We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping, Picnics, and Boating - Lake Sonoma”
Review of Lake Sonoma

Ranked #24 of 156 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,259 reviews
3,391 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,681 helpful votes
“Camping, Picnics, and Boating - Lake Sonoma”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have enjoyed going to Lake Sonoma. It has camping, boating, hiking, fishiing, hunting and picnic opportunities. There is also a very good nature center museum and fish hatchery by the lake.

We generally combine our day trip to Lake Sonoma with some wine tasting. One of our favorites on the drive to the lake is Ferrari Carano winery and gardens.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    46
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Check out the fish hatchery”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great experience. Visit in February or march to see the tuna and salmon running. This facility is very important to the sustainability of west coast tuna. Great volunteers!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
281 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hidden beauty”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

worth the drive up to see it. It was down in level due to the drought but still fun to see. It has boat ramps and paid parking if you can spend time there. We did not have time with our short visit to stay and enjoy it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trygve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lake Sonoma”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Spectacular views, and a must visit for that cherished photo. A lovely drive up the mountain, and only 30 mins from Healdsburg.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hiking”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great trails with beautiful vistas of lake. Trails range from easy to strenous. Lots of parkinpg available. Twenty minute drive from town. Lots of deer and boars on trail.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Sonoma also viewed

 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Lake Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing