We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Healdsburg Country Gardens
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
H2 Hotel(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$370
US$358
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Healdsburg(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$537
US$521
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$568
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Dry Creek Inn(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
US$402
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
L & M Motel(Healdsburg)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duchamp Healdsburg(Healdsburg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
20
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas grillshort drivebottle of winecottageporchpicnic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in April with our adult son and his wife, in the Farmhouse. The setting was private and bucolic -- surrounded by vineyards, no other buildings visible from most windows. There is a large bush inhabited by multiple hummingbirds, located right outside the livingroom window. The kitchen is very well equipped; the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms clean and spacious; the free wi-fi provided internet access at speeds acceptable even to our techie kids. The hot tub and grill are terrific additions. The heat and gas fireplace were welcome on cool April evenings; the house did not appear to have A/C, but did have a large attic exhaust fan. The owners were out of sight, but very helpful when needed; they even let us bring our kids' pet cockatiel, who complemented the birds in the garden aviaries.
The town of Healdsburg is small and charming, with galleries, wineries, and outstanding restaurants. Costeau's Bakery had great takeout and eat-in breakfasts. Big John's Market on the north side of town had terrific meats and produce.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSOfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Stayed here with 3 other people, and it was perfect. Very charming house, with a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival! Rooms were comfy with plenty of blankets, there's a gas fire-place which was a rare treat, plenty of books and games, a big kitchen, and an incredible patio and hot tub!
It's also on a beautiful vineyard property that you can explore, we took some gorgeous photos.
The owners are very nice, and also very prompt with communication. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Our stay at Healdsburg Country Gardens was absolutely delightful. We enjoyed the cozy Wine Country Cottage, set in an extensive, well-tended garden, overlooking a working vineyard. Charming, scenic, and convenient! I’d love to return someday.

Our hosts, Walt and Barbara, were unobtrusive, yet very pleasant and attentive. Barbara told me that they notice services and amenities that appeal to them when they’re traveling, and they adopt those to enhance their own guests’ visits. Two incidents demonstrated to me that they’re committed to keeping their guests happy. First, when we arrived, two water bottles awaited us by the front door of our cottage. We learned that because a pipeline had broken, we had no water. Our hosts had taken prompt action to notify authorities so that the repair would be done as quickly as possible, and kept us informed until the project was completed, just hours later. Also, when we noticed that the cottage’s hot water was erratic, they immediately contacted a plumber who fixed the problem in no time. In addition, upgrades to the barn (for parties) and the Farmhouse were underway; this establishment doesn’t rest on its laurels.

It is a short drive to the attractions of downtown Healdsburg, great for dining out. Not ideal for a commute on foot, but ambitious walkers could make the hike.

Larger folks, or those who need lots of space for toiletries/make-up etc., beware: you might find the Cottage bathroom hard to maneuver in. It’s tiny. But the living area is quaint and comfortable. We didn’t miss a stove/oven, as we used the gas grill and microwave to cook. The cottage also was equipped with little extras, like an umbrella.

Our hosts let us took a look at the other two houses on a day they weren’t booked, for future reference. If you need more elbow room, these accommodations might be for you. The deck on the Wine Country Home was huge and inviting—great view from the hot tub! The Wine Country Farmhouse was even more spacious and, nestled right next to the vineyard, gives you great sunrise and sunset views.

You may primarily see images of HCG in summer. But, don’t hesitate to book a visit at another time of year. We were there in early spring for the regional “barrel tasting” event, which was really fun, with dozens of wineries participating. Chilly mornings were offset by the ready warmth of the gas fire. The extensive gardens on the property were coming into bloom—daffodils next to oranges, doves cooing. And the vineyard views were even better with no leaves on the trees. In short: highly recommended, whatever the season.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewel1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Healdsburg Country Gardens is a beautiful property surrounded by vineyards. There are 3 places to choose for lodging. There's the Farmhouse(4-6 guests), The Main House(4-6 guests) and last but certainly not least The Cottage:) We had the luxury of staying in the cottage. The landscaping was immaculate and included our own entrance and walkway to the cottage. We met the owners briefly and they were very nice. Other than that we had minimal contact with them. It almost felt like we lived on the property(which we loved).

The Cottage, although small, had everything we needed. There is a fireplace, a small kitchenette with plates, bowls, silverwear, etc.... The fridge was big enough to hold our milk, some wine, etc... The bathroom is small, but a view of the vineyards takes your mind off the cramped quarters. The bed was extremely comfortable and outside there is a deck with a table, chairs and a grille. The view while eating breakfast every morning was beautiful.

The location was PERFECT!!! We were about 1 1/2 miles away from Healdsburg Center and close to so many wineries. There were not many amenities, but we liked having our own breakfast and doing our own thing.

We are heading back in May 2010 and will most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WineCountry-ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

While spending a few days touring Sonoma, my husband and I stayed three nights in the country cottage. It is quaint and comfortable, and is perfect to enjoy a glass of wine on the porch overlooking the vineyard after a day touring the wine country. The grounds are gorgeous and serene. Have a cup of coffee in the rose garden in the morning or take a walk through their vineyard - Barbara has created a little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews