We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection in Sonoma!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We spent three days this past week at The Honor Mansion, and felt more pampered than ever. The service we received from Natalie, Dannie, Steve and Cathi was unbelievable. They had a happy to do it attitude and were there to plan our wine trips, dinners, and answer any questions we had. We stayed in the Squires Cottage---and have to say Steve and Cathi have thought of everything! The room was beautiful, and romantic, from the tub to the fireplace, to the awesome bed and linens---to the romantic music playing when we walked in. The grounds of the Mansion are immaculate, and kept pristine. The breakfasts were fantastic, as were the appetizers and wines served before dinner. We travel extensively, and have to say this is one of our top stays ever. We booked our trip for next year before we even left. doug and cindy

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winetraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Doug & Cindy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Ensuring that our guests feel pampered is our main purpose, and we are so glad you let us pamper you! We really appreciate your kind compliments and we're pleased that you have added the Honor Mansion to your list of favorites! Thank you, again, for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
There are newer reviews for Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

100% of the experience was perfect. Why stay anywhere else? Get food, great help, great location. We had a magnificient time and Steve and Kathy really know Sonoma and love to share their knowledge. They tell where to go, what to eat and what to drink.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Websterwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

We want to thank you for writing us such an amazing review! As you said, we do truly love Sonoma and helping others experience Wine Country the way we know and love it! We're so glad you enjoyed all of our suggestions and had a great time here!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and were very sad to leave when it was over. We are in our 30's and like to have some activities to do while on vacation. At the Honor Mansion they have a Tennis Court, 2 Bocce Ball Courts, Basketball Hoop, Putting Green, and a Pool. And the best part is that there was rarely anyone else using any of those things. It felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves.

Besides the activities they offer an amazing home cooked free breakfast as well as cookies and free wine in the afternoon. There are sodas and bottled waters available all day for free. Everything about this resort is first class. The employees are some of the nicest I have ever been around at a resort. They tendered to our every need which included setting up our wine tour and mapping it out for us. They also got us a private driver for the days we planned on drinking a little more.

Our first night our air conditioner froze up due to the record breaking heat in the first week of October. The owners offered to move us, but we stayed in the room and opened the window and it was totally fine. They fixed the air condition first thing the next morning and when we checked out they gave us a coupon for a free night when we come back. This was absolutely incredible service. I would not even consider staying somewhere else when we do come back.

I know that these rooms could seem expensive here. Trust me, if you are debating between the Honor Mansion and anywhere else pick the Honor Mansion. Pay a little extra to experience what true excellence feels like. It is worth it for the romantic scenery and the impeccable service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1_Metallica_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

We are so humbled by your wonderful compliments of our property and amenities! We truly appreciate your taking the time to write us such a detailed review!
We're so glad we were able to make your wine country experience wonderful! We all love to give suggestions for all the amazing places in Sonoma County that make this area so special, and we're always happy when our guests enjoy what we plan for you!

Thank you for being so accommodating while we worked to fix your air conditioner; we really appreciate your understanding that even when we try to make everything perfect, sometimes things just happen! We do hope you come back soon, as there is always more to explore here in Wine Country!

Again, thank you for your lovely review!

Until next time,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We cannot say enough about The Honor Mansion!!! It is an absolutely beautiful inn with gorgeous grounds!! Everything is done to perfection!! We expected a wonderful experience there, but our expectations were even exceeded! They are truly committed to providing excellent service and everyone on staff does their utmost to make you happy. They offer a delicious gourmet breakfast every day; not just a continental breakfast, but a true, full breakfast with amazing dishes!! They have thought of everything; whatever you need/want, they have it covered. Our suite was just beautiful; even better than we expected! They even offer delicious appetizers in the afternoon with amazing wines to accompany them! The pool and pool area is lovely and the grounds are so beautiful! I wish we could have stayed longer!! We had a wonderful, wonderful time and look forward to returning to The Honor Mansion!!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Tower Suite and it was so beautiful!! It is comprised of two levels with a downsta...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review you have written us! We do try to have everything thought of for our guests so you can completely relax and feel entirely pampered during your time here. We're so pleased we were able to make your trip wonderful.

We also really appreciate all of your details about our Tower Suite in your room tip; those are so helpful for our future guests in deciding which of our 13 rooms to choose!

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we are truly honored that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed at Honor Mansion in October 2012 in the pool room. The staff, including owners Steve & Cathy, and concierges Danni and Nataly were AMAZING. They were the perfect combination of helpful, and yet not intrusive, as some B&B proprietors can be. The group helped arrange some unique experiences, including a tour of a small winery normally closed to the public.

Can highly recommend staying at Honor Mansion as part of a trip to Sonoma wine country!

Room Tip: Pool suite includes an outdoor hot tub
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alpinecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thank you very much for your gracious review! We appreciate all your kind remarks about your stay. We are so pleased that we were able to make your trip to Sonoma Wine Country wonderful, and that you enjoyed your stay with us in some peace and quiet! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review!

Warm Regards,

Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

When I was preparing to propose to my fiancee I wanted to create the perfect trip. I'd narrowed it down to a long weekend in Healdsburg, but needed a place to stay. I found the perfect place in Honor Mansion.

We stayed in the Garden Suite, which had a private driveway and a fenced in area with a private entrance. It did share one wall with the adjoining suite. It had a small patio area in the front with sliding glass doors leading out to that area and a long hallway-like patio along the side leading to the front door, but the best outdoor space was waiting for us just outside the back door. There we found a spacious partially-covered patio area that included a good-sized whirlpool hot tub. Also on the back deck were comfortable chairs (perfect for reading or sitting together with morning coffee) as well as a medium-sized refrigerator and a microwave.

The interior of the room was beautiful. As you walk in the front door to your immediate right is a living room area with recliners positioned in front of a gas fireplace. Tastefully hidden behind decorative doors is a small (maybe 32") TV if you choose to use that. Also in that area is a CD player, and they provide about 8 CDs that may be appropriate for your stay.

On your left will be a small table with two chairs, as well as a built in dresser/wet bar and a beautiful old armoire, as well as the back door. Straight ahead is the queen bed, another dresser, and the bathroom.

The grounds overall were fantastic. The main building (where you check in and get breakfast) is perfectly done. There are two small rooms in the front of the house, and they provide a computer where you can print off your boarding passes on the way out, or do a little research if you don't have a laptop with you. There's a patio with small tables where you can enjoy breakfast by the Koi pond, or later in the day you can partake in their nightly wine and appetizers. In the back there's a pool large enough to swim laps in and a large poolside area to catch some sun. Nearby are two tents where you can arrange for poolside massages (which I did) through independent therapists that the staff arranges for you. Behind that area is a large recreation space with a croquet field and bocce ball courts.

They offer a number of services including a rose petal turndown and a cheese plate (both of which I took advantage of), and they also gave helpful recommendations and reviews on local wineries, restaurants, and activities.

The staff was very helpful throughout and made things easy for me. They were careful not to blow the surprise and acted welcoming and professional at all times.

The location is very good, though if you're planning on spending a lot of time in Healdsburg (dining or shopping, etc) it's a very short drive or a reasonable walk (about a mile). Other places in the area are closer, so consider that. It's about a $10 cab ride if you're a decent tipper.

In terms of value, I'd say if you're looking for the very best lodging experience in the area, you've found it here. You'll also pay for it. I believe that my stay came at the top end of their rate scale, as most of the places in town were booked even when I was looking around more than a month out. It's easily the most I've ever spent on a hotel, and if it wasn't for a once-in-a-lifetime event I wouldn't have been able to justify the expense. However, if you're able to get a rate that fits into your budget this is a very, very solid place to stay.

I should mention that while I have extensive experience in hotels of every level, this is the first B&B I've ever stayed in, so take that into consideration.

Room Tip: Visit their website to view room types. I can recommend the Garden Suite from experience, but they a...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PromoRoadGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

First, we again want to say, "Congratulations!" from all of us here at the Honor Mansion.
Thank you so much for your thorough review of your stay during such a momentous occasion in your lives! We are so excited to help with surprises and special occasions, and we're especially pleased that you loved everything we were able to do for you to make this exciting time even more memorable.

We so appreciate your detailed outline of the room's layout, as this is extremely helpful for our guests when they're deciding between all of our unique rooms. We're so happy that you enjoyed the Garden Suite during your stay with us.

We feel so honored that you chose us as the perfect place to stay for this big moment, and we thank you for allowing us to make your trip special.
Thank you again for your lovely, helpful review!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Three nights was not enough to enjoy everything Honor Mansion has to offer! The attention to detail here is beyond belief - and that is what makes you feel so at home. All rooms are decorated with warmth and exquisite taste. Don't worry about forgetting anything. Didn't bring sunscreen? They have a bunch by the pool. Want to ship anything home? They have a closet of shipping supplies at your disposal. Want to watch the movie about the winery you just visited? Ask them and they have it in their extensive collection of DVDs that are there for the borrowing. Midnight munchies? Cappucino/latte/espresso machine is available anytime (as well as anything to satisfy your sweet tooth - cookies, candies, delicious fresh fruit.) Still can't sleep? Help yourself to a glass of sherry. Bored? There are plenty of games, books, magazines and DVDs if you have already exhausted the pool, croquet, bocce, basketball court and putting green.
The food offerings are amazing. The breakfasts were better than gourmet - honestly, if they charged for the breakfast they served they could charge at least $25 for that buffet. The hot selections were all outstanding and the other options were all top of the line - excellent breads from the local bakery, gourmet granola for your yogurt and the most perfectly ripe fruit you could want. The wine and appetizers they start serving at 4:00 are not to be missed. Then you walk around the grounds and realize that many of the ingredients come from their own garden. On weekends different wineries come in to hold a private tasting. There is no better welcome when you newly arrive in wine country! And if you have any confusion about where to start with winery tours, just give them a call before you arrive and they will not only make recommendations but they will make the reservations for you. Same with restaurant recommendations and reservations. Even the recommendation Steve gave us for a restaurant in downtown SF was amazing.
Steve and Cathi have accomplished what many have tried but few have succeeded - a full-service B&B that anticipates your every need without being one bit stuffy. They have figured out how to provide 5-star service while making you feel completely at home (if home were a perfectly-appointed Victorian mansion). Well done!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMissyHMHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write us this glowing review. We really appreciate your detailed list of so many of our amenities that we offer our guests, and we're so glad you were able to take advantage of them during your stay!

We love our guests to feel that they don't have to worry about a single thing during their stay at the Honor Mansion, and we're truly pleased that you felt we did this. It is our pleasure to help our guests relax and enjoy Wine Country, and we thank you for allowing us to make your stay amazing.

We do really feel that our property is a unique fusion of a small, personalized attention filled inn and a luxuriously appointed resort, and we are so honored that you believe we have succeeded in what we have created. Thank you, again, for all your wonderful words!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.8 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.6 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
196 reviews
22.6 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Healdsburg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Healdsburg
#2 Green Hotel in Healdsburg
Price Range: £257 - £533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing