We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best wine tasting experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Carriage

The Wine Carriage
Book In Advance
More Info
US$200.00*
and up
Wine Tasting Tour by Horse & Carriage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel deep into the vines of Sonoma's wine country to premium tastings at boutique wineries. As part of the tour, our guests will be guided through the gothic chambers of a wine cave and be treated to a barrel tasting from one of the oak casks. Traveling over hill and dale in a carriage pulled by two magnificent horses, you'll enjoy tastings at 3 award-winning wineries and be served gourmet snacks and chilled spring water along the way. Enjoy the relaxed pace, breath-taking scenery and world class wines while leaving the traffic far behind. Your coachman will provide an insider's view of the local history, the lifecycle of the vines, and the wine-making process. This is more than a wine tour -- it's a unique and romantic wine tasting adventure! Check out our web page at TheWineCarriage for tour details and a bonus tasting.
Mammoth Lakes, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best wine tasting experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

What better way to experience wine tasting than in a horse drawn carriage through the vineyards of sonoma valley.
Brett was wonderful as he explained the history of the valley as we were riding right amongst the vines. Duke and Pepper were beautiful friendlly horses that gave us a carriage ride we will never forget.
Lunch was absolutly delicious and a perfect combination to the fine wines of the area.
We would recommend this wine tasting experience to everyone that passes thru the Sonoma Valley.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank robnmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best of Healdsburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

During a week long + trip through the Redwood forest and the like with my in-laws and wife, we had planned a wine tasting tour through the Alexander Valley Wineries to top off our 3 year Anniversary Trip. I had no idea we were in for such a treat...Bret and the team (Duke and Pepper) displayed infinite amounts of knowledge, humor, composure, and all around care. Bret's knowledge of Everything-Wine related and the area is unsurpassed (Even choice of restaurant for dinner, thanks Bret!) . I went into the tour being the most novice of wine enthusiasts and out a regular connoisseur! Through slightly rough weather and even rougher roads at spots, Duke and Pepper trudged through the tour with ease. A+ for both beautiful horses!
I plan on returning to this area sometime in the future and I hope to enjoy this tour over and over again!
Highly recommend!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertDetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
“Best way to experience wine country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We ventured out on this carriage ride through wine country with 2 magnificent horses named Pepper and Duke and carriage owner Bret. Bret knew a ton about the country side, took us to some delicious wine tasting and set us up with a fabulous picnic. We sat amongst the vineyards sipping fine wine and feasting on amazing organic strawberries, cheeses and delectable breads. What a way to experience wine country! I couldn't think of a better way and choosing this particular wine carriage ride was simply the best. :)

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank yogafaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very special Super Bowl Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Not only was the weather wonderful but being Super Bowl Sunday Healdsburg was not as busy as other times during the year. Brett brought out his pair of Percheron horses and carriage just for my husband and myself as it was my birthday, and gave us a very relaxing 4 hour tour of 4 wineries. His knowlege of the area, the histroy of the Alexander Valley, the families and the various methods of pruning at this time of year was fascinating and he was only too happy to answer all our questions .Brett gave us plenty of time to taste and visit and took great care of his pair of horses when we stopped for a picnic lunch and was happy to oblige and take a few photos. Thank you Brett we appreciated your effort, it was one of the highlights of our weekend and is something we highly recommend to anyone who is looking for something different to do in the wine country. We hope to do it again!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank threeday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California
1 review
“BEYOND INCREDIBLE! AN ABSOLUTE MUST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Being fairly local my husband and I have been to Napa and Sonoma numerous times. However, as it was our anniversary, we wanted to do something romantic and different. By sheer luck we happened to find one of Sonoma’s little treasures. The Wine Carriage in Healdsburg was one of the most memorable and romantic experiences we have ever had. The carriage itself is beautiful and the horses, Pepper and Duke, were a blast! The trip itself lasts about 4 hours during which you are escorted through the “backroads and vineyards” of about 4 different wineries. Each winery is expecting the carriage ride to stop by and goes above and beyond to make your experience even better! The driver/owner, Brett, couldn’t have been better. It is true that like many experiences in the wine country, you are given a bit of history about the area and winery you are visiting, but Brett gives you a different view. As you travel through the vineyards, you will learn about the histories and families that make the wine country so memorable. As to make things better – a romantic gourmet lunch is prepared for you at one of the wineries! For those who are looking for a different, but romantic and overall top rated experience, this is among the best the area has to offer! For those who frequent the area and are looking for something different, this is the stop. Brett can even make it kid friendly for those of you who want to take the kids on a fun trip! Whatever your reason for visiting the wine country, be sure to make this one of your stops as I assure you it is more than worth it!!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank sarahandmike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewinecarriage, Owner at The Wine Carriage, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Sara,
Thanks so much for the glowing review. It was a blast being out in the valley with you for your anniversary. I hope we can do it again soon.
Cheers,
Bret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wine Carriage also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Wine Carriage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing