We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel gets an A+ rating for an unexpected gem in the middle of the city. Clean, updated, spacious, courteous staff, excellent breakfast, 24 hour airport shuttle, 15-20 minutes depending on traffic. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThriftyTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear ThriftyTraveler100,
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you. I am pleased to hear that our location, big rooms, and friendly staff added such great value to your hotel experience. Your recommendation is most appreciated and we hope you will come back to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was ideal for our 2 night stop over from UK to Vancouver, BC. We were looking for something cheap, comfortable and near LAX. The room was as advertised, the large bed was great after our 12 hour flight. The free shuttle was a godsend, but you need to call the hotel from the LAX information desk to arrange pickup (they don't run continually like other, larger hotels). Staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast offerings were nice although both days the room was packed and people had to wait for a seat at 7:30am. Not the most luxurious of surroundings, but Venice beach etc were only a short(ish) bus journey away. Room was clean and tidy and the hotel was quiet at night.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DartinSquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear DartinSquire,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of your room accommodations. Your feedback encourages our team members to work even harder to constantly delight our guests. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on arrival at LAX and again 3 weeks later, the night before departure. Although small, with little frills in the facility as a whole, the service is outstanding, the rooms spacious and very clean and the location just a few minutes from the airport.

The rooms are up to date in furnishings, and have a small kitchen area with sink, granite counter, range top, microwave and full size fridge; bathroom is a decent size, with granite counter.

The lobby is small, not for lounging but fine to check in, getting some coffee and using the computer to check your email. Outdoor pool seems to be heated. Good size breakfast room, with a substantial array of morning offerings.

It is difficult to find, if you are driving; on Acacia, a small, sort of dead end street off of Imperial Hwy (avenue actually). They will pick you from airport if you prefer. As you can see, we would not aonly stay there again; we did stay there again, and were just as pleased as the first time.
Turn at the Hampton Inn and youw ill be fine. Nice, free, enclosed parking for your car.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PokeyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear PokeyPaddler,
Thank you so much for your very kind and detailed review. It was fantastic having the chance to welcome you and show you how comfortable a stay with us can be. I am thrilled that everything from the service to the large, clean and comfortable rooms made your experience so remarkable. We do hope you will have the chance to visit again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

this hotel are great place for layover close to LAX i book for 1 night. airport free shuttle very convenience just call the hotel when you arrive take 10-15 minute for shuttle arrive . i stay in double queen room in back part of hotel my windows facing the Birch Ave. i don't try to open the window because the house behind the hotel lot of dog poo the smell can come up to the room.

But overall is good , good food for breakfast, great staff , lot of restaurant most of are fast food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wtraveler19xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Wtraveler19xx,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our fellow travelers. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Inn Cockatoo near LAX Hawthorne. It was a privilege to serve you. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I booked my room 1 king bed non smoking 3hrs before arrival from Priceline.com came in and the receptionist couldn't find me spent 15 minutes on the phone they faxed the receptionist a form and it took her another 8 minutes to check me in! Anyway I came into my room and the first thing I noticed was the stench of pee (like somebody urinated all over the carpet) I am not been exaggerated I am not sure if it was because of the AC been on. I called the receptionist guy on the lobby and told him I booked a king bedroom and I got a double bed room I ask him if there's anything he can do and he said no that's all we have everything else is booked with a bored tone in his voice!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Tania M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please know that our management team reads each and every review, constantly looking for areas to improve our service and hotel amenities. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer exceptional experience to all of our guests. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here in December 2013 for four nights. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good but could have had more variety each day. The kitchenette in my room didn't have any kitchen supplies such as plates, cutlery etc, which could have been provided. Overall I had a pleasant stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank traveller85London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear traveller85London,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Cockatoo. We value your comments and are thankful you took the time to express your experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Well, I don't like giving negative reviews but feel compelled to be honest.This room was very clean but not very inviting. The television didn't work. The air conditioner was on full and the room was freezing (63 degrees). The man at the front desk was not very welcoming or helpful. He handed me 1 key and let me figure out the rest, like where is the parking, is there a breakfast area and where is it and most important, where is my room? I have never been greeted this way in a hotel. When we left we had to go into a parking garage that had a security code to enter. Only problem was that I didn't remember the code, we had just turned in the key to the hotel. Luckily a maintenance man was doing some work nearby and came to open the gate for us. He was the nicest person we had seen there. Think twice about this place.

Room Tip: Room with a working television.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Rose C,
Thank you for your recent review. I understand that it is a necessity to extend a warm welcome to every guest and apologize that the normal welcoming attitude of our front desk staff was not evident and caused dissatisfaction with our hotel. It is our goal to exceed our guests expectations in service and accommodations, so it is with disappointment that I hear how we've fallen short of that goal. Your comments have been shared with my team so that the appropriate changes can be made for the comfort of our guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior service and accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles Int'l Airport Hawthorne
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Inglewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lax Hawthorne
0.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Suites & Spas - LAX
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Los Angeles Airport - LAX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Address: 11500 Acacia Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range: £74 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Cockatoo Near LAX Airport is four miles from Los Angeles International Airport and offers free airport shuttle service. This Hawthorne, CA hotel provides easy access to major freeways like the 405 and 105, and is minutes from a number of local points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Hotel Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing