We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful wine country retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belle de Jour Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belle de Jour Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful wine country retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Our stay at the Belle de Jour Inn did not disappoint. Once you turn onto their long driveway, you are able to ease into your vacation. The cottages offer privacy, and are decorated in a tasteful, sparse country style that is refreshing after seeing too many cluttered B&B rooms. The six acre grounds include beautiful gardens that attract local wildlife, so you can watch the quails out your window. As City folks, we were delighted by the jack rabbits and other local wildlife. There is room to stretch out and relax on the grounds, which a contrast with so many other options. Tom and Brenda make you feel at home, and you feel great about supporting their two person team. They have great recommendations for wineries gave us cards for some complimentary tastings that were a real treat. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jun1per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
295
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I had the pleasure of staying in the Caretakers Cottage in this fabulous B&B in Healdsburg a few weeks ago. It iwas simply joyful. The owners go out of their way to help you with anything you might need or want to see.

The spectacular breakfasts are simply the best. The accomodations are pristine, romantic, and impeccable, and the grounds the same. The other cottages were occupied by lovely people and breakfast was dynamic, interesting and each breakfast dish was amazing.

Therre is nothing I can say other than I cannot wait to return to this haven in the woods.. A welcome retreat after Wine tasting, olive oll sampling and exploring the spectacular scenery.

Thank you fior a wonderful vacation.
Robin Kaplan

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed at the Belle de Jour for a romantic getaway in wine country. Beautiful accomodations in a great centralized location. For wine lovers, it made it very easy to purchase wine from a winery and drop it off at the room on your way to the next tasting, rather than leaving the wine in a hot car. The owners are very knowledgeable about the area and have great suggestions for things to do based on your interests. Breakfast every morning was amazing! I didn't want to leave, and I'm trying to come up with an excuse for when we can return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelichte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Hubby & I were determined to share our Anniversary Dinner at Cyrus in Healdsburg. Using Trip Advisor and the interwebs, we found Belle de Jour Inn, whose owner/proprietor was helpful in securing us lodging for our 4th of July getaway. Once our reservations were secured, they provided dining recommendations in advance so that we could secure recommendations. Having one's anniversary on such a busy holiday weekend is often a challenge but Tom guided us through the holiday crowds straight to the best tables in town. All his recommendations turned out to be stellar.

They welcomed us to their beautiful Healdsburg Farm-turned-B&B, with a lovely bottle of chilled wine. The room (Carriage House) was beautifully appointed, yet extremely welcoming. The bed comfy, the linens sufficient. They have a very green aesthetic, no wasted stream of clean towels to laundry. The large jacuzzi was comfortable to relax in after a tiring day in the summer sun.

The B&B itself is perfectly located just moments from the downtown 'hustle' of beautiful DT Healdsburg. One could walk or bike, we chose to drive the approx 2 miles into town.

The entire experience of our stay was perfection. Brenda bakes a mean scone, and her group breakfasts with optional cappucino or latte are memorable. One begins to develop a sense of the host, and the other guests sharing the space, in a lovely European style setting of camaraderie.

The accomodations themselves are clean, lovely to look at and geared toward optimal comfort. We will be back. If only just to smell the jasmine and pet their gorgeous cuddly cats.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you like, they'll take care of the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mzscahlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvington, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Sonoma wine country and we stayed at Belle De Jour Inn in Healdsburg. Our cottage was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and included fresh fruit, a delicious baked good and an egg dish, lattes and juice.
The property was also equally as beautiful as the cottage with beautiful flowers, plantings, quiet and views. The entire property was immaculate, modern and very pretty.
The owners, Brenda and Tom were very gracious and very helpful with directions and recommendations.
Everything about the inn was great. It would be my only choice when we return to California wine country.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We were two couples and had two adjacent rooms. Both were very comfortable, with king size beds and a Jacuzzi tub with shower. The grounds are large and especially at this time of year, very beautiful. Tom and Brenda are excellent hosts and after over 20 years there, are very knowledgeable about wineries, restaurants and local attractions. The place is close enough to downtown to be convenient (a little too long to walk) but far enough to be totally insulated from noise of any kind. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts are somewhat less substantial than some other Healdsburg B & B's, but for seniors like us, they were delicious and ample.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michae4716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I wanted a very special place to enjoy the long weekend of our 32nd anniversary and we certainly found it at the Belle de Jour. Although we travel frequently, this was our first experience with a bed and breakfast. Our hosts, Tom and Brenda, made us feel comfortable from the beginning. Breakfast, served at 9 am, was delicious, with special yummy recipes for my lactose-free diet and another guest's need for gluten-free. The room was beautiful, with a comfortable king bed, gas fireplace and large bathroom (with jetted tub). The grounds are beautiful- right across the road from a winery (great tour at that winery, by the way) and within a couple minutes of downtown Healdsburg, but the feeling that you are really away from it all. One evening we saw bunnies hopping by the road and quail in the back lawn while exploring their lovely garden. Another plus of great hosts is that they could point us in the right direction for fun- knowing when the rose gardens were open to the public, where to go for free wine tasting and great restaurants in town. We hope we can go back some day soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozpnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
2.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
2.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.7 mi away
Calderwood Inn
Calderwood Inn
#5 of 15 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle de Jour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle de Jour Inn

Property: Belle de Jour Inn
Address: 16276 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing