We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Weekend Away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hollies Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Downton B&B and Inns
West Sussex
1 review
“Quiet Weekend Away”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

At short notice we decided to book a weekend away, and luckily The Hollies had a room available for our choice of dates. Our room led out into the lovely garden, the accommodation was clean and beautifully presented with a good selection of toiletries and tea/coffee, biscuits & water etc.

We chose to have the Full English breakfast which costs extra but it was certainly worth it. The portions were very generous, the food was gorgeous and the table was beautifully laid out each morning.

The other plus point was that we were able to come and go as we pleased and make use of the garden is we wished to. We certainly were able to have the quiet and laid back weekend away that we were hoping for.

Jeanette was friendly and welcoming, as was the little dog Bramble! I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aztec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you Louise. Glad that you and Simon found The Hollies a relaxing place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful location close to the sea and forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Lovely b&b with very accommodating owners. we wanted a one night stay near Lymington and couldnt get one anywhere at any of the many b&bs and hotels but Janette was most helpful and kindly put us up for the night! the accommodation is fantastic. very clean and modern decor, nice continental breakfast and friendly owners. the location is perfect for either Lymington, Milford on Sea or New Milton being right between the three.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay Mark. If you want to bring your golf clubs next time we would be happy to recommend some local golf courses which you might enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We only wanted 1 nights acommodation for August but most places require a minimum of 2 nights stay. It was very busy and hardly anyone had any availability but the The Hollies did. I was a little out of Lymington town but only by 10mins, by car. Janette, who replied to my emails, promptly, was very welcoming and knowledgable about the area.
We arrived at the b&b and the front of the house was lovely and quite rural - I loved it. The tin room was very nice and the en-suite quite big with a big bath. The house itself was lovely and nice decor. The garden also was lovely and she has plans to do more which will just enhance things. There is also a friendly little dog called Bramble, whom I wanted to take home !!!
Her bed & breakfast was lovely, quiet, clean and very welcoming. It only has 3 room options but this means it can suit a couple, friends or a family - all 3 if you wanted to book it for a hen weekend/family trip.
We opted for 1 night but we should have stayed for 2 as it was really nice. Janette had put bigger quilts on our beds as we had a twin room and meant we had plenty of cover.
We will definately go back as I believe there is a golf course nearby so my husband can go and play golf and I can stay in the garden with Bramble !!!
Thank you for a lovely stay x

Room Tip: twin room will just need beds pushed together for a double but they are on wheels and means both peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonya w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We were happy to offer you a room for the one night as we had space due to the fact that we are a fairly new enterprise and are working hard to ensure that people want to return for further visits. So glad you enjoyed your sailing !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast for the weekend while the rest of my family stayed in the Caravan Park, on Rugby Tour down the road. The accommodation is of a very high standard, being comfortable, classy and clean.
Great hospitality, you are made to feel most welcome, only vexed I missed out on the good breakfast's ..... definately next time?!.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Hi Fiona. So glad you enjoyed your stay despite recovering from being unwell. Full English next time ! Hope to see you again before too long. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

we stayed at the hollies for one night and have to say it was fantastic, lovely quite area,room and ensuite was very clean,breakfast was great, would happily stay here again,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - much appreciated. Hope Henry enjoyed Peppa Pig World. Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton on Thames
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed at The Hollies over the weekend and was very pleased with the high standard of their accommodation and breakfast. Very good location, close to the sea and shopping as well, very nice owners, would definetely go back again anytime :-) Monika

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments and for becoming a friend on Facebook. So glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Hollies. Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We were very impressed by the friendly welcome and luxury accommodation at The Hollies. Our ensuite twin bedroom was far better than most UK Hotels we have stayed at and we had a wonderful relaxing weekend. The beautiful surrounding countryside and proximity to the coast made this the ideal location for a much needed peaceful break. We especially enjoyed visiting the Beaulieu Motor Museum. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandec00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Hollies and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Your comments are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hollies Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Hollies Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31 Downton Lane | Nr Lymington, Downton SO41 0LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Downton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Downton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well situated for visits to the New Forest. Overlooking fields and coastline between Milford on Sea & Barton on Sea. Very comfortable Twin & Double / Family rooms both en-suite. Close to Lymington and within half an hour of both Southampton and Bournemouth. Rooms have Power showers, TV & Wi-fi. Tea & Coffee making facilities. Good parking. Room rate option with continental breakfast or upgrade to full English. Perfect for a relaxing weekend, golfing break or for the business traveller. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing