We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little winery - worth the trip”
Review of Unti Vineyards

Unti Vineyards
Ranked #38 of 156 things to do in Healdsburg
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great little winery - worth the trip”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I had stopped at Unti a few years ago during the barrel tasting festival. (I don't think they were part of the tour but open to the public that day) As it's a small production winery with a great reputation, we took advantage of their availability that day.

Flash forward this week. They're now available by appointment only to groups under 6. What a gem. Love the wines, LOVE the new tasting room.

Warning - it's tucked away and not easy to find. But well worth the visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DCC617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Special Experience!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good wine in the dry creek valley is not hard to find, but exceptional wine still stands out and Unti is exceptional. Small production, distributed to largely northern CA restaurants and the lucky locals and travelers who stop in are the beneficiaries of Unti's passionate approach to winemaking. You will find atypical varietals that have been carefully selected to thrive in the CA, Dry Creek Valley climate. Purchase a case, mix and match everything, you will not be disappointed. In fact, the only disappointment was no wine club, but you can purchase online! I must add the tasting room experience was, without equivocation, the most informative and interesting. To taste fabulous wine and learn a few more intricacies in the selection, growing, production, etc process beyond the above average repertoire improves the experience exponentially.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,022 reviews
396 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
“Felt like we were back in Florence”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A friend who lives near San Francisco said we had to go to this small vineyard. We arrived there as soon as the tasting room opened at 10:00 on a Saturday. We were the first ones there but they said that they were almost booked up with groups with reservations. This was the day after Valentine's Day so I don't know if they are that busy all the time. George, the owner, and another young lady were so very knowledgeable about the wines. The wine tasting was only $5 and is comped, I believe, with purchase. It was very helpful to have quite extensive information that we could read as we were drinking each wine. George explained that these wines were very similar to northern Itay and southern France. He is originally from Lucca, which is north of Sienna and Florence. He was a wonderful story teller and made the tasting so interesting. The other person is very involved with managing Italian restaurants so she was perfect to ask about food and wine pairings. The tasting room is rather small so I would go early. We did buy a bottle of their Zinfandels. I would definitely put this vineyard on your list.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank minnesotans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A destination”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a ritual 'must stop' a couple of times a year--always to taste the new releases, hear about them, and take them home. Although my friend steered me to it for the Zinfandel way back, I have for years now gone back for the Italian varietals [Sangiovese, Barbera, Montepulciano, the Unti Segromigno, new Fiano] as well as the Rhone varieties--particularly the Syrahs and Grenache. Mick writes a great newsletter. Mick and George are fun to hang out with in the tasting room, Go there. Get some Unti.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This place is a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the bigger wineries. Quaint and lovely little property and tasting room. But the real draw for me was the wines! Unique varietals that you will not find anywhere else (they focus on Mediterranian grapes), delicious and handcrafted, and affordable! Don't miss the rose' or any of the reds. The winemaker was pouring the day we were there. He is very laid back and unfussy-a wonderful host. We also enjoyed our lunch at the picnic tables in the back with the farm dogs and views of the lovely hillside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank chislp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Unti Vineyards also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Unti Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing