We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So easy to have fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River's Edge

River's Edge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to River's Edge! We Proudly Hold the Most 5 Star Reviews on the Russian River. We operate exclusively on the Upper Russian River, which is recognized for the dynamic terrain, water clarity, unspoiled wilderness, consistent flow and abundant wildlife. Our friendly and accomplished staff is waiting to roll out the red carpet - offering guest services and an attention to detail that is unmatched.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So easy to have fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We did the half day trip in 2 tandem kayaks. The scenery was great and the company does all of the transporting of the kayaks. All of the employees were laid back and really nice as well. This place is in walking distance of the town of Healdsburg which if you're staying there, makes it really nice that you don't have to drive! They also provide coolers and dry bags! (But I went on a weekday so there were plenty available, not sure if they run out on the weekend.)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenc873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful River Trips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have taken two wonderful trips this spring down the Russian River with River’s Edge Kayak and Canoe. What great experiences!

The prices were very reasonable. Both times, we found the staff to be friendly, relaxed, helpful and knowledgeable. They shuttled us efficiently to our starting points, made sure we had everything we needed, (life vests, a dry bag, paddles, a cooler, etc.) provided tips and up-to date information about river flow and potential obstacles. The equipment was used but in good shape, and there were several choices of kayaks and canoes, depending on our preferences. The owner, Lollie Mercer was on hand both times to make sure we got a good send-off. When we arrived back at The River’s Edge beach, the staff enthusiastically loaded up our gear, and checked in to make sure our experience was a good one. It was!

When we attempted the Alexander Valley to Healdsburg run, we underestimated our stamina, and had to call in from Rio Nido Beach, still several miles from Healdsburg. No problem! A staff member was quickly dispatched to pick us up.

I’d recommend the Alexander Valley to Healdsburg run for people with some paddling experience, and the Rio Nido to Healdsburg trip for a more relaxing trip. The upper part of the trip, Alexander Valley to Rio Nido, is wild and beautiful, with occasional vineyards near the banks, and lots of wildlife and birds. We saw deer, jumping salmon, turtles, many egrets, and what appeared to be an otter. This part of the river also has some tricky, fast moving spots to provide excitement during your trip.

The lower part of the run, Rio Nido to Healdsburg is more appropriate for a leisurely paddle, with time for swimming and picnicking along the way. The current flows more gently, and there is still wildlife, but also houses along the way. People wave at you in a friendly way as you paddle by.

Check in with the cheerful folks at Rivers Edge to find out about river flow. They can’t control it, especially when the vineyards syphon off all the water, but they seem to know what is going on.

We’ll definitely be back. Rivers Edge is a new home-away-from-home on the river!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HealdsburgTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun day for the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

We booked a half day trip for mom, dad, and 12 year old son last July. We had a great time! The water is mostly calm. We did hit one area where the current was a bit quicker and our son paddled in the wrong direction. We ended up hitting some rocks and tipping the canoe. We all went overboard. Lucky for us, we only lost one pair of sunglasses, a bottle of water, and our dignity. That mountain water sure is cold even in July! We wrapped our cell phones in plastic before hand and they were all ok! It was a great trip, and nice to schedule something our son would enjoy in the Sonoma and Napa area!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tracyzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Four of us took the half day kayak trip. The single kayaks are $45 for the half day and well worth it as in low water you can avoid a bit of portage. We were dropped off by the bus a few miles upriver and mostly drifted with the current. There is a bit more paddling required near the end due to the headwind-tip the earlier you leave the better. we got back at 3pm and that was fine. You paddle back at your own pace and can stop for a picnic or swim in many places.The river was low this time of year so its very safe. Loved the shower and changing tents on return AND the hose to wash off our sandals (nice touch). They also provide a free ice cream to anyone who brings back some river rubbish, and provide bags if you so wish. We didnt find much but still qualified for the ice cream!
Top marks for friendly genuine non-rippoff service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stockjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotati, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect day on the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Rivers Edge is the perfect place to go on the Russian River. Their half day trip is the just the right amount of paddle and fun time. The staff was very friendly and go out of their way to make it a great day. We brought our dog and 2 kids and rented two double kayaks. At no extra charge they had dry bags, coolers and even a dog life vest. The half day run is easy paddling and gave us lots of places to stop and swim. If you pick up garbage you get free ice cream at the end. After a great day we ended up going back the next weekend with friends - Rivers Edge is the best!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River's Edge also viewed

 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to River's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing