We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice concept, nice menu BUT THE FOOD WAS COLD”
Review of Spoonbar

Spoonbar
Reserve with OpenTable
Spoonbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 98 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mill
Description: Spoonbar Chef Louis Maldonado serves a menu of clean and simple dishes honoring America’s diverse culinary influences. His artfully-crafted, market-driven cuisine of fresh, bold flavors is built around seasonally-inspired local and sustainable ingredients. The same focus carries over to Spoonbar’s cocktails which use specially sourced organically-grown herbs, fruits and vegetables with an emphasis on locally and domestically produced spirits. Freeform tables made from reclaimed acacia surround a long, communal table crafted from a split tree. Splashes of color—from the turquoise Eames chairs to the golden floral three dimensional wall art—brighten the open space like dappled sunshine filtering through summer leaves. On warm days and evenings the restaurant’s Cantina doors open up to sidewalk dining.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice concept, nice menu BUT THE FOOD WAS COLD”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very important! CHECK THAT THE FOOD YOU SERVE IS HOT HOT HOT.
I prefer to burn my tongue than have cold food on my plate. I don't like cold steak!

But the flavors of the food are very ok

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    107
    39
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop By”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I adore small plate restaurants and I actually ate here twice in two weeks - once with friends and a second time with my husband. I enjoyed it both times. Table service is excellent and the cocktails are fabulous and beautiful (see my photos) I'm also enjoying how so many restaurants in California seem to be offering complementary house-fizzed sparkling water. Saves me cashola and keeps a gojillion bottles out of the landfills. Win-win baby!

The smashed and crispy marble potatoes are basically like a spherical french fry but DANGIT they are SO delicious! Order two plates, trust me on that one. The local Bolero wheat bread with goat butter is wonderful and I also had the great pleasure of eating the flank steak which was perfectly cooked mid-rare, tender and yummy. I love the open atmosphere at Spoonbar but you definitely have to be prepared with a sweater just in case it's chilly and they have the entire front of the restaurant open to the street. Be warned skinny girls, you might get cold. Definitely would go back again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, OH
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“California!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I had dinner here with a group and really had the quintessential Ca food experience. We had small plates to share and it was things like carrots in a goat cheese sauce or wings in lavender honey, etc, etc. They had a nice wine list and though I don't think the staff knew exactly what they were serving they were helpful. Their cocktail menu is great also

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Creative Cuisine”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is always a must dine destination when in Sonoma County. Great creative cuisine both small plates and entrees. Exceptional staff and service. The decor is sleek, sophisticated, but feels casual & warm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richartboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The cocktails were amazing and the food was out of this world. Not one single thing to complain about..... well..... maybe just the volume of the noise. Everything else was a 10.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spoonbar also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Spoonbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing