We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want to stay near LAX? This place is great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Want to stay near LAX? This place is great!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Comfort Inn Cockatoo last week, and were very pleased with the stay. After a 13 hour flight from Australia the hotel kindly accommodated our luggage while we went to Disneyland for the day before checking in, and provided a solid, consistent (if rattly!) shuttle service to and from LAX. The shuttle driver we had, Oscar, gave some great tips about LA itself and he represented the hotel very well.

The king bed we had was excellent and very, very comfortable. The breakfast had good variety, ranging from waffles to hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, cereal, toast, etc. There are some take out restaurants nearby as well. WiFi generally was very solid, though prone to some slowness at peak times. The bathroom was solid, and the single person whirlpool jet bath was heaven after a very long flight and a day at Disneyland! The pool was very clean and well maintained. There was a PC in the lobby to print out documentation if needed, as well as cold filtered water (a good thing for those that don't like the taste of chemicals in their water!). Laundry facilities were more than adequate.

Be aware that there is no room safe to store your valuables, and perhaps this could be looked at in future.

Overall, a great first experience with a Comfort Inn in the US, and we will certainly be back again if we want to stay near LAX. For those unfamiliar with LA, it's about 20+ mins drive to downtown.
Tip: When we took an Uber vehicle to Dodgers Stadium (just a little past downtown) in peak hour it cost us nearly $40 (cheaper than a taxi) and about 75 mins... The return trip was about 25 mins.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wokadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear wokadoodle,
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review regarding your recent stay. I am so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff, the cleanliness of your room accommodations, and our added amenities. Your feedback encourages our team members to work even harder to constantly delight our guests. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    399
    96
    19
    15
See reviews for
264
241
74
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester Point
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Have stayed here a number of times and have never been disappointed. Nicely furnished rooms, large and well decorated, clean and large baths, free wifi that works well, lobby PC to print boarding passes. Free shuttle to LAX.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wff5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear wff5,
Thank you so much for your friendly review. We are very pleased to read of your satisfaction. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the LAX area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Close to LAX airport. Good free parking possibilities in closed garage. Friendly staff. Quiet rooms. Fine breakfast..
Be sure to choose the right internetconnection at the hotel Some take outs and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlemmingD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear FlemmingD51,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We relish the opportunity to provide our guests with comfortable guestrooms and accommodating service, so it means a great deal that you found theses aspects of your stay so exceptional. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawler, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are looking to stay in a reasonable priced motel, close to LAX that offers free shuttle, shopping and restaurants, this location is ideal. There are multiple supermarkets, pharmacies and restaurants. The motel and room were clean, friendly staff who were able to offer us a room on our arrival at 11.30 a.m. which is a relief when flying from Australia. The breakfast was good. The bonus was that it was quiet with no noise from planes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Loulibell,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It is always such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests. Our staff and I are very grateful for such fantastic feedback about our service and amenities. Thank you for inspiring us to do even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had an overnight layover in LA on our way back from our honeymoon and this was the perfect place to stay. The room was affordable and it was really convenient with an airport shuttle. We had the day to spend in LA and it was a short walk to the Green Line where we were able to take the metro to Hollywood and other tourist attractions. The room was very spacious and had a full sized fridge and stove top that we would have definitely taken advantage of had we stayed longer. Our flight wasn't until check out and the staff was very accommodating and let us leave our bags up front while we explored. Our room had a balcony with a nice view of the book. Breakfast was great. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Jess F,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Customer service an cleanliness are our top priorities and we truly take pride in what we do. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Recommending us to friends and family is one of the best compliments we can receive. On behalf of my staff and I we'd like to say "Thank You".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Another great stay April 9 with my 7 yr. old grandson. Room are very roomy, clean, quiet; enjoy a refrig and microwave. Extremely comfortable bedding & pillows! Staff is friendly and helpful. Several fast food restaurants within close proximity, including El Pollo Loco & McDonalds; other restaurants closeby. Free breakfast was outstanding; sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles, & all the other fixings! Shuttle to and from airport was on time; couldn't have asked for a better experience! Booking in advance (with no refund) will save you about 20 - 25%. I booked directly through the hotel website.

Room Tip: We've stayed in rooms in two separate areas; both were great. Prefer queen beds; my 7 yr. old ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imissMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to know you had a memorable experience at Comfort Inn Cockatoo . Our staff from housekeeping team to front desk and engineering department work very hard to deliver a personalized and memorable experience to every guest. In your case, I'm pleased to know that the room cleanliness, staff service, and in-room amenities were to your satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great! This is one of the premium Comfort Inn properties. I got in at about 1am and left at 6:30am for LAX flight but it was most comfortable (yet brief) hotel sleep I've had in a long time. One of the best hotel mattresses ever. Price through booking.com was $95 which is outstanding for top of the line Comfort Hotel chain.
Only problem was the three level parking lot next to the hotel. Only parking spaces were on 3rd floor and no elevator. Knee problems made it difficult to climb the stairs. Any one with serious handicap will have difficulty finding parking space on main floor so be prepared for it.
Other than this, outstanding and very comfortable room.
Didn't get chance to eat breakfast but assume it's the same as just about all the "free breakfasts" served in the chain hotels.
Outstanding value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveIsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ILoveIsrl,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I have forwarded your comments to our staff, and we are all very grateful for such fantastic feedback about our service and accommodations. All departments - from housekeeping, maintenance to front desk and breakfast personnel - work incredibly hard to create a warm and memorable experience for every guest. Thank you for inspiring us to do even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Address: 11500 Acacia Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Cockatoo Near LAX Airport is four miles from Los Angeles International Airport and offers free airport shuttle service. This Hawthorne, CA hotel provides easy access to major freeways like the 405 and 105, and is minutes from a number of local points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Hotel Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing