We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel”
Review of H2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H2 Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

After looking on trip advisor, reading reviews, and asking friends, I finally chose to stay in the H2 instead of a B&B. I was so glad I did.

The town is a great spot from which to see wine country. We enjoyed the ability to walk around a bit after breakfast or before dinner.

The hotel was eco-friendly, but so modern. We were on the second floor, with a patio that was inside the courtyard. The staff was very nice and helpful, and even told us where we could park without having to pay.

Breakfast each morning was phenomenal - not the usual continental breakfast. We had the chance to order omelettes every morning, in addition to the delicious muffins, toasts, lox, and coffee.

The one issue we had was the bed. There are 2 twins pushed together to make a king bed, and then multiple pads are put on top to make it softer. After a couple days, we both were having back issues because of the extra padding. The last night, we took one of the pads off, and slept much better.

Based on the location, service, price, and ease of this hotel, I would highly recommend for those that want more of the boutique experience.

Room Tip: We had an interior facing room, and it was very quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the refillable water jugs and the power saving features.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    152
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
47
301
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, tx
Level Contributor
212 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First of all, Healdsburg is one of our favorite locations to visit. We had hoped to stay in the Hotel Healdsburg, but it was already booked so we decided to stay in their sister hotel-H2. I twas a good choice.

Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the pool. The location of the room was great as it was very quiet. Just a note, they were doing construction across the street during the week of July 28th (not sure if it is still going on), but it seems they started quite early. Several people we spoke to that had rooms closer to the street said it got very noisy early in the morning and I can understand because the main dining room in the hotel faced the construction and it was loud during breakfast. Ask for a room in the back!

The rooms themselves were spacious. The bathroom was also fairly spacious although a little dark (maybe could have used a bit more light). There was also not a lot of shelf space in the bathroom. The BEST part of the room was the bed! They were so soft and comfortable. My wife called it "the cloud". It was great after a long day of tasting wine and walking through town to just fall into the bed.

We did use the pool and although small and quaint, it was very nice and peaceful. They do probably have 20 or so lounge chairs out there and do provide towels. You can get a drink at the bar and bring it out there as well.

The location of the hotel is 1.5 blocks from the main town square so you cannot beat that at all. This town has so much to offer-between the wine tasting rooms, shops and choices for food-you cant beat it. When in town go make a private $25 tasting appointment over at Williamson (great food pairing experience), swing by Cartograph Wines (cool back story and great Pinot's) and Banshee (awesome hip vibe to the tasting room).

We did not eat at Spoon Bar, except for the buffet breakfast. The breakfast included some type of eggs and bacon, along with fruit and pastries. It was fine since it was included in our room rate, but after the 3rd day it got a little old having the same thing. We did have drinks at the bar and service was prompt and they had a nice selection of alcohol, local beers and wines.

The staff overall was hit or miss. Our check in person was great. Other times we went to the front desk and the staff was lethargic and didn't seem like they wanted to even be there. My honest opinion is if they hired a staff that was more enthusiastic it would really take this hotel to the next level.

Overall this is a very good hotel and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cseanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We often go to Healdsburg for the day to pick up wine or have a good meal and go back home. This time we decided to make a weekend out of it. H2 is the "affordable, green and hip" place to stay in town. The rooms are very clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast is included which was a tremendous plus. We will definitely be back - next time with bathing suits in hand. We hadn't realized they had a pool!

Everything in town is within walking distance of about three blocks around the town plaza.

Room Tip: The restaurant on the ground level, Spoonbar, is quite good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at H2's sister hotel (Healdsburg Hotel), a few blocks away but enjoyed H2 just as much. It is in a great location for walking to town, restaurants and shopping at a more reasonable cost. The staff was helpful and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was included with the room and was perfect. You could order omelets or scrambled eggs on the menu or choose from a nice buffet of breads, cakes, bagels, smoked salmon and condiments. The restaurant was excellent as were the cocktails. I would recommend H2 for a weekend in the Sonoma wine country.

Green Features: The hotel is a LEEDS green building, recycles and has given a lot of thought to its beauty but also the environment.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenOfTheR0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and would've stayed longer if we didn't have to head out of town for a wedding. The rooms were nice and posh. The bathroom was spacious as was the king sized, super comfy bed. Our favorite was breakfast. We were still on East coast time so we headed down around 6:30am and had the place to ourselves. The spread was amazing and the service beyond expectations. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kseaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed two nights this week. Perfect location! Right on main street just a block from the town square and convenient for winery visits. FYI village green features FREE Summer Tuesday night concerts.You can bring a picnic and wine. H2Hotel is clean, LEED rated building with a pool. Rooms and amenities are really good. Stayed in Room 405, top floor, with a balcony. Hallway views the grass-succulent covered roof. Really green!
SpoonBar lobby bar was disappointing. Bartenders don't want to customize drinks and get a "Tude" when you don't order off cocktail menu. Lobby restaurant is OK but really overpriced with undersized portions. Wouldn't drink or eat again at the Hotel. The exception is the complimentary breakfast which offers outstanding hot and cold selections. Good deal. The only drawback is hotel parking. There isn't any unless you Valet at $15.00 daily. We opted for street and were able to find spots. Will definitely stay at H2Hotel again.

Room Tip: Hotel has four floors. We stayed in 405, rear of building with balcony. Quiet and lovely!
See more room tips
Green Features: Highly rated LEED hotel including succulent garden on the roof. Viewable from fourth floor hallway.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC197561000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

So glad we chose H2! Loved being in Healdsburg with all the shops,dining choices, and tasting rooms. The hotel was so convenient for our trips to all the wineries. The rooms were great, enjoyed sitting out on the balcony. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast before heading out to enjoy Sonoma! Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
8.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
10.0 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2 Hotel

Property: H2 Hotel
Address: 219 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — H2 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your H2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing