We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Cuisine, Excellent Prep, & Value”
Review of Spoonbar

Spoonbar
Reserve with OpenTable
Spoonbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 98 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mill
Description: Spoonbar Chef Louis Maldonado serves a menu of clean and simple dishes honoring America’s diverse culinary influences. His artfully-crafted, market-driven cuisine of fresh, bold flavors is built around seasonally-inspired local and sustainable ingredients. The same focus carries over to Spoonbar’s cocktails which use specially sourced organically-grown herbs, fruits and vegetables with an emphasis on locally and domestically produced spirits. Freeform tables made from reclaimed acacia surround a long, communal table crafted from a split tree. Splashes of color—from the turquoise Eames chairs to the golden floral three dimensional wall art—brighten the open space like dappled sunshine filtering through summer leaves. On warm days and evenings the restaurant’s Cantina doors open up to sidewalk dining.
Healdsburg, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Creative Cuisine, Excellent Prep, & Value”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have eaten there a few times over the last six months and the flavor and creativeness of this chef continues to get better and better. The $6 Snack portion of the menu may be the best food value I have seen in years. Fun to try a lot dishes and experience all the flavors. You are in Wine Country and this restaurant is everything it should be in a world class wine country setting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank didyaeatyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    107
    39
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
662 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Great Time in Healdsburg”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I had one night in Healdsburg. I love this location. This bar is a usual stop for me and has never "unimpressed" me. I love the great and friendly staff and the bar that is open to the outside Main Street. What a fun time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank daksterinwaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Really nice vibe and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fun people watching if you sit in the bar facting the street! The atmosphere of the restaurant is also very lovely. They do a good job with their cocktails and have an interesting appetizer menu that we enjoyed. Would definately go back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peronna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The food was OK”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have to admit we were expecting better. The fish crudo tasting was very good, but the small plates beforehand and the flounder entree were just OK. Not bad, just not great. The pistachio dessert was a bit too sweet for our taste. We did enjoy the lime/cucumber popsicle surprise at the end, however.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Coolest cocktails & bizarre food combinations”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place is great fun. Their cocktail menu is large and creative, they offer drinks called "The Carbonated Corpse Reviver #2" or "You've Lost That Loving Feeling" that are absolutely fantastic! plus a "cocktails on tap" menu. You can get your regular martini too, but it would be a shame to miss a chance to try Spoonbar's twist on classics. Their wine list is also extensive and local.
Foodwise it was w-e-i-r-d. Weird good, though. Actually weird-excellent. All local prime ingredients put together in surprising ways that taste amazing! We were three hungry people so we tried at least 8 dishes all really creative and delicious. They pride on local and seasonal, so what we had is probably not what y'all will. They do post their menu on the website.
The restaurant is minimalist and gorgeous and service was spotless... and we were a little drunk.
But I swear it's absolutely worth giving it a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spoonbar also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Spoonbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing