We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Wine Country”
Review of Zinscape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zinscape
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Wine Country”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at Zinscape in late Sept. The cottage is a little hard to find, but once you find it, it is a hidden gem.

The owners are very friendly and very laidback. You really dont see them when you are there. The cottage is well stocked with breakfast items (Eggs, juice, croissants, etc.). The cottage is very quiet and has a great outdoor patio where you can enjoy your breakfast and overlook the vineyards. It is also very close to several wineries. It is only a couple of mins to Geyserville, Ca where their are several small restaurants and very close to the highway as well.

The bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet at night. Our own main complaint was the cottage didnt seem to have air conditioning, but there as a fan to keep us cool at night. You could also open the patio door to let some air in as well. Overall, a nice quiet retreat in the heart of wine country.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOTEL011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spirit Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Zinscape lived up to all of the reviews and then some. Our little cottage was perfect, sunny, comfortable in all ways. Lovely interior, with artworks and airy charm. All of the little extra touches were so appreciated. The kitchen was well appointed and stocked. The croisants were to remember always. To waken each morning to the wonderful "old vines" marching up the hillside in the ever changing light, was wonderous. Our Innkeeper, Bruce was a veritable fountain of knowledge and fun extra tips about the area. This is the kind of gem that we want to keep to ourselves and be selfish, but we have to share the delight with others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed at Zinscape for two nights in late August. The pictures on trip advisor and even on the website don't really do it justice. It was a great place to stay, really large room, great view of the vineyards, literally 5 ft from the patio door. Bruce was really great to deal with and very friendly and helpful. Everything we needed was provided For the price, it is impossible to beat. If I'm ever wine tasting anywhere in north Sonoma County again, I'll definitely try to stay hear again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed September 13th through 15th. We'd originally planned to stay only two nights... the decision to spend another night at Zinscape was the best decision we made our entire vacation.
The cottage was very clean. Kitchen was amply stocked with cookware and staples so that you can eat in if you'd like. There's also a general store a 5 minute drive down the road with amazing sandwiches and provisions. Bathroom seemed recently renovated - double sinks, oversized tub, even a wide array of toiletries in case you forget something!
As others have stated, the accomodations are very quiet despite being next to the house. We had the pleasure of meeting and talking with Bruce, who had wonderful suggestions for local wineries - including unique opportunities for barrel tastings, cellar/cave tasting rooms, etc. - and restaurants, all of which excellent! He even helped us plan a scenic trip on our way out of town back towards SF. That said, we were never bothered and had all the privacy we could have asked for.
When we come back to wine country, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We were happy to return to Zinscape for another stay. We were here 5 years ago, loved it then and loved it again.

Bruce, Isabelle and their kids do a great job with lots of little touches that make the suites the perfect Sonoma accommodations. They are available if you need them but also have the suites set up so you can be totally independent and private.

The property is a bit of a drive out of Healdsburg but there are many wineries right by Zinscape.

I highly recommend staying at Zinscape.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

There is so much to love about this cottage. It is a wonderful cottage with a comfortable bed, a large bathroom with a 2 person tub, a small but very well equipped kitchenette. It is very quiet even though it is next to the owners house. The continental breakfast included cereal/milk , eggs and some incredible croissants. The owner, Bruce, was very friendly and gave us suggestions for wineries to visit, events in Dry Creek valley and recommended several restaurants. Bruce recommended Diavola restaurant in Geyserville, it was so good that we went there 2 nights in a row! The cottage was very well equipped , the owners have thought of everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. On the downside, I was very disappointed that when you entered the cottage, it had a very strong wet dog smell and the tile floors were not clean. There is a small sitting area outside with wonderful vineyard views. Unfortunately we had to clean off the chairs and table before using them. With a thorough cleaning, this cottage would rate 5 stars as it is a gem in the heart of the wine country.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tpolisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I love this cottage! My husband and I were stayed here between Christmas and New Year's. Sadly, we only got to stay one night but can't wait to go back.

Even though it rained the entire time of our visit, it was lovlier than any of the pictures online. The vinyard right outside the door was stunning, and the cottage was lovely. Bathtub big enough for two people, fluffy, comfy bed, and we loved having the fully equipped kitchen, too.

It's also probably the best value in the entire Sonoma/Napa area! You won't find a hotel room this charming and well equipped for twice the price.

Did I mention we can't wait to go back? Only next time, we're going to make sure to stay for at least a week or so.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneTravels66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
3.8 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
4.0 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
4.8 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
557 reviews
4.2 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
277 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zinscape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zinscape

Property: Zinscape
Address: W Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing