We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Paella Ever”
Review of Bravas

Bravas
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North
Description: Bravas brings the flair and flavors of Spain to wine country. The menu features tapas and seasonal dishes served a la plancha-all with chef Mark Stark's signature twist. Bravas introduces Sonoma County's first "Ham and Cheese Bar," serving Spanish and local cheeses, Tortilla Espanola, and Iberico ham, sliced paper thin to order by a "Hamboner." Bravas offers a selection of local and Spanish wines, sangria and Spain-inspired cocktails. Dine indoors or out. Happy Hour: Monday to Thursday from 3 pm to 5 pm
Berkeley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Paella Ever”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A group of 8 of us dined al fresco in July at this lovely place not far off the main plaza in Healdsburg, and we all agreed, the paella was one of the best things we'd ever had (and one of us is a professional chef in San Francisco). The chef made it in a big paella pan in the courtyard for all to see, over a very hot wood fire. It's only served Fri-Sat nights, and it's well worth a special trip to have it (order it as soon as you get there, it goes quickly!). It was full of great meats and seafood, and rich with olive oil, saffron, etc. Can't begin to say how good it was. And we also tried about 10 tapas plates among us, and loved nearly all of them (pigs ears, not so much). The bacon wrapped stuffed dates and duck meatball bocadillo were to die for. The fresh anchovies and green beans, oh my god. Really good sangria too. The teenagers in our group loved the Strauss soft serve ice cream w/ goat milk caramel and strawberries. Yes, we'll go back. Fun place, too--lively and well suited for our big group.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loriPBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    164
    46
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific Tapas”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a wonderful tapas lunch, everything was delicious, especially the steamed clams, with the pan oliva. I would also suggest the Selby Grenache, really good, and unavailable at the winery!
Request Spencer, as a waiter if you can, he was a delight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meg408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good food, excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

On the recommendation of a friend, my mom and I walked into this restaurant just off the square that is a little nondescript roadside, but has the most wonderful outdoor deck, patio, and bar (inside seating looked great, too). Incredibly charming space, with stylish (and comfortable!) decor, matched by delicious food and even better service. We had lunch on the patio, under a gorgeous tree, and just couldn't leave. We will definitely return, hopefully for dinner sometime (strings of lights throughout the patio promise it would be every bit as charming in the evening). Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Spanish food ”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I lived 12 years in Barcelona and my husband is Spanish, so we usually avoid Spanish restaurants abroad. We made an exception today and didn't regret it. We had a great time and food at Bravas. Chorizo and pimientos del padrón (green peppers), clams al Cava, for starters and a very good paella. We had lunch in the patio, service was excellent, fast and the staff very friendly. The place is nice and clean (including the bathroom...look for the pink cow...). Very reasonable prices too. And it's a dog friendly place (in the patio). Oh I almost forgot that we had 2 Estrella Damms each (draft beer)...feeling almost like if we were back home, at our lovely Plaça de la Virreina in Barcelona.

Helpful?
1 Thank misterpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamong, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food is very good”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We loved the tapas arrangement and food was really good. If you can sit out back. The atmosphere is casual.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bravas also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bravas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing