We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Piper Street Inn

The Piper Street Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Piper Street Inn
Ranked #13 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

As many others have said, Marian is a wonderful host for your stay in Healdsburg. We stayed in the Apartment and enjoyed having access to the house while also having our own private entrance. The room was very comfortable and we loved the back porch overlooking the garden. Unlike many bed and breakfasts it was a nice change of pace to do breakfast on our own and then meet Marian and other guests for a glass of wine an a light snack in the afternoon before finding dinner in one of the many good restaurants in town.
The inn is very convenient to the city center - within easy walking distance of the main square in a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We absolutely loved our two nights in Healdsburg at Piper Street Inn last week! We arrived in the late afternoon, and Marian greeted us with a cool glass of white wine.

The inn was lovingly decorated with lots of original art, and a to-die-for garden. We felt comfortable and well-cared for.

A perfect host, Marian seemed to be there if we needed something, but mostly made herself quiet and unobtrusive. She was just the right amount of down-to-earth, and very attentive to us as guests. There is much to see and do in this charming town and surrounding areas, and we relied upon her restaurant/winery/sightseeing recommendations.

She seemed to understand exactly what we'd like, and we loved everything we did while we were in Healdsburg.

Marian was particularly interested in knowing how comfortable we were sleeping there. She had recently replaced the beds, and wanted our honest feedback.

We were very comfortable there and will definitely stay again when we return to the area.

I left a pair of my shoes, and she didn't hesitate to put them in the mail to me immediately.

Room Tip: The apartment in the main house is cozy and comfortable, with a light and airy bathroom with old-fas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had such a lovely time on our two night stay in the house, we can't say enough good things. We were close to the Plaza, a nice stroll through beautiful neighborhoods to the downtown. Our room was beautiful with a private entrance to the garden.And what a beautiful garden. The owner, Marian, was friendly and spent some time with us one evening on the front porch as people strolled by. Wonderful place and town, we will be back!

Room Tip: Room is in the house and the cottage is bigger in the back with more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Piper Street Inn recently, in the apartment. We found the accommodations very comfortable, inside and out. The decor was so arty and home-like, and the garden was amazing. Thank you to the hostess Marian, for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Set a few blocks from the main square, this B&B gives you lot's of privacy. We stayed in the cottage for one night in February. Our favorite feature was the garden, especially since we had a our 6 month old puppy with us. It's a wild english garden that would be fun to enjoy when it's warmer.

I did think the cottage was a bit expensive at $295/night for what you got...

-In winter, the cottage is either very hot or cold because the gas stove only has one setting.
-While there is a kitchen, table & sitting area, the space isn't very usable or convenient.
-There were ants & spiders crawling on the bed. And I agree with another reviewer, the bed wasn't comfortable.
-And one more personal complaint- the bathroom is carpeted, which I find not very sanitary.

I don't think we'd stay here again based on the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mendenschroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiperHealdsburgCA, Owner at The Piper Street Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
There is a control built into the fireplace to raise or lower the flame so that the heat is regulated. There is also a list of instructions posted in the cottage regarding the operations of the fireplace, TV/DVD, jacuzzi and WIFI.

The queen bed has pillow-top mattresses and a new foam mattress on top that contours to the sleeper's body. Most guests like the feeling of this new mattress but I realize that some will not either like the firmness or softness - however it is perceived.

I was more upset about the mention of ants over the bed. I emailed the guest about that and discovered the ants were near the fireplace not on the bed. I have had ants during the winter months and have an exterminator to deal with them but they can still appear in the winter, unfortunately.

I'm happy this guest enjoyed the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We couldn't have found a more perfect place to spend our first 3 nights in wine country. Marian was a wonderful hostess, helpful but unobtrusive and full of information about the area. We took the apartment and found it to be spacious and comfortable, enjoying the private entrance and the lovely gardens out back. Loved the easy walk to everything downtown Healdsburg has to offer, and the "gift certificate" breakfast that allowed us to dine at our leisure in a great local pastry/coffee shop. Particularly for the cost, this B&B cannot be beat. Thanks again, Marian!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The Inn is in a great location, on a quiet street but close to dining. We stayed in the apartment, a little quirky. The owner was just lovely so it hurts me to write this but the bed was so uncomfortable. We slept horribly every night. The cottage looked newer and like a better fit for us so we may try that next time.

One thing I liked is that she leaves you gift certificates for the local shop. I love B&Bs but my husband doesn't like having to share a morning meal with strangers. So this was a great fit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicVillageGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiperHealdsburgCA, Owner at The Piper Street Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
What a disappointment to read a review from a guest who seemed to like so much but didn't sleep well because of the mattress. The inn was closed for a time during the winter and one of the changes was upgrading the mattresses in both the Apartment and the Cottage. Hopefully that will make a positive difference with guests who want a firmer mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.4 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calderwood Inn
Calderwood Inn
#4 of 15 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Piper Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Piper Street Inn

Property: The Piper Street Inn
Address: 402 Piper St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-3914
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home is available for weekly and monthly rental. There are two bedrooms and can accommodate two couples with two children. Full kitchen, 1-1/2 baths, beautiful garden and just four blocks to town. The Cottage in the garden is separate from the home and is also available for one couple. It has a kitchenette and studio space, two-person jacuzzi, fireplace, TV/DVD, wifi and private entrance.Please call or email for more information and details regarding this property. A private and beautiful home and cottage that offers guests a unique and quiet vacation while being a short distance to wine-tasting bars, shops, quality restaurants, movies, antiques, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing