We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
san francisco, ca.
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Very close to downtown Healdsburg and a fraction of the price of downtaown hotels. Recently remolded and new construction added, very nice. We had a suite in the new addition and were very happy with it. We booked the same room again for two nights in June, 2008. It is now our place to stay in the wine country around Healdsburg. Peter, the owner was very helpfull booking our next stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    31
    41
    30
    23
See reviews for
26
50
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2008

We stayed here two times. The first time I booked it , the only review on Trip Advisor was the one referring to it as "The Bates Motel." That review should be removed since the remodel has been completed and it is a completely different place. While it definetely has the motel feel, it is clean, comfy, family friendly and close to town. In someways you get what you pay for: a small pool, a poor free breakfast (we avoided it, prefering to eat in town) and perhaps not the best front desk. I booked reservations two times through Expedia and never had a problem. Like the other postings have said, it's great you don't have to commit to a two night stay on the weekends.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and value
  • Disliked — Could be closer to town.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxyBBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We stayed for one night during the Food and Wine Affair. This place was the only one not enforcing a 2-night minimum stay that I could find. We took a taxi to the downtown Healdsburg square but walked back from town. Our room was very nice and clean. It was apparent a remodel had taken place and all the room amenities were very nice. We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub as well. The complimentary breadfast was really good, too. We had coffee, juice, fruit, a bagel and cream cheese and a nice homemade waffle. The owners and staff were very friendly and nice. We weren't able to stay in the jacuzzi suite we had reserved because of problems with the room, but the owners put us in another room with a king bed at a fair and reasonable reduced rate. Overall, we had a nice experience. We would stay there again!

  • Liked — The newness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Would prefer to be a little closer to downtown
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Marginator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

This hotel has a few good things going for it. First, they take single night reservations on the weekend, when every other property in the area requires a two night minimum. Second, it was just renovated, so the property is basically new. And, it's pretty inexpensive considering the location.

On the negative side, the owners also seem to be new to this hotel, and to hotel management in general. After botching our reservation, since they appeared to have no knowledge or understanding of the internets (reservations are made by a mysterious system apparently!), which really put a damper on our afternoon, they had to reshuffle some rooms and asked us if a room with no lock would be acceptable. What!! No, we would like our room to lock.

Finally, they have that terrible type of air conditioner that cycles on and off, loudly, with clicking, throughout the night. So, if you are noise sensitive definitely bring your ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Healdsburg hotels

San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

America's Best Value Inn could be mistaken for any number of other chain hotels - it had a comfortable room and cozy accommodations, and at the time of stay was absolutely brand new. The smell of fresh carpet and paint hung in the air, and the plastic wraps still clung to the lampshades. All in all, as a room it was a decent value for the area, but was located a good mile from downtown Healdsburg. The continental breakfast was also disappointing - water flavored coffee and flacid waffles.

My major issues with the hotel were with the management and the check-in process. Even though I had purchased (and been charged to my credit card) two rooms from Orbitz, they only had 1 room down, and even still, insisted they had not been paid by Orbitz. They actually didn't even know what Orbitz was, even though somebody over there must have setup the system. The manager actually made me speak to her husband over the phone, re-explaining the situation for which I had already been dealing with for a half an hour.

All in all, it could have been handled much more professionally since I clearly don't have intimate knowledge of their billing system, and shouldn't be made to deal with it when they don't understand it themselves. Another customer who booked through Expedia encountered the same issue as I was leaving the lobby. Not cool.

  • Liked — The entire place was brand-spankin' new.
  • Disliked — The management had never run anything in their lives.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PirateLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

What a pleasure to find an inexpensive and comfortable motel in wine country where prices seem to compare unfavourably with just about everywhere else in America. This Best Value Inn offers a spacious, clean and very comfortable room with all the usual facilities for less than $100. It is close to I-101 but the noise is not intrusive. They were still working on part of it when we arrived, but again the noise stopped at a reasonable hour and was not intrusive. The motel seems to be in the last stages of a complete refurbishment. Our room was brand new in every respect, and everything worked well. The reception was calm, friendly and efficient. You will need a wire for the internet connection; reception provided one for me without demur.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and spaciousness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wellfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2006

This property was under construction. Reservations were made 3 mos in advance and we were told it was newly renovated. We had a group of motorcycle riders booked..we arrived, no pavement, dirt and gravel, most of it was under const., wood, no doors, dumpsters. We had a small strip of the original rooms..about 7 rooms while they renovated the rest. The so called office was small, dingy, stunk of very strong curry, no pamplets, no continental breakfast as stated. Brought bathing suits...the original website showed a wonderful place with pool. The pool was cement only, no water! With tax we were charged $120 ea room. Of course no other hotels in the area had vacancies and we had a bus coming in the AM for a wine tour. The man who ran the place would not come down in the price for misrepresenting his hotel, and then said we were told it was under contruction---NOT! I had opened lotion and shampoo with the old hotel name on it. I would not go to this place even after the renovation is complete!!

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — under construction, rude manager/owner, not honest, no pool, dirt and gravel.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank traveltrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.5 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.4 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
482 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
569 reviews
8.0 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4017
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites just completed a major expansion and renovation project. We now have a total of 36 units consisting standard Queen beds, Standard King beds, Two room King bed suites and Two room King bed suites with in room Jacuzzi. Please see the accommodations page for additional information and pictures of our rooms. We are centrally located in Healdsburg, right off the Central Healdsburg Exit traveling north bound on Hwy 101. The Famous Healdsburg Town Square is a short walk of only two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
America`s Best Value Hotel Healdsburg
Americas Best Value Inn Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing