We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We've stayed at the Honor Mansion before, and will always stay there when we visit California wine country. We stayed in the Vineyard Suites and one of the people in our party who stayed in another Vineyard suite said,"Why do we want to go anywhere. Let's just stay on the property all week." The staff goes out of their way to make sure every request is satisfied. Nataly and Emily organized everything for us without any hassle. They arranged to have our wine shipped back home, so we didn't have to lift a finger. It's not cheap, but when you visit wine country you don't want any hassles, and our stays at Honor Mansion have always been trouble free. One more thing. Steve (the owner) is known in the area, so when he directs you somewhere, the other proprietors seem a little more interested in your business.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mslimbarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you so much for this glowing review! We are so delighted that you returned to the Honor Mansion for another vacation with friends.

All of our innkeeping staff makes every effort to ensure your stay is relaxing and hassle free, and we are glad that you feel this way about staying with us.

Thank you for choosing our property again and for recommending us so highly. We look forward to hosting you next time you folks are in California!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    31
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
571
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire dales
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed three nights and that was not enough. Healdsburg is much nicer that the bigger wine towns. It's not so commercial and ticks all of my boxes.
We were well looked after at the mansion. Great room. We met lovely people there, time for a chat! Time for a swim, golf putting, bocce ? and croquet. They made good suggestions as to where to eat and wineries to visit. It was a perfect place for us.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank raikesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are so glad that you loved Healdsburg as much as we do!

Many of our guests say that they wish they had taken advantage of the resort grounds more than they did, so we are pleased that you spent time enjoying the sunshine out on the game grounds.

There are so many great places to eat and drink, and we are especially happy that you folks liked our suggestions. Thank you again for choosing the Honor Mansion!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed over the Labor Day weekend. Conveniently located within a 5 min drive to downtown Healdsburg (or about 20 min walk which we chose not to do after dinner because the street was dark with no street lights). The property is classically beautiful and clean.

We stayed in one of the rooms that was beautifully decorated and was promptly cleaned every morning after we returned from breakfast. The King-sized bed appeared to be a foam mattress and was quite comfortable. The sink and toilet were separated from the shower. The shower was only OK as the shower head was small and sprayed very unevenly.

There was a complimentary bottle of white wine in each room. Unlike a regular hotel, since it was a central house A/C, we could not control the room temperature other than adjusting the ceiling vent opening or opening the window. There was a big ceiling fan which definitely helped.

We stayed 4 nights and the hot breakfast changed each day consisting of a buffet of 2-3 items to choose from. The cold items were the same every day and included scone, fruits, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, English muffins, cereal, among others. Overall, it's not your big 4-5 star hotel or cruise ship breakfast buffets with lots of items to try, but small, cozy and very good by B&B standards. The daily cookies are to die for!!!

We like to watch TV before going to sleep at night but the TV was not easy to figure out since there were 2 remotes that had to be coordinated to work together. In our case, one remote was used to turn on the TV and had to be set to Channel 3 and also controlled the volume. The other remote is used to turn the channel. The instructions left in the room wasn't helpful and all staff leaves at 7pm but there's an emergency phone. In any case, this is not a big deal.

Steve, the owner of the B&B, was very helpful and recommended a few wineries to visit which ended up being great recommendations. Thank you again, Steve! Overall, our stay there was excellent, service (before 7pm) was impeccable and we would consider staying at Honor Mansion again if/when we're back in Healdsburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJoyce2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We want to thank you so much for writing such a detailed review of the stay you loved! Since we are located on a quiet, residential street with no streetlights, we do supply a lantern and a flashlight in the room if guests want to take advantage of the conveniently close walk to town, but as you folks found, the drive is also very short to downtown Healdsburg.

We apologize that the TV instructions didn't help you sufficiently, and we have looked into the instructions and rectified them. Thank you for bringing that to our attention though!

We truly appreciate your compliments about our service and breakfasts, and we are so glad you folks enjoyed your stay.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

we stayed there recently with friends and it was absolutely wonderful. Staff was exceptional and property was beautiful. Loved that they turned the bed down for afternoon naps. And delivered fresh coffee and biscotti every morning to our doorstep. Food was very good and the service was amazing. also loved the jetted bathtub on the screened in porch. fantastic experience. enjoyed wine and appetizers nightly by the koi pond- loved it! rooms came equipped with everything, including a flashlight for nighttime walks to town.

Room Tip: bed was SO comfortable in the Garden Suite. Hope to stay in the Tower Suite next time- looks very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review! We so appreciate your comments and we are honored that you loved so many aspects of your stay, especially the little details from the jacuzzi tub to the turndown service. We are very happy that we served you folks well.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Honor Mansion!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Having stayed at HM in 2005 (see original review: Heaven in Healdsburg), I was so excited to secure a last minute 1 night stay during our trip to Healdsburg for the fabulous Taste of Sonoma and birthday celebration. Both Innkeepers Nataly and Emily were fantastic keeping me apprised of room availability for the Garden Suite, which was the only room remaining and with a 2 night min stay over the Labor Day weekend. As Sonoma locals, we only needed the room 1 night and we were very pleased it was released early Friday morning to accommodate our request. The fine HM service has not changed a bit. The Garden Suite with private driveway & entrance was spacious, comfortable and our favorite feature was the soaking tub for 2 in the private outdoor patio. The shower in the bathroom, although has double heads, is a bit outdated and we found pressure issues (similar to 1st stay). We lounged for hours waiting for our dinner reservation at Chalkboard (Next Review-A Must). One of the most memorable experiences of my first stay was the 3 course breakfast which I raved about to my BF. Our morning started out with coffee delivery to the door (this is awesome); however, the carafe holds 2 cups only. Sorry, but we wanted more and the convenience of not having to leave our room. This left us with the only option to get to breakfast early where we could continue with our next cup of coffee. This is where our stay unraveled. The breakfast is buffet (clearly communicated at check in) and this differs from the 3 course menu offered years ago. The buffet offered cream cheese French toast, sausages, a few hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, scones, and bagels and hot instant oatmeal. Tables were adorned with an interesting mimosa list (at $6 per). Let me say that I LOVE French Toast (see initial review, I raved about it, requested the recipe, etc.) but this version was overly sweet & soggy and the 4 of us at our table were unable to eat it. There were no alternatives and we did not ask. On the other hand, the sausage was fantastic (apparently handmade in SFO) but unfortunately we try not to fill up on sausage. We couldn't tolerate more than a few sips of the Hibiscus and Sunshine Mimosas. As HM, prides itself as a B&B, the B for Breakfast at the price point needs to be the Best like everything else they offer. Another fine point, is that there is a note or instruction at every turn on how to...We can appreciate the goal is to make your guests orientation simple; however, it truly detracts from the elegance & experience of the room...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommee22paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your compliments about our service, as we do think that service truly enhances an experience at any place you stay.

When we delivered the fresh complimentary coffee and biscotti to your front gate in the morning, we placed the two-cup carafe that we deliver to the front door of all our exterior suites. Had you called our office upon our service, we would have immediately brought you a second carafe of a fresh complimentary coffee. We are only sorry that you did not let us know you desired more coffee than one cup each before breakfast, as we would have gladly been able accommodate your request! Alternatively, there is also a coffee pot in each of our suites with four packets of each regular and decaf ready-to-brew ground coffee. That coffee machine is located underneath the wet bar. We apologize that we did not have a note or instruction for you to find that in your room though it is always mentioned as we check guests into their rooms. (As a side note, we recently traveled and were charged $22.00 plus tip for a pot of coffee delivered to our room). Also mentioned at check in is that we have freshly brewed coffee available throughout the day and evening starting at 7:30 a.m.

Regarding the bathroom in the Garden Suite, it was remodeled just one year ago with beautiful white cabinetry and marble flooring. The soaking tub is by Kohler. We have not heard of pressure issues in our Garden Suite at any time in the past 19 years, but we will certainly look into the water pressure now that you have mentioned it to us—thank you.

We are saddened to hear that you feel your stay unraveled, especially during our gourmet buffet breakfast. Since your stay in 2005, we have modified the setup for breakfast so that our guests have more flexibility and can conveniently enjoy their breakfast at any time during the two-hour dining window. Our recipes and menu items are all the same with many added choices. You mentioned a caramel apple French toast, and we now currently serve a Grand Marnier Mascarpone with orange zest stuffed French toast—we have simply changed the format for guest convenience. We also offer a selection of award winning breads fresh from Costeaux French Bakery in town, every day, including but certainly not limited to just bagels, as well as a dozen hard boiled eggs, fresh granola, seasonal fruit and scone of the day, all replenished throughout the breakfast period. We are surprised and apologetic to hear that your French toast was not up to our usual standards, and we wish you would have brought it to our attention so that we could have addressed your issue and offered you an alternative. Had you asked if there were in fact alternatives, we would have gladly looked into the quality of the French toast and prepared you something to enjoy. We are not sure why you could not tolerate more than a few sips of our complimentary hibiscus and grapefruit mimosas, and we are sorry that you did not bring this to our attention so we could have rectified that situation as well. However, the statement that the mimosas are $6 each is not correct—we serve two mimosas completely free of charge to every guest, and after the two complimentary mimosas we do charge $6 each. This information is written on the mimosa menu which was on your table throughout breakfast service. You were not charged for your mimosas.

It is disappointing when guests such as yourselves have issues with something such as the ones you mentioned but neglect to address it with us so that we can rectify them, but instead, choose to go onto a review site and complain without giving us an opportunity to address them at the time.

I want to thank you again for giving us input on your stay but we do wish you would have let us know your concerns so we could have made your stay as perfect as it should have been.

Thank you for choosing the Honor Mansion again, this time for your birthday celebration.

Steve Fowler, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our second time at the Honor Mansion in two years. Absolutely outstanding. The rooms, grounds, and people are great. It's the perfect location to visit Healdsburg and all of the Sonoma Valley wineries. Our typical day started with a delicious breakfast followed by some wine tasting. Later in the afternoon we spent time by the pool and then we enjoyed some great dinners in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you so much for writing us this lovely review! We are so lucky that Healdsburg sits right in the middle of the three amazing valleys, Russian River, Alexander, and Dry Creek.

We are so glad that you enjoyed breakfast in the morning and that our suggestions for wine tasting days assisted you in having a wonderful time!

Thanks for choosing the Honor Mansion!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

First time at Honor Mansion. This is what a bed and breakfast should be. Staff was excellent, very attentive and you could tell they wanted you to have an unforgettable experience. Additionally, they were extremely helpful with our itinery and knowledgeable about the wineries.
The property is an older 2 story building that has been very well maintained. In addition to the rooms in the building, there were rooms outside the building. We stayed in the building and our room was charming. The grounds are immaculate with a tennis court, putting green, croquet field, bocce area, basketball area and a swimming pool. The area around a small fish pond is about as relaxing a place to sit and read as you can imagine. Breakfast was very good and changed each day. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you so much for writing the review for our resort inn! We are glad that your stay was indeed an unforgettable experience, since we love helping guests explore Sonoma Wine Country.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your mansion room and our resort grounds, as well as the gourmet breakfast each day of your stay.

We look forward to the next time we are able to host you!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.8 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.6 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
195 reviews
9.0 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Property: Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Address: 14891 Grove St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing