We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious hosts, delicious breakfast, great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bella Villa Messina Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gracious hosts, delicious breakfast, great location”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I normally stay at hotels on our vacations. For a number of reasons, we were somewhat unimpressed with the choices that were available in the Healdsburg area so decided to give Bella Villa Messina a try. Needless to say, we did not regret our decision! The Villa is located only minutes from the town's Main Street as well as the wineries of the surrounding areas.

We stayed in the Burgundy Room which was the perfect size for a couple - queen sized bed, own shower/tub, own fireplace in a quiet corner on the top floor. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels provided.

Jerry and Harold were lovely and gracious hosts and known at a number of the wineries. Jerry's breakfasts were to die for. The Hawaiian Bread French Toast was a must. He even woke up exceptionally early to make us Eggs Benedict before our early departure. Their knowledge of the wineries in the area and tailored itineraries were exceptionally helpful for Sonoma newbies like us.

We will be returning to Bella Villa Messina and highly recommend you schedule your stay there as well!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bcatgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    16
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
21
421
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arley, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Jerry and Harold are two of the nicest guys you would ever want to meet. After reading the previous reviews, we knew we were not going to be hit with any unpleasant surprises at the Villa. And we were not. Only great surprises! The villa is stunningly beautiful, filled worth Harold's gorgeous antique collection and every piece has a story. The pictures will show you the beauty of the Villa, but Jerry's knowledge of the vineyards, restaurants and recommendations on where to go when were a total surprise. Do not plan anything, just ask or tell Jerry or Harold what wines and vineyards you are interested in visiting and a map will be in your hand and wineries marked and directions given before you can say, "Thank you ever so".
The breakfasts were divine and the French Toast will make you cry, along with the delicious Heirloom tomato salads. The restaurant recommendation were spot on and we had quality meals everywhere . And I haven't even mentioned the wonderful people we met at the Villa or the comfy mattresses. You will only be happy that you made the right decision to stay here. Wine and appetizers at 5:00 ... Don't forget!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bramsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our stay at the Bella Messina was wonderful. Jerry and Harold are great hosts. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evening and the breakfast was great. The rooms are comfortable and the setting is beautiful. We enjoyed meeting their three dogs as well. Jerry gave us great recommendations for which restaruants to eat at and which wineries to visit. We enjoyed being "Jerry's kids" for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjk827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I went back to Bella Villa Messina to celebrate our 5 year anniversary in Sonoma county and Jerry and Harold went out of their way to make it a fantastic experience. Jerry's hospitality and attention to detail makes it an absolute pleasure to stay at Bella Villa Messina. You couldn't ask for better hosts. Jerry's knowledge of the region and wineries makes planning the day trips fun and exciting; his recommendations are spot on. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay from the wonderful breakfast (best french toast I've ever eaten) to the beautiful accommodations in the burgundy room. If you're looking for a bed and breakfast in Sonoma county this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was my first experience at a B & B and my husband & I were not disappointed! Jerry & Harold went out of their way to make us feel at home & the wine happy hour at the end of each day was one of the highlights of our stay. Jerry made sure that each of his guests had their day planned & made great suggestions for wineries & restaurants before heading out for the day. The villa is beautiful & the accommodations were above our expectations. Especially loved their 3 little Westies & the 2 llamas we could watch from the beautiful patio!

Room Tip: The French Room & the Asti Room are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Bella Villa Messina recently in the Burgundy room. This was our first time staying at a B&B and we picked this place based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. Well, the ranking of #1 is truly bang on and we enjoyed everything about this wonderful B&B. The burgundy room was lovely, comfy bed and very clean. From the moment we arrived at the Villa Jerry and Harold made us feel right at home. The breakfast was wonderful and different every morning with a fantastic 360 view of the mountains. Jerry was a tremendous help in suggesting and mapping out what wineries to visit, where to eat lunch and dinner. He even provided us with a cooler, ice and water for us to have a picnic at one of the wineries. Plus, we really enjoyed the cocktail hour each night with great wine and wonderful cheeses, olives, nuts, etc while we mingled outside watching the sunset – it was just magical! We really recommend Bella Messina – you can’t go wrong staying here!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Burgundy room upstairs, comfy queen size bed with a fireplace and big bathroom with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbelanger43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bella Villa Messina this May to celebrate out 1 yr wedding anniversary. The owners Jerry and Harold are wonderful and truly make you feel like you are home. This was our first time staying at a B&B and it did not disappoint. Breakfast was wonderful, and the french toast is not to be missed. We really enjoyed the nightly wine and cheese hour with Jerry, Harold, and the other guests.

We stayed in the Asti room, it was very large, comfortable, and clean. We enjoyed the balcony and it was great to lay out there and read at the end of the day.

We have told countless friends about the Bella Villa Messina and we can't wait to go back again next year. There is a reason they are ranked #1, the hospitality is top notch.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJWong23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
2.1 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
570 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
2.5 mi away
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Villa Messina Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Villa Messina Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bella Villa Messina Bed and Breakfast
Address: 316 Burgundy Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Villa Messina Sits atop the Historical Simi Winery Reservoir tank. Minutes from the town of Healdsburg overlooking 400 thousand acres. We offer Southern hospitality with Italian charm. Cheese wines cocktail hour served around sunset. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing