We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Les Mars Fascists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Les Mars Fascists”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2008

My wife, daughter and I tried to stay at Les Mars with ample vacancy, they said the mere sight /soundsof a 6 year old child would offend their guests. As a mixed race couple, we are deeply offended by the notion that somehow a well behaved little girl could ruin a weekend. Certainly, if they believe their guests are offended by mixed race or children, then we dont want to stay their. i would encourage all to avoid this hotel or any Relais & Chateaux hotel/restaurant as this policy clearly comes from the top.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank ironmansf2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    17
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
177
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

Beautiful rooms; an intimate, small hotel; an extraordinarily accommodating staff--staying at Les Mars was a great experience. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

Absolutely gorgeous. Flawless service. Over the top beautiful room. Make a reservation at Cyrus for a once in a lifetime amazing dinner. Splurge on Les Mars for a truly luxurious upscale romantic getaway. It's just a block from town square, which is cute and has some good shopping and other good dining optons.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UTtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

We stayed several nights last November. Our 15th anniversary and first visit to Sonoma/Napa. Les Mars is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in, including 'big name' 5-star places on several continents. We especially appreciated the small size and unpretentious elegance; everything had been thought of and was included (okay, appropriate given the prices), all staff were outstanding! Certainly not an inexpensive getaway but absolutely fabulous!

  • Liked — Elegance, Quiet, Good location for touring Sonoma Valley.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BabyBlueOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

My husband and I were looking for a quick getaway within driving distance and stayed one night at Les Mars Hotel in Healdsburg. The experience exceeded all of our expectations!

Our large beautifully appointed antique room was so luxurious we couldnt decide whether to spend the entrie day in the room and at the pool or to explore the adorable town of healdsburg! We did a little bit of both!

From the moment we checked in we were treated like very important guests from all the staff--from top to bottom! We met the GM, a gracious woman named Katie Ciocca, who is so warm and professional. She poured some exquisite Sonoma Valley wines and offered us cheeses in the library at 5 pm. We met several interesting guests from San Francisco and a couple who flew in for the week's stay on their private jet from Texas.

It is the only Relais and Chateux property in the entire Sonoma Valley. We have stayed at all the upscale hotels in both the Napa Valley and the Sonoma Valley and by far, Les Mars had the best service, rooms, staffing--including the concierge--and breakfast!!

Although we could only get away from both business and family obligations for 24 hours, it felt like we had a true mini vacation from all the daily pressures. Next trip I hope we can spend a few more nights as there are so many places to explore in and around Healdsburg. It was a truly memorable visit and i give it the highest recommendation possible! Thank you Les Mars!!!!

  • Liked — elegance of property
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amynapavalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa Valley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

In my search for boutique properties in Northern California that cater to the elite traveler I have come upon a gem in the heart of Sonoma County's wine country...Les Mars Hotel, nestled in the quaint town of Healdsburg, is just that property. Embodying the truest sense of luxury, Les Mars offers a well educated and friendly staff, impeccable service and well thought out room furnishings and appointments. The renowned Restaurant Cyrus is found within Les Mars Hotel and the competent and amiable staff of Les Mars is more than willing to try and secure you that highly coveted reservation...and anything else you should need! What a lovely getaway and treat for the luxury traveler!

Monica Collins, All Access Napa Valley

  • Liked — Service Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllAccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

My fiancee and I stayed at Hotel Les Mars earlier this month and had a terrific stay. Service was exceptional from the moment we had arrived. We were upgraded, without asking, to the best room in this lovely boutique hotel. Prior to arrival, we were contacted directly by the hotel General Manager who offered to make dining reservations for us which we declined. Naturally, we checked in around 4pm and were asked again if they could help us get a reservation in town and we asked if they would be able to get us into Cyrus. We were told 8pm would be great and were truly appreciative of them pulling this off, as Cyrus being one of the best restaurants in wine country. We were celebrating our first anniversary of being engaged and our stay couldn't have been better. Breakfast was served to us the next morning and arrived within the exact minute we had requested and was the best breakfast I have ever eaten. The amenities are outstanding, you can't hear a thing going on outside your room and the staff is incredible. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WinefreakCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.1 mi away
Duchamp Hotel Private Suites
10.2 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Address: 27 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-3827
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2005 and created by the Mars family, Hotel Les Mars brings the elegance and unobtrusive service of the finest European family hotels to Northern California. The Mars family follows the philosophy that patrons should be treated more like visiting friends than guests, and upon entering the lobby, visitors are welcomed to the warm smiles of the hotel staff, unique 17th and 18th century antiques, and a comfort found only at the home of a very good friend.Hotel Les Mars represents a unique family project, a labor of love, and a new dimension of sophisticated, luxury lodging in wine country. Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report, the definitive guide to luxury travel, commented that "Les Mars now sets the standard for luxury accommodations in Sonoma." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Mars, Relais And Chateaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing