We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation & fabulous service!”
Review of The Rebels Hide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rebels Hide
Ranked #2 of 3 Clifton B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation & fabulous service!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here! We stayed in the 4 person studio room & it was lovely! Everything we needed was there for us & the owners were very helpful! We were even left bread, milk & orange juice in the room & everything we asked for was available. It was only 10 min drive into the town of Penrith where we had a good night out! Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shroom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    9
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Askham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent the evening in the company of Chris & Claire in this excellent B&B, warm hosts and a first class curry with a couple of glasses of vino thrown in for good measure, very comfy bed.. recommended...AAA

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We arrived late, and the streets were dark. GPS doesn't exactly map to the location. We called the owner, and he guided us there by phone. Thanks!
Very large room, extremely comfy bed, and excellent freshly cooked breakfast the next morning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steveblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Chris and Claire could not have been more hospitable. Great accommodation and breakfast, that set me up for the day at the local fantastic music festival, Kendal Calling. Would highly recommend and am already booked for 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Well located on the southern edge of the village very short stroll from the George & Dragon. Very warm welcome from Chris and Clare who made our stay feel like we were staying with old friends. We struggled to get a table in the George and Dragon so were directed to the Queens head Inn in Askham. Comfortable room if somewhat over furnished. Lovely breakfast cooked just as we liked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter59Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have always looked for a place to stay for one or two nights when in the north lakes, and found this place by accident when looking on the net. its about 5 miles from Pooley bridge, and I will return. The hosts are fantastic, the rooms are clean, its a nice safe environment, all you need to do is look at the photos on here. Try the local pub George and Dragon not as good value as the Hide but very nice food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We experienced fantastic hospitality and facilities at the end of our first day on the Coast to Coast. Chris basically gave 10 of us his house to stay in. Some of the beds were a little small for our party so quality of sleep was not always the best but the lift down to the Queens Head for an excellent evening meal was welcomed.

There was plenty of hot water for us all and the following day the breakfast was of high quality. The packed lunches kept us going through the gruelling Hartside hill and beyond.

Great for cycling trips and only 3 miles off the route. Chris rode with us back to the route the next day to help us out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
427 reviews
3.0 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
863 reviews
20.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
3.4 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 10 in Penrith
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rebels Hide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rebels Hide

Property: The Rebels Hide
Address: 8, Town End Croft, Clifton, Penrith CA10 2EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Clifton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rebels Hide 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rather different B &B offering comfortable rooms and friendly flexible environment. Not your average place to stay and none of the stuffy rules often associated with B & Bs in the UK.Ideal for C2C cyclists (on route 71), hikers, motor cyclists, and very near to the lovely Lake Ullswater and magnificent scenery. we are staggering distance from the highly rated George and Dragon country Inn which serves first class food, Ales and wine.Set in the historic village of Clifton (the scene of the last battle on English soil, we are only 10 minutes from Penrith and 20 minutes from Keswick. an ideal stop over for those travelling from Scotland South, and those travellling North to the Highlands and Islands. Five minutes from the M6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rebels Hide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing