We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price Doesn't Match Experience”
Review of Hotel Healdsburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Healdsburg
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Price Doesn't Match Experience”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a good property with nice amenities but the room was way too expensive for the experience. At $500/night, I don't expect to find a dead bug near the bed and to be escorting a lady bug out of my room. While I appreciated the included breakfast, valet parking, bath salts and snacks in the room, I just don't think that the value matched the price. I would expect a really special room, turndown service with more than a hockey puck madeline and maybe coffee service delivered to my room or something really out of the ordinary to garner that price. I would also expect them to put in double-paned windows to control the noise. I've stayed in some nice hotels and been pleasantly surprised but this wasn't one of those experiences. The staff, however, is incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salty0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    137
    71
    38
    17
See reviews for
61
306
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A group of us chose Hotel Healdsburg for a recent girls trip to the wine country. I can't imagine a better place for us to have stayed. We really appreciated all of the special touches and amenities that this hotel offered, including free bike rentals with maps of suggested rides, fresh fruit and a refrigerator in the room, complementary bottled water, and plenty of cozy spots around the property for us to sit and catch up over some wine. The property was conveniently located within walking distance to all the local shops and restaurants, so we didn't have to drive to dinner the entire trip. The breakfast served daily in the hotel lobby was AMAZING! Although this hotel would have been pricey for a two-person stay, we found it an incredible bargain for four girls to split. The staff was super friendly and helpful, especially the pleasant team of ladies that efficiently served breakfast each day.

My only complaint is with the showers- they did not have doors, which, although a trendy-looking design feature, was completely ridiculous. Half the bathroom would end up soaking wet by the time one person had finished her shower. It also meant that there was no way to turn on the water and adjust temperature before you were completely committed to getting wet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigsOrganizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Its the little extras that count! First this was a totally laid back hotel from pulling the car up to valet to the ladies at the front desk. The room was clean and comfortable but was the greatest was like i said the "little things" from the water, granola bars, juice and mixed nuts in the fridge all complementary to the extras in the bathroom for her and i guess for him also. The morning breakfast is first class again free. The team their is outstanding never waiting for a thing. When we return I will be at the Hotel Healdsburg for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My sister and brother-in-law treated my partner and I to a night at the Hotel Healdsburg as part of a weekend in wine country (wedding gift). Although we were there only a short time, it was wonderful and I look forward to going back. The room, overlooking the town square, was spacious, clean and comfortable. The only drawbacks were, the very small TV (who really cares) and the open bathroom; the toilet was out in the open so it was hard for two people to be in the bathroom if one person was pooping.

The buffet breakfast in the AM was filling and delicious -- more like the breakfasts you receive in elegant European hotels. A great way to start the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thumbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Room was beautiful, large, clean. Breakfast was included and was delicious. Service was attentive and impeccable. Concierge (Teegan) was knowledgeable and so nice. Live music on Friday and Saturday night when we stayed there. We enjoyed it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a very cool, hip and modern hotel right in the centre of Healdsburg, overlooking the town square. If you want a hotel with lots of chintzes and colour, this is not for you. The location is fabulous and there is ample parking. Ask for a room not facing the square, as they are quieter. The rooms are not overly large and the beds are okay but not great. My husband and I liked their simplicity and colourful floor rugs.The regular rooms have nice balcony doors that open up and wonderfully big modern bathrooms with loads of nice accessories and fabulous towels, as well as wonderful bathrobes. There is a good size mini bar that the hotel fills with free fruit, granola bars, fruit juices, flat and fizzy water. There is a very good coffee maker and at night, the turn down services leaves a couple of baked goods e.g Madeleines or cookies. A breakfast of fresh bagels and all sorts of baked goods with breakfast meats, fresh fruits, smoke salmon and eggs made to order are included in the price of the room. Coffee and bottled water is available at no charge throughout the day. There is a very expensive spa, inadequate work out room, lovely pool with hot tub and free bicycles for use. Staff was good but not great except Juina at breakfast who was fantastic. The hotel is very lively and fun in the evening, with lots of people having drinks and chatting around the huge fireplace.
The only negative thing I can say is that our Heat/AC thermostat did not work, leaving our room very cold. I complained twice and the hotel sent the maintenance twice to try and correct the problem, which they failed to do. On checking out, the manager had given us a credit of $75 without us requesting it, which was very correct.
This is more of a hotel for couples than for people travelling with children. It is also rather pricey but in a great location for visiting numerous wineries. There are numerous excellent restaurants within a couple of steps, as well as the world famous Dry Creek Kitchen which is part of the Hotel Healdsburg and well worth a visit. The food is fantastic but make reservations.

Room Tip: Eat at Dry Creek and ask for a room away from the square. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exploraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at this hotel in October. This hotel has it all! We sat by saltwater heated pool in a secluded part of the grounds while we waited for family members to arrive. Hot tub... Lounge chairs...restaurant service. The room was beautiful!spa like bathroom...fine linens on bed and in bath.Nothing was missing for convenience.Ate dinner at the Dry Creek Kitchen. Complimentary buffet breakfast in lobby.Phenomenal!Concierge very helpful for seeing beautiful wineries. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.1 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
194 reviews
8.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Healdsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Healdsburg

Property: Hotel Healdsburg
Address: 25 Matheson St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Healdsburg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Healdsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing