We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and great value in wine country”
Review of L & M Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L & M Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the L & M. Wanda and Kim are lovely hosts and give good advice about local restaurants and wineries. The rooms are basic but have comfortable beds and are extremely clean. We liked the quirky, retro touches that make this family run place stand out from the boring chain motels.
Having breakfast included makes it easy to get started early, and yes, the scones are yummy!
Our kids loved the indoor pool after being dragged around wineries for a few hours, and having hot showers at the pool made it easy to get them washed and dressed for the night to avoid having to get it done in the room. We recommend the L & M if you want a clean, comfortable room, a friendly welcome, and want to save some money to spend on local food and wine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chickpea69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

In three weeks in California this summer, the L&M Motel was where we received the warmest welcome - and we had many pleasant welcomes! Wanda could not have been nicer. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she was more than happy to chat, to make us feel at home and to give us advice on what to do in our all too short one day and night in Healdsburg.

We stayed in more "up market" places but everything at the L&M was perfect from the very clean and delightful room with kitchen and bathroom to the beautifully laid out gardens and the colourful hanging baskets. There was so much thoughtfulness and attention to detail from the layout of the surroundings to the utensils provided in the kitchen. We were just sorry that we couldn't stay longer.

So many folks mention the breakfast scones that we were really looking forward to them - and, yes, they were superb!

If we are ever in this lovely part of California again (loved Healdsburg and the Sonoma Valley) we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wellfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location was perfect since it is only a 5 minute walk in to town. The outside decor is great. However, the room had wood floors that were not very clean and a clock-radio that would not turn off (until we just unplugged it).

We got up early for breakfast, but only were able to get some fruit and a cup of coffee since the scones were not out of the oven in time. However, everyone was very nice and attentive.

For the price, it is a great location and is overall satisfactory for Healdsburg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This gem has roomy, comfortable rooms and awesome service! The host took the time to show us 3 different rooms to choose from, and even lent us swimsuits to use the indoor jacuzzi and pool after a long day's drive. The grounds are gorgeous with many tropical flowers and plants, and the breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnesota_egger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I definitely recommend this place. Walking distance to downtown. Very homey feel. Love the ladies that run the place, awesome people. Clean bedding, a must for me. Can't wait to go back. Fresh coffee, and homemade goodies in the morning. Yummy!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The rooms themselves are pretty basic -- what you would expect from a roadside motel. But this place is something special; you can tell the owners put a lot of love into their property. The grounds are lovely -- tons of flowering plants, a vegetable garden, lovely lawns (with lawn bowling equipment!), inviting chaise lounges and outdoor furniture. We didn't get to try out the pool or hot tub, but those looked nice, too. There's also a nice firepit, and the owners even set everything up for s'mores! Thanks for a wonderful night in Healdsburg.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank dnelson288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Manage your expectations.... L&M is not a luxury hotel, by any means. It's a classic motel. HOWEVER, the rooms are very clean and the location is perfect. This is a very affordable option in Healdsburg, it's right on the edge of town and very convenient. The staff is friendly and they provide a pretty hearty continental breakfast, which was a nice surprise (homemade berry scones, coffee, OJ, bananas, hard-boiled eggs and oatmeal). This was a great option for us, since all we needed was a clean bed to sleep in... we wanted our money to go towards more wine, not a $300-$400/night room in town!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.4 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L & M Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L & M Motel

Address: 70 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4017
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Healdsburg
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
l & m Hotel Healdsburg
l And m Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing