We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Tuscany”

Ferrari-Carano Winery
Ranked #6 of 158 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ferrari-Carano, located in picturesque Dry Creek Valley, Sonoma County, is home to world-class wines, five acres of award-winning gardens and breathtaking vineyard views. Taste Classic Wines in the Villa Fiore Wine Shop or taste Reserve Wines in the Enoteca located in the underground cellar. Tasting Rooms open daily. Tour and private tastings are available by appointment.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Taste of Tuscany”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My destinations of preference in the WC are small production wineries in Napa and Sonoma. On a recent trip we visited Ferrari-Carano as a favor to our traveling companions per a recommendation of their close friends. I truly have no interest in seeing these types of attractions. I use the term because the wine production and tasting room aside the grounds are truly an attraction. Beautifully nestled among the hills of northern Sonoma Valley, the winery and surroundings gardens are a trip to a faraway place. A giant brass hog welcomes you up a winding path to the tasting room. On your way out you can walk through manicured gardens. The view from the terrace is stunning. With a little technology and some imagination one can take a panoramic photograph to show to the folks back home. Being there during the harvest prohibited us from leisurely walking up to the tasting room bar and sampling the wines. In any event, it is well worth the trip up Dry Creek Road for a bit of relaxation. Besides, it is just past Dutcher Crossing which is a "must do" winery in Dry Creek. DC is boutique in style but don't let that fool you. They are nice people with great tasting wines. Salute!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MGKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    111
    39
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best garden in Wine Country, and good wine too”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Ferrari-Carano's grounds are lovely, a brief walking tour of the garden (guided or unguided) is worth your while, and makes a good break from the clatter and hustle of the tasting room. There are two tasting rooms - upstairs (ground level) for the generalist, and downstairs for those with a bit more time and money. The main emphasis of the upper level is frankly the gifts, not the wines, from geegaws to luggage. I guess I'd summarize that this is a good winery for the family tourist, not so much the wine aficianado. (Note: the gardens are free, as is the gift shop; as is usual in the Healdsburg area, there is a charge for the tastings)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DesktopAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Must See Vineyard”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Ferrari Carano was the one vineyard my wife and I wanted to tour during our trip to wine countr and we were not disappointed. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed our walk among the gardens. Our tour guide Michelle was friendly and knowledgable and gave us great stories and information as we toured the grounds and the wine making areas. After the tour, she took us the tasting room where we enjoyed several great wines. We especially loved the merlot and ordered a few bottles to be shipped home. This was a great expereince and I highly recommend a visit to Ferrari-Carano.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark3735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were at another vineyard and asked for any recommendations for another vineyard and this was the one. The gardens are truly beautiful and a lot of work is put into them. There is also a lovely shop as well as good wine tasting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Visi2rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“very scenic”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

beautiful grounds! great wines! amazing barrel room. We only had the regular tasting. Next time I'll upgrade to include food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferrari-Carano Winery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Ferrari-Carano Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing