We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed 27 August 2007

The hotel is very clean and beautiful. However, for being in the epicenter of the wine country and being red wine drinkers we were very surprised that at 1000 dollars per night the front desk told us they "prefer only white wines in the room". We were greeted upon our arrival by a bottle of white wine at room temperature with no ice machine or fridge to cool the wine. At the risk of sounding like a wine snob, it was dissappointing to find a bottle served at the wrong temperature and a front desk of an expensive hotel unwilling to trade for a red wine. We also arrived back at the hotel after a long bike trip and were told by the front desk that they could not bring us soda (Ice and Coke) to our room. This is especially unusual since the hotel lobby opens directly into the Cyrus restaurant with a very large bar. The hotel staff fails to offer the customer service you would expect of a hotel claiming so many stars and charging one thousand dollars per night. Overall, a very pretty clean hotel with a great location but do NOT expect anything beyond a room key and a HUGE bill once you walk into the hotel.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — poor customer service once you checked in at hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Jac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    18
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
180
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
basalt, colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2007

I have just returned from 3 nights at the Les Mars Hotel - or should I say 3 nights in heaven! Our room (#207) was large, quiet and beautifully furnished. I loved the turn down service w/box of chocolates, water carafe at bedside, slippers laid out on linen, music playing and curtains drawn. This is a very detail oriented hotel. There were fresh roses in the room and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on!
The location of the hotel is excellent - right off the main plaza in the darling town of Healdsburg. We really enjoyed our stay here and thought it was worth the price.
The staff seemed to genuinely like their jobs and were all very happy and courteous. I also loved the calm atmosphere of the property.
If you are looking for an elegant room w/gorgeous furnishings in a hotel w/a great location, I recommend this hotel. We have stayed at numerous other hotels in the wine country and this place is special.

  • Liked — large, quiet, gorgeous room
  • Disliked — that I cannot live there
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soprissimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2006

My wife and I spent two nights here during the week in November 2006. A couple of years ago we had stayed at the Healdsburg Hotel, which we found very flawed, so we spent (at least) twice the money to try Les Mars. We enjoyed it much more than the Healdsburg, but I think they need to make a few improvements to truly justify the high prices.

On the positive side, the bed was amazingly comfortable. Was it the linens? The big four poster bed? I'm not sure, but I could harldy believe how wonderful it was. We stayed in room 305, on the top floor, and the high ceilings were nice. The room also had a great whirlpool tub. The room was perfectly quiet. We felt like we were the only guests in the hotel, although we knew we weren't. The breakfasts were perfect--focus on quality, not quantity. In general, it did feel like a fine high-end European hotel, which is unusual in CA.

For the price of the room, which was over $800/night, we would expect perfection, but there were a few flaws. The hotel advertises free Internet access, but I wasn't able to get connected with my laptop, neither with wireless nor Ethernet. The desk clerk's only suggestion was to reboot my laptop. No luck there. Further, even if the cable connection had worked, the cable outlet wasn't at the desk, it was at the bedside.

My wife complained about the fact that there was just a single sink in the bathroom, with no separate space for applying makeup. Also, the closet and drawer space is very small--this would be a problem if you had more than a couple of days worth of clothes.

The restaurant Cyrus, in the hotel, is a destination restaurant, meaning it's in high demand and reservations are difficult to get. The hotel doesn't seem to have any special access to reservations, which is a disappointment. We were able to get into the restaurant after a last-minute cancellation, but this was on our own, with no help from the hotel. The restaurant was indeed special, though.

Other reviewers have complained about the lack of parking, but the hotel staff parked my car for me and this wasn't a problem for us. The hotel staff was young, but very pleasant, and we have no complaints about them.

Overall, it was much nicer than the Healdsburg Hotel, but not yet perfect. I hope that the owners will listen to feedback to make the improvements necessary to make this place what it has the potential to be--a special retreat in the wine country.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank Mr_Hotel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2006

What a beautiful and gracious hotel. It was well appointed and the service was wonderful. Formal yet welcoming. Central to the charming town and surrounding wineries. Would definitely consider Les Mars for another stay. We were thrilled to be among the first guests!

  • Liked — Actually, it was both the room and the service.
  • Stayed May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2006

I had a most enjoyable stay at Les Mars Hotel—the next best thing to a weekend in the Loire Valley in France. I arrived in the afternoon—and while the hotel does not have its own parking lot, there was plenty of parking within 50 feet of the front door. The Lobby and public rooms are in the grand chateaux style and after a speedy check in—I was escorted to my room on the 3rd floor. The accommodations exceeded my high expectations. Decorated like a grand private residence, the room had two double beds, overflowing with crisp white Italian linen and crowned with an elegant drapery, pulled back by silk tassels. It was dramatic to say the least. The fireplace and antique armoire gave the room the feeling of the French countryside—albeit a home of a member of the French aristocracy!

The bathroom was enormous and filled with white marble with a hydro-tub, glass shower, bidet and full size Bulgari toiletries. Little touches like heavy lead crystal glass and Irish linen lining the bathroom drawers made me think of other Grand Hotels like the Hotel de Crillon and the Dorchester. I was delighted that Healdsburg could boast a hotel of the same caliber.

The small pool in the back of the hotel was a great way to spend an hour in the afternoon.

Breakfast in the morning was just as elegant as the room—starting with a cup of coffee and fresh juice—locally grown fruit and a croissant and then a flavorful quiche all served on bone china with fine linens and silver. I was very satisfied with the meal and the friendly service.

Les Mars in not inexpensive—but the quality is there for certain. It was easy to imagine that I had slipped away to the French countryside—within 90’s minutes drive of San Francisco, and without a passport.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Clefsdorsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2006

The rooms at Les Mars were nicely decorated with nice toiletries/ bedding etc however our room was very noisy ( they switched the kitchen fans on at 5.30am and the whole room started to rattle ( even though we had a top floor room). We called to reception who knew exactly what the problemn was & turned off the fans 20 mins later. We booked about a month in advance and were unable to get a dinner reservation before 9.30pm so unfortunately did not get to experience the restaurant Cyrus, which was very disappointing. It would be good if they kept some of their tables for hotel guests to dine in house. The bath had a jet system which we were excited to try (not all rooms have baths - check when you make the reservation becuase many only have a shower). The bath whirlpool was not a pleasant experienec for us - too powerful & no way to turn it down. Pool was small & too cold to use.

The service we experienced at check in and breakfast was formal and not very warm & friendly. The breakfast was very good although there was no choice - set menu - we had salmon frittata which I loved but my husband did not care for fish for breakfast. As with other comments there were no refills etc. Presentation. china etc was beautiful. Wine & cheese reception in the evening was a nice touch. For the money we would choose to stay elsewhere when we return to Healdsburg

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank faye f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 May 2006

The Les Mars Hotel bills itself as fine hotel in the European tradition. Having stayed at some truly fine hotels in Europe, both small and large, I can say that the Les Mars is severely lacking in many areas. Service was indifferent and for the price charged, there were very few amenities. When we arrived, there was no space to leave the car, nor did there seem to be anyone at the door. We circled around twice before parking a block away and dragging our luggage down the street ourselves. When we mentioned the parking situation at check-in to the woman at the front, we were met with a shrug. The room itself was fine, if a little noisy from street traffic. The bed was above average and very comfortable. Unfortunately, the room is about all you get. There is no room service, no fitness room, no spa, no grounds to wander, no nice public areas to relax. There is a small library and pool, but not very inviting.
The food at breakfast was very good, but again, the service indifferent. No refills on coffee and perfunctory service. Most, if not all, the negatives would be acceptable if we were staying at a tourist class hotel, but for the prices the Les Mars charges, we found the hotel to be severly lacking. You will get the experience of paying for a fine, first class hotel, but you will not get the experience of staying at a fine first class hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.1 mi away
Duchamp Hotel Private Suites
10.2 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Address: 27 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-3827
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2005 and created by the Mars family, Hotel Les Mars brings the elegance and unobtrusive service of the finest European family hotels to Northern California. The Mars family follows the philosophy that patrons should be treated more like visiting friends than guests, and upon entering the lobby, visitors are welcomed to the warm smiles of the hotel staff, unique 17th and 18th century antiques, and a comfort found only at the home of a very good friend.Hotel Les Mars represents a unique family project, a labor of love, and a new dimension of sophisticated, luxury lodging in wine country. Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report, the definitive guide to luxury travel, commented that "Les Mars now sets the standard for luxury accommodations in Sonoma." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Mars, Relais And Chateaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing