We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerry and Harold's wonderful B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bella Villa Messina Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
1 review
“Jerry and Harold's wonderful B & B”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We've stayed at a number of B&B's over our travel's. This one tops them all. From the warm and genuine greeting, to our cocktail hour on the deck overlooking the beautiful hills of Sonoma, to Jerry's breakfasts of plenty, and Harold's recounting of a fascinating life, this visit was superb. These folks love what they do, and it shows. The wonderful facility they have is almost an afterthought, but is spotless, warm, comfortable, and inviting. Their "joie de vivre" is infectious and do they know how to have fun!
We will be back as soon as time allows!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    16
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
21
417
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Not enough good things to say about our stay. Jerry is very welcoming and a fount of knowledge about all things in Sonoma. Our room was spotless and very comfortable but who goes to stay in their room when in a beautiful place like Healdsburg. The wine, seasonal tomatoes and cheeses were delicious and plentiful. Jerry was the perfect host and the breakfast French toast was unbelievable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbob44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Wonderful rooms, amazingly comfortable beds, and fantastic service. Evening wine reception was great, and the time was spent so wonderfully learning about things to do and places to visit in Healdsburg. Breakfast was so yummy! Can't wait to go see Jerry and Harold again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rndmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at VBM last week. Jerry & Harold were amazing hosts! The property,room and views were lovely. The wine & cheese, delicious breakfast & hospitality was second to none.
We highly recommend it and look forward to a return visit. Thanks so much for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I were celebrating our 5 year anniversary with a trip through San Francisco, Carmel, Napa and Sonoma. Most of the trip was spent at Marriott's with points, but we splurged on our anniversary night for one night at Bella Villa Messina and we are so glad that we did!
The home is beautiful and Jerry made us feel at home even though we were only staying for one night. We were the youngest of his guests, but we had a great time at wine and cheese with the other guests in part because Jerry makes everyone feel like a big family around his table. We stayed in the French Room which had a wonderful spa tub and very comfortable bed.
Jerry got us reservations at a great Italian restaurant (which had a line out the door), and helped us set up our trip south through Sonoma at various wineries, none of which we regretted going to. The first few referred to us as "Jerry's Kids" and treated us like friends, with their first question being "What was for breakfast?"
Breakfast in itself would have made the stay, with delicious French toast, bacon and fruit.
It is definitely on the high end of our budget, but when we were getting in our car my wife concurred that it was worth every penny!
I would highly recommend this place to anyone celebrating a special occasion and wanting a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kptmorgan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from a vacation in California and we were fortunate to have found the Bella Villa Messina B&B. We were only able to stay one night but it was the high point of our vacation. The property was beautiful and the view from our room was amazing.

We stayed in the Italian room which was beautifully decorated. The owners Jerry and Harold decorated the rooms with an amazing attention to detail and every one of our needs was anticipated and fulfilled.

There was a happy hour in the evening with wine and an assortment of snacks and a delicious home cooked breakfast in the morning where we met the other people staying there. Jerry gave us advice on where to go wine tasting and we were treated first class as one of his guests.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy,Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast and it was great.Jerry takes great care of you starting with breakfast.He also is very connected and can get hard reservation that I couldn't get.
He saved me loads of time by basically mapping my whole day and the best part I drank more wines by mentioning his name.You would think I am kidding but the day before I was getting 1 ounce pours of maybe 3 wines to the next day 2 ounce pours of every wine listed usually eight.If you have a choice choose the Asti room.

Room Tip: Choose Asti room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmyoung281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
2.1 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
2.0 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
563 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Villa Messina Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Villa Messina Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bella Villa Messina Bed and Breakfast
Address: 316 Burgundy Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Villa Messina Sits atop the Historical Simi Winery Reservoir tank. Minutes from the town of Healdsburg overlooking 400 thousand acres. We offer Southern hospitality with Italian charm. Cheese wines cocktail hour served around sunset. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing