We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repulsive management, nice clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The good:
1. Location in respect to canoe trip HQ and downtown square.
2. Pricing was OK but not unreasonable.

The bad:
Hotel manager named Sean. Here's why:
1. Couldn't be troubled to send out a confirmation of reservation. When asked for a reservation hard copy the response was, "Why do you want that?" Anyone who has been screwed out of a room knows why folks aren't OK with a verbal confirmation.
2. Two weeks before the stay our reservation changed from three rooms to two but upon arrival we were almost charged for all three rooms. Sean had kept the same reservation number after I specifically requested a new one seeing this scenario as a possibility. Some haggling later and the third room was not charged.
3. Pay upon arrival. We were a split party with our friends arriving later but Sean insisted that I pay for both rooms at check-in. When I refused he rolled his eyes at my buddy when I was signing the check-in papers. Seriously?
4. Acted like it was some trouble to direct us to our room. Again it was like the guests were a nuisance.
5. No bedding for the hide-a-bed were in the room. We went to the front desk, rang the bell for a couple of minutes, then finally left.
6. After a couple of hours we went back to the front office where a couple of ladies were attempting to get a room. While we waited one asked, "How much would it be to stay here for the night?" No exaggeration - Sean just ignored them until they left, clearly frustrated. Sean also gave us the impression that he was going to some trouble by giving us some bedding when we came back a second time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elpollorojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2008

We stayed 4 nights here while touring wine country. Our room was clean but had no hangars. We requested them each day and each day were told the manager would not authorize the front desk helper to buy hangars. I suggested we could use hangars from another room that was not occupied but that did not register with the help, either. None of the help spoke English as a first language and it was often difficult to communicate. Our last night there, a Saturday night, was especially noisy as a room was having a huge party that spilled into the parking lot. I called the front desk to complain and they did nothing. The third time I called the front desk at 1:30pm I threatened to call the police, so they finally walked to the room and shut the party down. The hotel was certainly convenient to the town plaza and the price was very good for that area, but I'd be hesitant to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrldtravelerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We chose this hotel becasue the rate was very low for the area. We wanted to be able to walk to the Plaza so wine tasting and driving were not an issue. The rooms were large, clean, comfortable, and well kept. Be aware that the staff is not well informed or helpful and we had a bit of confusion with the reservation. Also, the continental breakfast was seriously lacking. We actually had trouble getting a simple cup of coffee, not to mention the line of people dissapointed because the food kept running out. If all you want is a decent room at a decent price, this is your place! Don't expect anything more and plan to go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed at America's Best in Healdsburg and were quite pleased. The hotel seemed new, well taken care of, very clean and the people were curteous and friendly. This was a great place to stay that is near the center of town by restaurants and tastking rooms at a very affordable price. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

its recently remodeled, clean, 100% functional, and looks fine. a nice 5-10 minute walk to healdsburg town square. highly recommended! id absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjsuss9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Our room at the America's Best Value Inn & Suites was comfortable, well appointed with relatively new furnishings, and was clean. It had a fridge, a bathtub and a fast internet connection. In all, the hotel is a nice, if not particularly exciting, place to stay. My only complaint was that their so-called breakfast barely had any items. Still, I'd stay here again if I wasn't looking for something more special.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank soyyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

I would book the hotel over the hotel website then follow up with a phone call to see if they have your reservation. It worked out fine and they gave us a quiet room on the 2nd floor. They were VERY nice and accommodating, I will say the staff was great.

They have redone the hotel and it is fine for just a place to sleep. I would not recommend this as a romantic stay by any means.

We walked to town (more like a 15-20 minute walk) and took a cab home. It is not as close to town as it seems.

If you want a romantic stay, go to a B&B. If you want a clean place to sleep and do not mind the walk to town, this place is fine.

If you have kids however, this is a good place to go. (Oh and the breakfast is OK. Nothing special, we went out to eat instead).

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygalMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.5 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.4 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
493 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
582 reviews
15.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 24 in Santa Rosa
705 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor - Sonoma County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4017
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Healdsburg
Price Range: £68 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites just completed a major expansion and renovation project. We now have a total of 36 units consisting standard Queen beds, Standard King beds, Two room King bed suites and Two room King bed suites with in room Jacuzzi. Please see the accommodations page for additional information and pictures of our rooms. We are centrally located in Healdsburg, right off the Central Healdsburg Exit traveling north bound on Hwy 101. The Famous Healdsburg Town Square is a short walk of only two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
America`s Best Value Hotel Healdsburg
Americas Best Value Inn Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing