We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but could be better”
Review of H2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H2 Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place but could be better”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed one night at h2Hotel and overall, enjoyed the experience.

Great:
- The town of Healdsburg is a lovely place, with a variety of restaurants, shops, bakeries, and coffee places that line the main street and around the town square.
- The location is ideal. Valet parking is available for $15/day and worth the expense for peace of mind.
- At the free continental breakfast, you are offered Flying Goat Coffee, juices, selections of small muffins, bagels and breads made in-house, fresh fruit, and cereals. The server asks at your table if you would like any egg dishes made for you. The service staff at breakfast time were great.
- The hotel is LEED-certified. The "eco-ness" of the facilities make for interesting discoveries, as you check out the materials used and the really cool, artful designs that are integrated into the hotel: stairs, spoon sculpture, shelving, tables, furniture, ceilings, flooring, etc. There's a very spare, clean, contemporary feel and ambience throughout the hotel.
- Water stations are in the lobby and on every floor where you can get regular and sparkling water anytime. Bottles of water are available in the room fridge.
- The open air feature of the main lobby and counter bar is really fun, but may not work in the colder months.
- Did not have time to use: free bikes, pool, spa, restaurant, counter bar.

Room for improvement:
- The front desk staff is young and did not seem particularly well-trained in general hotel courtesies. When you walk in, it's a little confusing as to where the reception desk is. We were not greeted and the manner of the staff was rather unfriendly and not very gracious. Perhaps they were in training, but this first impression is pretty important.
- We had a corner room that gave us a little more space which was nice. The king bed was really soft which affected the quality of my sleep. Also, there are shutters on the clear windows and small opaque windows at the top of the walls, which let in a huge amount of bright light as soon as the sun comes up. No way to sleep in for sure!
- Street noise comes up with the sun. Bring earplugs.

All in all, though, a fun place to base yourself while visiting Healdsburg...

Green Features: LEED certified, free bikes, eco-friendly materials and designs used throughout hotel, organic garden on rooftop.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bln_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    152
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
47
301
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

To start, this is a great little town and a must visit if you are in the Sonoma/Nappa area. There are so many things to see and do in a very small space so an easy hit for a tourist. The hotel is in an ideal location, parking is easy and reasonable if you have to pay. The room was fresh and well kitted out, bed was comfy and rich. Bathroom was clean and roomy. General lobby, breakfast/dining and pool areas all beautifully laid out and highly useable for both function and relaxation. The best in the area by a good margin......... but hugely expensive in comparison to other top end hotels I frequent.

Room Tip: any, even roadside were not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

H2 Hotel is the kind of place you truly do not want to leave. The clientele is quite diversified from older 70's- 80's to folks in their 20's. Free bikes for guests use. Our room was a corner 3rd floor room with a japanese tub. The shutters on the windows reminded me of beach homes in Charleston and the attention to detail from bath salts left by the tub, sliding doors, bath products, side tables, reclaimed woods and the decor created an amazingly comfortable place. The beds are ridiculously comfortable. The restaurant is well worth trying along with their drink menu. Their lounge area is also used for hang out for dining, socializing and drinks. The morning breakfast is an unusually generous perk that I have rarely seen at other hotels. Gluten free included. The service is top notch across the board. We compared H2 to their sister hotel which in it's own right beautiful but lacked a certain joie de vivre. The clientele at their sister hotel is primarily 40's and up and on the conservative side.The amenities there have a spa, a larger pool, and workout room. The rooms are larger but the overall aesthetic is much more sterile, dark and stuffy. Unfortunately it lacked that same bright and open feel as H2. The hotels we tried were Duchamp, Hotel Healdsburg, Modern Cottages. We chose H2 as our favorite and will probably be back in the near future.

Room Tip: We asked for an exterior top floor room. We were given an exterior room on the 3rd floor which was g...
See more room tips
Green Features: Totally green hotel. Water on each floor and conveniently located on each floor. The interior of the hotel is spectacular. Japanese tub worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danishdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Spent 3 days here - wonderful hotel in many ways - location, service, food - all excellent. Rooms are enjoyable… but beware of the bed - it is soooooo soft. My first night sleep was awful. The following nights I disassembled the bed and took off 2 feather beds! 2! Then I could sleep… so you will love it if you like soft - if you want support, take off the feather beds.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Second times we stayed at H2 & it could not have been better. Rooms & Baths are large & kept immaculate. The beds are super comfortable. Room included Breakfast Buffet Oatmeal, Cold Cereal, Bagels & Loxes made to order Waffles, Slice Fruit Coffee & Juice etc etc
H2 also has a very nice bar & pretty good restaurant . They also have seltzer fountains on very floor quite unique. We picked up some chocolate syrup & made egg-creams
Could not have asked for more. It's a great hotel in a great location.

We will be back

Room Tip: Our rooms faced East had balconies overlooking the main road but road noise is really not an issue T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WereHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

There are some very good things about this hotel--some just average. The good:
1. Location. Can leave your car and walk to excellent restaurants, shops, etc. after your day driving to wineries.
2. Friendliness. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
3. Comfortable bed.
4. Clean well appointed room.
5. Good breakfast included
The average:
1. Thermostat did not seem to work well--too cold or hot.
2. Junior suite a very narrow room. During the nice weather when the patio doors could be open it would probably be very comfortable and nice to get outside, too, but in the winter it was a little cramped.
3. Lobby and restaurant chilly in the winter--not conducive to staying around long.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Was in sonoma for 1 night and stayed at H2. Location is great and has a hyper market just walking distant away.

Chic and modern. Rooms are comfortable and pretty huge. Has a nice bar and breakfast is fast and of good selections.

Will be back

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TheVinesNBranches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
8.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
10.0 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2 Hotel

Property: H2 Hotel
Address: 219 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — H2 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your H2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing