We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Only stayed one night. Didn't get to enjoy the bar or restaurant. But the accommodations were excellent. The hotel has a very Victorian type style; very well done. Rooms are big. The one thing that I didn't like was the shower but again it was meant to have of a Victorian style curtain.

My room's AC worked great and was quiet. Best of all the price was on point but probably because it wasn't near the beaches. During my trip to California I stayed at Hollywood Roosevelt and Hotel Palomar. Ayres was the best and I didn't expect it since it was the cheapest. Hotel Palomar was mediocre and Hollywood Roosevelt was in last place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mik e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Mik e,

We greatly appreciate the time you took to write this review on TripAdvisor, and thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are very delighted you enjoyed our over-sized rooms, Victorian decor, and quiet AC. Thank you for writing this wonderful review, and it will be fantastic if you choose to stay with us during your next visit to California.

Warm regards,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    203
    57
    20
    18
See reviews for
248
215
38
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We took our chances on hotwire and ended up with the Ayres. We were three adults and one child. The hotel was beautiful, roughly a $20.00 cab ride from LAX. We had two rooms on first floor. Our rooms were spacious and clean - no complaints. We were expecting the complimentary breakfast but the hotel has discontinued that. We were how ever more than delighted with the restaurant on site. The wait staff were phenomenal - the food was great (even if the food had been bad we would have gone back for the service alone!!) The front desk gents were great -helpful, courteous, and more than willing to help and answer any questions we had. The staff truly deserve a pat on the back - they made our fantastic trip top notch.

Room Tip: The rail station is about a block and a half away - convenient and easy to figure out.....however if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmom309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

nice decoration, clean room, friendly workers, good location if you are OK to drive 20-30 minutes for sightseeing. It is also a very short drive to airport. Breakfast wasn't included, but had a discount in the restaurant for a buffet breakfast. And it felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllisfiliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Phyllisfiliz,

Thank you so very much for writing a review on TripAdvisor and for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are always delighted to hear a guest enjoyed or decor, clean accommodations, and our friendly and welcoming team members. We strive to accommodate our guests in every way possible and are thrilled we met this goal. We are grateful again for your review and we would love for you to visit our hotel again soon.

Warm regards,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Finding a hotel at the last minute online using one of the low-price sites is always a gamble; you don't see the name or address of the hotel you're choosing until you've booked it and paid. We were prepared for a 'Leave the Lights on for You' sort of place. But . . . we were so surprised. We had a clue that things would go well when we called on the way to ask for a room with certain features and were told it would be taken care of. We were meet at the desk by true professionals, three of them, all friendly and happy to see us. (The lobby is over the top, by the way, but pleasant.) Our room was beautifully furnished and looked almost new. Bath and shower wonderful. We'd thought we'd have to walk to dining at Mannhattan Beach but the hotel's restaurant turned out to be just right, for dinner and breakfast. And although the hotel sits right along side the busy, noisy route 405, the room was as quiet as could be. Thank you Ayres Mannhattan Beach. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Tom G,

It was our pleasure to have you stay at our hotel, and we are so very thankful that you took the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our team strives to accommodate our guests in every way possible and it pleases us to hear we were able to do so for you. We are glad you enjoyed our luxurious over-sized rooms and our wonderful bath amenities. It is also excellent to hear you had delicious meals at our onsite restaurant, Matisse. We are very grateful for your review and hope you will come visit again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Reading the reviews for this hotel was the biggest deciding factor in staying here, and it met my expectations. Most bad reviews recently are because the hotel stopped offering free breakfast, and it sounds like there was some communication confusion with people booking when they still offered it and not getting it on arrival. I booked knowing that they stopped offering free breakfast, since we didn't need it anyway. Reviews are spot on about the big rooms (king rooms have a sofa sleeper couch, large coffee table, and a breakfast table with two chairs, in addition to the usual king bed, work desk/chair, and TV stand). The free internet was reasonable (some timeouts, but very usable, and it stayed connected during a 2 hour city-wide blackout), and there was free parking available even during a wedding event one night. The staff were friendly and were genuinely interested in answering our various questions.

I slept well, but my wife thought that the bed was a little soft. My 2 year old loved playing on the couch and coffee table as he had a lot of room to move around. Everything was clean and nicely decorated, both inside the room and in the public areas. It was very easy to get onto northbound 405, but southbound was a little daunting during rush hour. There are several places to eat nearby, including Costco, Chipotle, and L&L Hawaiian. Houston's is also only a mile away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank odilatinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very nice common areas and the staff here are excellent. The rooms are average at this star level and my room was a pretty far walk from the elevators. I wasn't a fan of the decor, but to each his own. The bed and linens were great and I had a good nights sleep. The cleanliness of the rooms were okay overall. The coffee table had quite a bit of stains on it which was a turn off. The location is right off the 405, so there is a lot of highway noise, but the loudness of the air conditioner drowned all that out. I don't mind the white noise, but if you don't like noisy in room air then good luck here. There's a McDonalds, Costco, gas stations and Carls Jr. across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddhandeinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIghlands Ranch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is beautifully furnished and decorated. The staff went out of their way to be helpful.

For people who are sensitive to smells, this hotel is probably not a good choice for you. The bedding and towels did not smell clean. I won't go into detail, but it wasn't just a musty smell. This affected our sleep, and showering wasn't a good experience. We told the management, and they apologized but did not offer a refund. Maybe they will make changes because of our complaint. We hope so for other people who visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 587historylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear 587historylover,

Thank you for your review and we genuinely apologize that your stay was not more remarkable. Our team always strives to provide the cleanest possible accommodations to every guest. As what you describe is not up to our very rigorous cleanliness standards, we would have been more than happy to move you to a more suitable room. We do apologize if this was not an option and a more satisfactory resolution was not found. Our housekeeping team has been alerted to the problem and is doing its very best to ensure this does not happen again. Again, I sincerely apologize for this issue, and I hope you will still consider staying with us again in the future.

Thank you,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Shade Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Property: Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Address: 14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing