We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Hayward Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Hayward
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a great hotel. Like most Comfort Inns and hotels in its category it is two stories with no elevator. The staff was very pleasant. The room was a nice size with good furniture including a refrig and microwave.
Like most hotels built in the 20th C there are limited power outlets in the room. The wifi was ok but sporadically dropped the connection. I used wifi but I did see a cable connection for those who carry a laptop. (No doubt a more solid connection.)
The locale is fine. What’s behind the hill east of the hotel is the beautiful campus of Cal State Hayward.
Presumably you have a car if you are looking for a hotel in this area. Downtown Hayward is just a mile or two north and has several cute restaurants.
The breakfast was what I’ve come to find is a Comfort Inn standard with a wide array of items including hard-boiled and cooked eggs. (Per an NPR report I heard while traveling most breakfast buffet food that is in a big tub comes from an off-site kitchen. It’s not a matter of the hotel quality; it’s about a lack of facilities to handle large volume in a short period.)
The only negative is the small size of the breakfast room. It was fine when all of the guests arrived at randomly but one morning there was a tour group that filled every available space and more because, of course, they were all on the same time schedule.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    38
    22
    7
    11
See reviews for
40
18
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Clean room located near Bart for SF exploring. Eat at Buffalo Bills which is near hotel. Breakfast is good but breakfast room small. For the price we would definitely recommend this well run hotel. Parking is free and front desk staff helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobeby04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

There are very few Hotels I've ever been to that were this bad. My wife and I had seen decent reviews for it when planning our business trip to Hayward, and therefore thought we were getting a good deal for our money when we made our reservation. The Front Desk Attendant was pleasant and helpful, but when we got to our room we received quite a shock. The room had a very odd odor to it. The Chair in the room had some sort of stain on the seat cover that appeared to be dried blood or worse. The carpet had apparently been rolled right over an older one with holes and in it. The mirror on the closet door had a serious crack in it. The final straw was when one of our neighbors decided to take a shower. The noise from the plumbing was loud enough that we had to raze our voices to talk to each other. Within less than five minutes we had checked out and went on our way to a better hotel just down the street.

Room Tip: Check your room out prior to moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nv
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have stayed in Comfort Inns in the past and know they are no frills and the cost of a room is accordingly. So, when we spent one night and a couple of days in Hayward we chose the Comfort Inn there. No frills, just the basic necessities. But, this one in particular was above and beyond what we expected. It was very clean in the lobby and our room. The grounds were immaculate. Our room and the bathroom were both very clean. The bed was comfortable and the cooling system worked great. Our room was very quiet, which surprised us with the hotel being on a busy street. The hotel is old and some of the furniture and mirrored closet doors are showing wear but neither affected our stay. The people running the Inn are very pleasant, polite and take the extra step to assure their guests are comfortable. The only complaint I have is there is no elevator. Again, that is likely due to the age of the property and the style of the buildings. The only time that presented a problem was in lugging our suitcases up the stairs.
We will need to return to Hayward in the near future and we will stay at that Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godsbooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomk868, Manager at Quality Inn Hayward Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear godsbooboo,
Thank you for taking the time to share and describe your experience at our hotel. As you noted our staff takes a great deal of pride in their work and it is especially gratifying for a guest to acknowledge their efforts. Your review also captures the essence of our hotel. Nothing fancy but friendly, clean, and a solid value with lots of features and amenities included. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again if business or pleasure brings you back to the East Bay/Hayward area.
Thank you,
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
browns valley, ca
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the comfort inn the staff are very friendly and helpful. They have a nice sauna and the rates are great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thats looking for affordable and comfort. Great customer service.

Room Tip: I stayed in room with double queens. Nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This may be and older hotel but it was very clean and comfortable and the price was great. Also the staff was very pleasant and accommodating, especially Nelson. The breakfast in the morning with waffles, eggs, and bacon was just the frosting on the cake.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Have stayed here many times in the past due to work. Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean rooms and nice breakfast. Also, never had a problem with work truck safety. Which for those of you that work out of town know how huge that is. Would recommend this hotel when staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayward
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Hayward
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hayward Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Hayward
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Hayward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hayward Hotel

Property: Quality Inn Hayward Hotel
Address: 24997 Mission Blvd, Hayward, CA 94544-2512 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hayward)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Hayward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Hayward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Hayward Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Hayward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hayward Hotel Hayward
Hayward Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing