We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 star bed and breakfast”
Review of Irish Rose Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Irish Rose Inn
Ranked #13 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We were welcomed like family and we had the most beautiful room with a large en-suite with jacuzzi.Lanny and Chris were wonderful hosts and it is a pleasure to recommend their home.George and Andreia Wood

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wood1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Irish Rose Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Irish Rose Bed & Breakfast. The hosts were fabulous; extremely helpful - knowledgeable of the local area (they've lived there for 24 years) and genuinely friendly. The location is along Dry Creek Rd, in the heart of wine country and just down from the very cool and popular Dry Creek General Store. I was in Healdsburg for a workshop, but rented a bike on a free-day and toured the wineries and had a great time (the host, Chris, kitted me out with a picnic basket!). My room was large, clean + great bed. I had considered staying at one of the chain hotels, but am SO glad I made the better choice. I will definitely come back and have already recommended the Irish Rose to friends. Oh and the breakfasts = amazing; homemade French toast souffle and pear pie!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
Thank femaletrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband and I just returned from an overnight stay and it was just fantastic! Per other reviews, the two rooms are great. They are both upstairs, with Kimberly facing towards Dry Creek Rd, and Michael facing the backyard. We stayed in Kimberly and I found it to be very spacious and the ensuite bathroom was perfect. I also spent a some time in their living room, porch, and outdoor patio, all were very relaxing. Both Lanny and Chris very just warm and welcoming. We enjoyed sharing their wine and having onversation with them. Absolutely the place to stay if you're ever in Healdsburg. It'll certainly be our go-to place from now on.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fvtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

wonderful location, several minute drive to town/Healdsburg square and to innumerable wineries (as well as several right next door). Chris gave us excellent advice on which wineries to visit and tour, gave us free tasting coupons, as well as pointed us toward the general store, which had amazing sandwiches. Our room had the queen size bed, and it was very spacious and clean. No TV in the room itself, but I was pretty tired at the end of the day anyhow. Breakfast was lovely. they allow one night stays, which most places nearby don't. The price is the best in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotsitcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Roses line one side of the drive to the Irish Rose Inn, and horses line the other. Beautiful quaint farmhouse and two wonderful InnKeepers, Chris and her husband Lanny Matson, greeted us upon our arrival, with an early check-in time! The Matsons are a busy pair, and don't let moss grow under their boots! They are very sociable and kind, and they asked us to join them for wine, both evenings we were there, before our departure to scout out dinner in Healdsburg. We were traveling with our daughter Megan and her boyfriend Ben, to celebrate Megan's 30th Birthday in Sonoma County. Our rooms had the most beautiful bedding, with lace curtains on the windows, and large private bathrooms overlooking wine country vineyards and pine tree lined hillsides. The breakfasts are prepared by Lanny, and are outstanding! French toast souffle and bacon & egg bake, were the two we indulged in. Fabulous! ("To die for!!") Fresh fruit, o.j. and coffee, bagels or toast. The home is cozy and quiet, as it is in the surrounding area as well....great for sleeping. During your stay, you might meet their outdoor pet potbelly pig and other pets...chickens and a couple of lovely quarter horses. We all adored their loving cat Virginia! Everything is so neat and well cared for. Do make this part of your wine country adventure!! You will truly love engaging Chris & Lanny in conversation & all they have to offer you. (great coupons there for free wine tasting at area vineyards!). They know the area and have lots of tips for your travels.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suepecautstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The Irish Rose Inn is a not-quite hidden treasure in the heart of the Dry Creek wine country. We just spent a couple of days enjoying an escape from the rigors and pace of the big city. What a great way to relax. Now that we have discovered this lovely place, we return whenever we can. It is run by two of the most hospitable and lovely people you will ever find in the B&B/hotel business. We find it is just like being in your own home in wine country. There are a surfeit of roses along the driveway and around the house. Horses graze in their pens. Chickens often flee the coup and roam the grounds. They also provide fresh eggs for the morning’s meal.

The two rooms in the main house are clean and well appointed – think Jacuzzi bath tubs. The rooms have individual temperature controls that allow you to heat or cool throughout the year, depending on the microclimate at the time.

In late afternoons, Chris and Lanny offer guests a sip or two of excellent wine (jugs and cartons are not welcome here) and a bite of cheese or other snack in the parlor. Even more important, they are available to discuss the area, where to go for wine tasting or any other activity of interest. They have lived in the area for many years and know its history. They also know just about everybody. And they are up-to-date on all of the local wineries and what they are doing.

In the evening, they will cheerfully arrange a dinner reservation for you at any of the area’s restaurants, and will guide you to one you will enjoy. We find the restaurants take an extra bit of care of us because they have arranged our dinner. And sleeping is easy – there are no noises to disturb a sound night’s sleep.

In the morning, they offer a changing breakfast with an egg-based casserole that is excellent, accompanied by fresh fruit, toasted bagels, yogurt and other random treats. The large kitchen has an incredible commercial gas range (on which I would love to cook). All guests sit at a large dining room table for food and interesting conversations about the previous day’s discoveries and the plans for today. One is well fortified for tasting wine.

We always look forward to our next visit. Try it. You will too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWineBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Irish Rose. It may be the only B&B in the Healdsburg area that does not have a 2-night minimum which is a huge plus in my book. We weren't sure what to expect for such a low nightly rate. Do not let the rate fool you. What you get is a cute country farm home with a great porch to relax on to watch the beautiful horses. Chris left wine for us to enjoy in the afternoon before heading out to dinner. The inn is also within a few minutes driving and walking even, to many great wineries (which Chris also gave passes for free tastings to).

We stayed in Michael's room (king room). It was very clean and had a huge bathroom with a jet tub, which I did enjoy before calling it a night. We slept well, to say the least. We woke up to the smell of yummy french toast. We were treated to a delicious home-cooked breakfast and shared it with the other guests at the dining table. Chris and Lanny (the innkeepers) ate breakfast with us and we all had a wonderful time sharing stories and laughs. I really felt like we were staying at my aunt and uncle's home. Lanny and Chris were warm and welcoming. I think I know where we are staying the next time we are in Healdsburg.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misskat_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
3.9 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
489 reviews
3.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
575 reviews
3.4 mi away
Calderwood Inn
Calderwood Inn
#5 of 16 in Healdsburg
268 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grape Leaf Inn
Grape Leaf Inn
#6 of 16 in Healdsburg
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Rose Inn

Address: 3232 Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9711
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: £92 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing