We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Peaceful hotel on the square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hands down lovely. We went on a whim for Mother's day and I am so thankful. The hotel is small (maybe 15 rooms), on the main square in Healdsburg, and rooms are welcoming, clean and big. Service was great and the fee included a fabulous breakfast in the morning. Only small dislike was the skim milk provided with coffee early in the morning before any cafe in town opened. We also enjoyed the 5pm wine and cheese tasting in the library. It is offered to all the guests. This hotel reminded me of our place in Paris last year and I can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emiliamd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We paid top dollar for this room. It was a nice size with vaulted ceiling and great bathroom.
There were repairs that needed to be done to the curtains (hanging loose, bidet not working, jacuzzi came on with loud jets at 7:11 a.m. each day!)

When we opened the window and the air conditioning/solar unit across the street roared constantly. The only view was of the rooftop of the shops/restaurant across the street. Not a good view at all.

Not worth the price. Don't tip...they charge $35.00 a day for service.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the garbage pick up in the morning choose a room facing the front where there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank russianhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Les Mars was a wonderful and memorable experience. The property was gorgeous and the service second to none! When we arrived we were taken back by the beauty of this hotel only to be surprised by how wonderfully we were treated. We had a bottle of wine waiting in our luxurious room; we had beautiful breakfasts delivered to our room each morning and enjoyed wine and cheese in the library in the afternoon. The front desk made suggestions for tasting rooms in town that were fantastic, great restaurants and then even gave us free tasting passes to the various vineyards we had on our list to visit. Don't miss this hotel if you are in the area!!

Room Tip: Try and get a 3rd floor room. These have a vaulted ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a fantastic time. The weekend was a gift from some dear friends, which made the getaway even sweeter!
If it is in your budget give it a-go, you will be treated like royalty. But come with the attitude of royalty's grace, not modern-day diva demands and you will have a wonderful time.
And...go when it is raining, as the room is so delightful you aren't really going to want to leave. We didn't. Bring a book. Or not. :D

With that I see Hotel Les Mars is a bit of a paradox. The construction is stunning - the artistry of woodwork in the library (where the evening wine is served) is just not seen in this day and age, the beds are hand carved. Just lovely.
But, the things that wear (carpet, towels,etc) are worn - some significantly.

The staff is exceptionally kind and helpful, but if you are used to the formality/training level of a fine european chateaux it will be a different.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZibbyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I just returned from an amazing 3 night stay at Les Mars, and our stay was exceptional! It was our honeymoon, and the staff went the extra mile to make our visit wonderful! From the room upgrade, to complimentary champagne and chocolate strawberries, they made our stay perfect in every way. All of their restaurant recommendations were right on the mark, and we really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast served to our room. We loved the old world, classic style of the rooms, and the beds were so comfortable. The room was virtually soundproof, and the blackout shades allowed us to sleep in every morning. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!
Edward Sullivan

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kzinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just returned from staying at the Hotel Les Mars on a rainy weekend in February. It was very charming, comfortable, and well appointed. We loved having a fireplace in our room - especially given the weather over the weekend. It just made it that much more cozy and romantic. We also took advantage of their affiliation with Chalk Hill and Lancaster Wineries in Alexander Valley and visited both without any charge for tasting. Both are beautiful wineries - I especially loved Chalk Hill. Apparantely, it wasn't open to the public until 2010 and they've remodeled the tasting room to feel more like someone's living room - very classy and beautiful. A must visit. Check with the front desk as they also have some wineries in the town of Healdsburg that you can taste complimentary - just walk around the square and enjoy some great wines. Overall, we loved this hotel and would highly recommend it. It will make your trip to Healdsburg extra special!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanders9119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I've been intrigued by this property in the past, having dined at the famous restaurant that used to be here before. This time, we got to actually stay here in the Wine Country off season (early January) for a weekend at an off-peak price.
First, it seems a bit odd that this property is categorized in the B&B section, and not hotels. But as it only has 16 rooms, it has the personal service of a B&B (staff who wear several hats and know your name, room service breakfast, etc.) set in a luxury (small) hotel property, with an attached restaurant (Chalkboard) open for lunch/dinner. It is not a big busy hotel with dozens of staff members and guests milling about the property.
First off, don't expect a valet to be waiting outside the door to park your car. This is only a 16-room property with maybe 2-3 staff members inside at a time. Just park out front, and step inside to check in. They'll park your car later.
The staff members do wear multiple hats (the person who checks you in may also park your car, bring your breakfast, or fix your TV), which is charming in a Fawlty Towers kind of way (though here they are more than competent). The property is small, but beautifully appointed. A quiet but grand lobby with staircase, and the rooms are wonderful. More than enough room, we were upgraded from an Estate King to Salon King (high ceilings), which included a gas fireplace, TV, wardrobe closet, chairs and small lounging table to enjoy in front of the fireplace, and small desk and chair with wifi. The bed was a tall canopy king bed, and the mattress was so comfortable we slept like logs (and asked for the brand when we left). The bathroom was grand, including the largest enclosed shower space I've seen (including a rain shower), toilet, and bidet (!).
It was a bonus to find that the rooms also had an in-room safe and access to a small but perfectly functional executive exercise room on the 3rd floor (including treadmill, bike, elliptical, and set of small free weights). The pool is closed over the winter, so we didn't experience that (though it looked nice from the room).
For the included breakfasts, you fill out your choices (yogurt, fruit, pastries, juice and coffee included; other items like eggs, oatmeal, smoothie, etc. can be added a la carte), including the time you want it delivered, and leave the form on your door the night before. We didn't try the pastries, but the oatmeal, eggs, and smoothie were great when delivered the next morning.
The property is affiliated with the Chalk Hill Winery (about 20 min away), and can arrange for an estate tour and tasting quite easily.
The location is great. Not right on the square, but a block or two away, everything (shops, restaurants, tasting rooms) are just steps away. We had a room facing the back and didn't have significant noise problems, though this was off season, and Healdsburg itself seemed very quiet (near empty restaurants and streets, quiet shops). We actually enjoyed having the town almost to ourselves, and found it quite relaxing.
Overall, we really enjoyed our visit to Healdsburg and the Hotel Les Mars, and would love to come back. It was a unique luxury boutique experience, unlike the B&Bs and luxury hotels I've stayed in before. Yes, it is quite expensive, but given the luxury label and the location, not unexpected. If it is within your budget, I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
197 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
8.4 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux

Address: 27 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Healdsburg
Price Range: £364 - £568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2005 and created by the Mars family, Hotel Les Mars brings the elegance and unobtrusive service of the finest European family hotels to Northern California. Hotel Les Mars follows the philosophy that patrons should be treated more like visiting friends than guests, and upon entering the lobby, visitors are welcomed to the warm smiles of the hotel staff, unique 17th and 18th century antiques, and a comfort found only at the home of a very good friend. Hotel Les Mars represents an intimate location, a labor of love, and a new dimension of sophisticated, luxury lodging in wine country. Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report, the definitive guide to luxury travel, commented that "Les Mars now sets the standard for luxury accommodations in Sonoma." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Mars, Relais And Chateaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing