We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for nicer hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Villa Messina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bella Villa Messina
Ranked #1 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for nicer hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were celebrating our twentieth wedding anniversary with a short visit to Healdsburg and stayed with Jerry and Harold. We were entertained and treated like long lost friends even though it was our first visit. They could not have been any nicer to us and their home was beautiful and it made our anniversary unforgettable. The room was great. The views were great and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    16
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
20
409
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent 3 nights with Jerry and Harold. Jerry's breakfasts are indeed excellent (more kudos for the Hawaiian French Toast), and his advice about the area helps you plan your days. Every spot that he recommended was excellent, including the scenic areas and the wineries. Plan to be around 5:30-6:30 for happy hour - a great way to unwind and chat about the day before heading out to dinner.

We really enjoyed out stay!

Room Tip: The Burgundy, French, and Asti rooms are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dm16tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmont, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a great time staying in the Italian room for a long weekend. Jerry and Harold put out a tremendous dose of hospitality and knowledge of the area. The breakfasts and happy hours were great and made for great conversation with our hosts and other guests. The French Toast was my favorite breakfast item, so be sure to ask Jerry about that one. Jerry also would call in reservations for us at some of the great restaurants in Healdburg and had great recommendations for vineyards in the area for wine tastings. They both really went the extra mile to ensure we had a great vacation!

Thanks again!
Jon

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JonHeimall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This bed and breakfast was as wonderful as everyone has made it out to be. Jerry and Harold were amazing hosts who gave us a true home away from home. Their house is immaculate with perfect views of this beautiful area. Jerry provided great home cooked breakfasts each morning and the happy hour was a lot of fun. We enjoyed getting to know the other guests as the environment was very intimate yet we also had the privacy and space we needed. Jerry and Harold were very knowledgable of the areas and really helped make our trip complete!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxtw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a pleasant surprise to drive up to this beautiful house on a hill overlooking the Dry Creek and Alexander Valley areas of Sonoma county. Jerry met us at the door and quickly ushered us in. The first words out of his mouth were, "this is your lucky day, I've upgraded you to the Asti Suite." This happens to be the best room in the house. A huge suite, complete with 4 poster bed, deck with loungers, fireplace, and a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The decor in all the rooms is simply spectacular. We soon learned that Harold is the antique collector, and both he and Jerry have quite the talent for decorating. Cocktail hour is a great time to hear Jerry and Harold's many stories. Jerry will steer you in the right direction for wine tasting and dinner reservations. Willi's and Bacci in Healdsburg were fantastic! You will not be disappointed, and don't want to miss an opportunity to experience this wonderful place! Jim & Cindi

Room Tip: All rooms are quaint and beautifully decorated. We recommend you try the Asti Suite if you want a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bella Villa Messina this summer on a weekend getaway to wine country. We had a fantastic time and Jerry and Harold could not have been more hospitable. Cocktail hour was unforgettable as was the breakfast each morning. Jerry mapped out activities which best suited us and got us a reservation at a great restaurant. We had a blast!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catheryne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solebury, Pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

As a former airline employee, my wife and I still travel quite a bit. Bella Villa Messina is, by far, the best B&B we have ever used. The facilities and grounds are exceptional and well maintained. The very personal service, and attention to detail, by the owners, Harold and Jerry, is beyond anything else we have experienced. This place is the "real-deal" for that "special, getaway vacation." If you go, be sure to use Jerry's advice on local dining, sightseeing, and entertainment. . .he really knows the area and will keep you away from the tourist traps. And, YES, we will definitely be going back! Phil and Janice Shadle-Solebury, Pa.

Room Tip: Use the Bella Villa Messina website and ASK QUESTIONS. Some rooms have gas log fireplaces and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
2.1 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
1.6 mi away
Calderwood Inn
Calderwood Inn
#4 of 15 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Villa Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Villa Messina

Property: Bella Villa Messina
Address: 316 Burgundy Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9608
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Villa Messina Sits atop the Historical Simi Winery Reservoir tank. Minutes from the town of Healdsburg overlooking 400 thousand acres. We offer Southern hospitality with Italian charm. Cheese wines cocktail hour served around sunset. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing