We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FUNKY GOOD!”

Emil Villa's Hickory Pit
Ranked #30 of 301 Restaurants in Hayward
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hayward ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“FUNKY GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great food, wonderful service...funky fun! Breakfast is fantastic! Try the French Dip it is out of this world! Pies are............... well sinfully delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BooblaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent barbeque!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have eaten at Emil Villa's for years and it is always good! You just have to try everything to choose your favorite meat, dish and sauce!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingle Springs
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Grubby Interior”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Based primarily on positive TripAdvisor reviews, some friends and I visited Emil Villa's Hickory Pit for dinner. While the food was quite tasty, and the house Merlot surprisingly good, the restaurant's interior was a bit grubby.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly Service & Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My daughter and I ate here for lunch. I had the BBQ beef (closed) sandwich on a hamburger bun with fries, and my daughter had the BBQ ham (closed) sandwich on a roll with fries. They were generous with the meat and each sandwich cost $9.00, which seemed a little high priced. However, the atmosphere and employees were friendly and quick to serve. This is a casual, sit-down place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaJB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista AZ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Such good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Having moved away from the Bay Area some years ago, I was delighted to find Emil's in Hayward still open and still making great meals! I had the sliced beef senior dinner with red sauce and coleslaw....Emil's is the best!! I love the little touch of horseradish. The meat was so tender and loaded with flavor.

I upped the meal cost to replace the ice cream dessert with a piece of coconut cream pie to take with me. I ate it the next day and found it a little lacking on coconut flavor, but good all the same. Emil's is a great place and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neeliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emil Villa's Hickory Pit also viewed

 

Been to Emil Villa's Hickory Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing