach and the beautiful flowering dunes of Half Moon Bay. This is a charming inn with soft beach decor. Each room has a fireplace and it does get cool enough in the evening to use it! Luxurious bathroom and amenities. Opt for an oceanfront room. Each room has a terrace or balcony. The hotel has a small outdoor pool and hot tub, and lovely flowering plants around the grounds and outdoor common areas. The only negative is proximity to an RV park right next to the pool. Also, "mountain view" rooms are facing the busy road. Friday and Saturday evening wine receptions in the lobby are fun with California wines and cheese. Half Moon Bay is a nice coastal destination near San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear jaxiree,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. Half Moon Bay is a perfect compliment to the busy city experience and well worth a visit on a Norther California trip. Of course our Ocean View Junior Suites are well positioned and offer some of the bet views, our Standard View Rooms are especially great option as offer many of the amenities of our other rooms and those of our Hotel. We are pleased you were able to stay with us and hope to welcome you again one day.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Let me just start by saying that I almost NEVER write reviews; it takes a truly phenomenal experience or a truly miserable experience for me to bother wandering into the public forums to share my opinion. With the Beach House at Half Moon Bay, the experience could not have been more positive! My new wife and I chose to head down Highway 101 from Seattle to San Diego for our honeymoon. Despite all the options in the Bay Area, we were drawn to this cozy little hotel on the water. It was the best possible choice we could have made, and it was far and away our favorite night of the entire trip. We were greeted at the desk by some very friendly folks who gave us some information about our room. Turns out we had a fireplace and we didn't realize it! Lounging in front of the fire in our provided bathrobes, sipping on champagne with all of the ambience of the bay right outside our window ... the experience cannot be beat. The bed was wonderful, the bathroom was enormous. The only downside of the entire trip was the wetness and the fog which prevented us from enjoying our patio view, but I'm not about to dock the hotel for the region's climate! I highly, highly recommend this wonderful little place and look forward to making our reservation next time we're in the Bay Area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Matt A,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and for selecting the Beach House on your honeymoon trip. It is a fact that all of our rooms have fireplaces, and the cool climate permits us to use them on a regular basis. We very much hope to welcome you again on your next visit.

Best regards,

Matthew Daubenspeck
Front Office Manager
Beach House Hotel ~ Half Moon Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.5 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
179 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Property: Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Address: 4100 Cabrillo Hwy N, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing