We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2005

My husband and I spent our first two nights in wine country at the Honor Mansion. We stayed in the Garden Suite. The suite was nice, but a little pricey ($400!). The room is in the typical B&B style - lots of chintz, florals, potpourri, etc. The bed was not particularly comfortable (large hump in the center made it hard to snuggle) and unfortunately the maid sprayed some country scent in the room which burned the back of my throat (after opening the windows for a few hours and hiding the spray during the rest of our stay things improved).

The bathroom is nice but not spectacular (all of the lotions and other amenities had stickers that claimed they were property of the Honor Mansion - apparently people have a need to take these items out of the rooms?). The fireplace and selection of magazines is a nice touch as is the outdoor jacuzzi. The staff also honored my husband's birthday by placing a cake in our room. Breakfasts were quite yummy and the tennis courts were well-maintained. The daily cocktail hour was nice and included tasty foods and wine.

For a B&B, the Honor Mansion is very nice. My husband and I enjoy modern hotels a bit more and would recommend those with the same tastes check out the Duchamp Hotel also located in Healdsburg. For those who like the B&B scene, the Honor Mansion will meet your every expecation and more.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    30
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
564
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 October 2005

While it is very important to know that your every need is attended to at the Honor Mansion, it is more important to know that it is done with such elegance and style that you don't notice. You simply are not lacking for anything, as though that is the way it always is. There is peace and quiet and not a soul around if that is what you are looking for. There is attentive and knowledgeable staff around if that is what you are looking for. After a day of peace and quiet we enjoyed meeting our fellow lodgers at the evening wine tasting. If we didn't want to meet them we had complimentary wine in our room and stayed to ourselves. This is what makes the fabulous breakfast, the wonderful rooms, the incredible massages and the fun outdoor activities that much more sublime.

Helpful?
48 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fl.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2005

We celebrated our 40th Anniversary at this beautiful, warm, well maintained bed and breakfast home. The Wisteria Room was everything we hoped for.The owners and staff were wonderful people who were dedicated to our enjoyment of our four-night stay.Each day was a joy beginning with outstanding, high quality,gourmet and delicious breakfasts, great dining and touring recommendations, 24 hour coffee and espresso, sherry, heart-healthy merengue, a nice local sauvignon blanc, and great cookies. The grounds are beautiful and the ambience most relaxing. We will look forward to our return.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
50 Thank Skihero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2005

My husband and I spent two nights in the Garden Suite at Honor Mansion. Our suite was gorgeous; comfy bed, gas fireplace, outdoor jacuzzi, several private indoor and outdoor sitting areas and good size bathroom with double sinks. The grounds of the inn are beautiful and we enjoyed a wonderful couples massage poolside on our first afternoon there. But what really makes this place special are all the little details. Hot beverages of your choice and paper delivered to your door each morning, a stocked fridge of cold drinks by the pool, complimentary bottle of wine, 24 hour access to a cappucino machine and homemade cookies, wine and appetizers in the afternoon, and the delicious breakfasts. They go beyond the usual bathroom amenities; ours had a huge container of body lotion, eye makeup remover towlettes, lip balm, bath salts, lens cleaner and two sets of robes.
Steve directed us to the Oakville Grocery our first afternoon there. We enjoyed a lunch of cheeses, olives, bread and a glass of wine while sitting on the patio in Headlsburg square, which is full of unqiue restaurants and shops. The inn provides recommendations and descriptions of several restaurants in the square and we enjoyed two good dinners there.
I can't imagine a better place to stay when visiting wine country.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank BethAndover_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 August 2005

We just returned to Boston after spending 3 nights at the beautiful and elegant Honor Mansion. We were so sad to leave the Honor Mansion for so many reasons:

the never-ending pampering;
the luxurious accommodations;
sophisticated comfort;
gourmet 3 course breakfast and fine wine; and
the most friendliest, warm and sincere staff

The HM is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. Kelly guided us with ideas for wine touring and she was spot on with her suggestions. Every afternoon we enjoyed the tasty appetizers and wine hour outside on the patio while feeding the koi fish. We played tennis and treated ourselves to a massage in the cabanas located poolside. Our stay at the inn was not only relaxing, but utterly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2005

We were absolutely impressed with the Honor Mansion-our hosts for 3 wonderful nights. Behind those Grove Street doors, a smiling staff, fabulous service, spectacular breakfasts, wonderful afternoon wine with hors d'oeuvres & beautiful grounds (4+ acres) await you.

At the time of booking, there were only 2 rooms available for our dates & our budget. We chose the Camellia room which is located on the 2nd floor at the front of the main house. We were celebrating a special occasion & arrived to a wonderful suprise in our room (we will keep it a suprise since we don't want to spoil it for others). The room is beautifully appointed, very comfortable (we loved the ceiling fan!) & with all of the amenities-they really go above & beyond (for example, lens wipes for camera...now that's a first!). The shower is separate from the bathroom & both are on the small side but this worked fine for us. The HM does express warning of decreased shower pressure during certain hours (while laundering) however we did experience some pressure issues during "off-hours." Living in an old house ourselves, this is part of the old house charm. There is also a computer conveniently located outside the 2nd floor front rooms-we couldn't help be tempted by checking e-mail & hope we weren't too loud for our neighbors ever.

We came to the area to taste the wines of the valleys and found it really hard to leave the property. The HM puts the "Breakfast" in B&B-those breakfasts were absolutely scrumptious-those delectable 3 courses carried us through until dinner! We are still dreaming about the caramel apple french toast-WOW! They also serve fresh OJ & nice organic teas-this started the mornings out just right!

Once we did break away & with some great tips from Kelly, we had a fun time tasting & picnicking (we recommend Armida for the picnic although Passalaqua is nice too). We just received one of our cases of wine from Michel-Schlumberger today. We recommend a visit here.

In between tasting & eating, we enjoyed feeding the koi (definitely let them eat from your hand-it will make you giggle), our first game of bocce & a swim in the pool. Kelly arranged for us to have a couple's massage poolside and what a treat! It was wonderful to have the heat from the sun & the cool afternoon breezes working with the therapists. Don't miss out!

We were given a tour of some of the other rooms in the main house & also the suites. All are beautiful. If the buget is available-go for the suite. Otherwise, if the choice is available, we would recommend the rooms in the rear of the house, as the residential street tended to be a bit noisy in the early morning. But, if you find yourself having to choose between a front room or no availability-definitely don't miss out & go with one of the front rooms.

Thanks to the staff & a special thanks to Kelly who was always available for us, always smiling, so very pleasant & truly accommodating. She made our stay at the HM a memorable one. We hope to visit again & stay in their gorgeous suites. They are heavenly!

Monica Yost & Troy Schoenmeier

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank tommee22paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 July 2005

beautiful grounds, wonderfully attentive staff, great breakfasts, and romantic rooms. easy walk to town square for excellent restaurant choices ( the staff was very helpful with recommendations and reservations).
we will come back, great place to relax and enjoy outdoor massages.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.8 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
10.8 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
9.0 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Property: Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Address: 14891 Grove St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing