We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ann & Malcolm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hollies Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Downton B&B and Inns
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ann & Malcolm”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Staying with Jan and Patrick was perfect.They made us feel very welcome and obviously enjoy having guests in their luxurious home. Breakfast was plentiful, room very comfy. Use of large pretty garden and visits from Bramble the sweet little dog were a real bonus. Thank you both.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you both and I am so glad that The Hollies didn't disappoint. Thank you for bringing such wonderful sunshine with you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coltishall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Spent 2 nights at The Hollies - room was great as was the en-suite. Beautifully clean and tidy plus a lovely garden. Janette is a very welcoming person and could not do too much for us despite a medical emergency for poor Bramble - the dog! (Hope she is fully recovered.) Overall could not fault the experience. Many thanks.

Francis B

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Bramble is now fully recovered thank you, fortunately the treatment was less painful for her than the bill was for me ! Look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at the Hollies for one night and would certainly recommend this B & B as a lovely place to stay. Our bedroom was immaculate and Janette was very friendly and welcoming. The house and garden is kept to a very high standard.
There is a very nice Pub The Royal Oak close by for evening meals.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you Maureen. Hope to see you and Mike again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at the Hollies for a very pleasant two nights. We had the twin room which is very comfortable and spacious with attached 'large' beautifully equipped bathroom. Janette and Patrick were both friendly, welcoming and helpful. Would recommend this B&B as a great place to stay, near the sea and near the forest with Lymington close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments and also for bringing some fine weather with you for the weekend. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st issey
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at the Hollies for 2 nights and slept really well. Jan and Patrick were so helpful and Jan even ironed my husbands shirt ready for the wedding we were going to. Jan also printed off several maps for us to get to our destination. Bramble the dog is a sweetie so all in all a lovely stay and will definitely stay again. Just one tinsy thing - I forgot my shampoo so maybe a spare bottle in the bathroom would be useful. i used my body wash and all was well - but I would have asked if I was really stuck. Just lovely xxx.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you Jacqui, you and Kevin were great fun guests. I note your comment about the shampoo - always slightly difficult as everyone has personal preferences. I will have a look for a hair and body wash option which will suit everyone hopefully without adding too much clutter to the en-suites. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We (family of four with to children under 12) stayed at the Hollies for a couple of nights. The bedroom was spacious and very well furnished wih a large bathroom (excellent shower). Janette is very friendly - the quote above is from my 12 year old son as he ate his breakfast. He also commented that he liked B&Bs (this was his first one) as its like staying with friends, unlike a hotel. I couldn't put it better myself.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnysewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
.......... out of the mouths of babes - praise indeed ! I am still wondering how the boys managed to catch so many mackerel ! Very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANSTEAD
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Please read full reviews of the three currently avaiable reviews, as we strongly endorse all that they have said. A good choice of resteraunts in and near Milford on Sea from where you get a wonderful view accross to the I O W and The Needles The room we stayed in had a good sized en suit bathroom with usual facilities as mentioned in other reviews, large fully enclosed shower, but no bath. The wall mounted flat screen tv had a generous choice of channels and wi fi is available on request.One small but intriguing thing we had not come across before;the bedside lamps were touch operated, which removes that awful fumbling in the dark for the switch. Janette is a fund of knowledge being involved in the local community and beyond. And yes bramble is a sweetie. Next time we come to visit my cousin in New Milton, we would certainly want to stay at The Hollies again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette D, Owner at The Hollies Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Looking forward to welcoming you both to The Hollies again in the future. It is so helpful, as a fledgling business to have constructive feedback. Your comments about putting bin liners into the waste bins and making sure there is a hanger suitable for trousers in the wardrobe has already been put into practice - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hollies Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Hollies Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31 Downton Lane | Nr Lymington, Downton SO41 0LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Downton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Downton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well situated for visits to the New Forest. Overlooking fields and coastline between Milford on Sea & Barton on Sea. Very comfortable Twin & Double / Family rooms both en-suite. Close to Lymington and within half an hour of both Southampton and Bournemouth. Rooms have Power showers, TV & Wi-fi. Tea & Coffee making facilities. Good parking. Room rate option with continental breakfast or upgrade to full English. Perfect for a relaxing weekend, golfing break or for the business traveller. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing