We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Russian River Valley Wineries”

Williams Selyem Winery
Ranked #41 of 159 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Russian River Valley Wineries”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Our second stop in the Russian River Valley was at William Selyem Winery. My first impression was how beautiful the vineyards were, and how cool the main building looked. We thought the wines were very good as well, although a bit pricey. Our one complaint was our hostess. She came off as not being into the experience, and quite frankly lessened our experience. We will remember the place for its beauty and good wine, the personal interaction was highly lacking, and in fact she made me feel the wine was too expensive to purchase. I did purchase despite her attitude, as I thought it was amazing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    4
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trophy Club, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

An appointment is required and it is a bit difficult to find (no sign and you use a key pad for entry) but well worth it. Delicious Pinot Noir. Very interesting tour even though we've toured numerous wineries. Very friendly staff and lovely tasting room. Scenery is outstanding. We loved the "bottle" wall. We purchased several bottles and joined the "club". You must visit WS.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nursemurphy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Pinots This Side of Heaven”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have been on their mailing list since the early 90s. We started out by getting a single bottle as our allocation, and after 22 years, we are allocated 4 cases per release. Of course, it becomes a choice of our allocation or the mortgage. Tough decision.

While they've lost a little of the 'authenticity' with their move to fancier digs, they now can host tastings from visiting mailing list customers. One interesting note is the wall of wine where they have a bottle of every wine they've released. Having been on the list for over 20 years, it's fascinating to check how many of the wines that we've enjoyed. If on the list, you must make it out to the pick up weekend at least once in your life. Great wines, great people, and a great time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martysfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Outstanding-- Best in Show”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have been to many wineries over the years. Everything about Williams Selyem topped the charts. The building and setting are gorgeous, the wine a series of superlatives, the knowledge imparted impressive. This is not your average winery and is designed for those looking for an exceptional experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Visit to Williams Selyem”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I visited Williams Selyem on July 25th. Beautiful new tasting room and winery in Heladsburg. Hard to get appointment but worth it. Outstanding Pinot Noirs and Zinfandels. Chardonnay is not our favorite, but bought 2 bottles of their 2005. Great to be able to purchase library wines that were only $10 above original cost. One of the best wineries on our trip!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Williams Selyem Winery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Williams Selyem Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing