We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calderwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calderwood Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

The Calderwood Inn is one of those places you just don't want to leave. From the accomidations to that great cooking that Mary wakes you up with each morning, it's totally fantastic. We've stayed here on different occasions and each time the consistancy is well noted. It's our go to place for elegant relaxation and "make you feel like family" care and treatment. Simply put...the best!

Room Tip: I would tell you my favorite room, but you might just book it the same time I want to go!!! Sorry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    36
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
184
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We only stayed a couple of nights of our week long trip, but I wish we would have stayed here longer. The welcome and laid back atmosphere was fabulous and the charm of the 100 year old mansion was superb. The people running the place were also fantastic and the breakfasts were truly special. The whole B&B charm is really worth staying at the Calderwood for, but with it's location in Healdsburg, it gets even better. You can walk to basically the entire downtown area, yet access to 101 for quick in and out trips is also convenient.

In addition to the accomodations, and people, the "wine receptions" are also fun. If you like Wilson's artisan wineries, and why wouldn't you - you can;t go wrong here. The bottom line is - come stay a while! We will, when we get back out to the area again!

Thanks guys for a wonderful time - enjoyed the chats, wine and food!

Room Tip: Check out the options as all rooms have something different to offer. We liked the Wilson room, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Calderwood Inn exceeded my boyfriend and my expectations, and we had very high expectations after reading the reviews.
-Great location - So close to downtown
-Beautiful Home (felt like I was touring one of those historical homes where you can't touch anything, and we got to sleep in the beds, use the tub, and hang out in the living room)
-Tremendously Romantic
-VERY friendly Innkeepers
-Tasty Breakfast
-Awesome wine hour
We stayed in the Wilson Room, and were very happy with it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellieO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We've been to Healdsburg many times but this was our first visit to Calderwood Inn. It is an ideal location walking distance to downtown Healdsburg yet nestled away from all of the hustle and bustle. We stayed in the Wilson room which was the only room on the first floor. It is directly across from the kitchen so there was minimal kitchen noise in the AM but never so early that it was a bother. The room was quite large and had a great gas fireplace and french doors to the back porch. Although the bathroom furnishings were old (as one would expect in this type of B&B) they were just fine. In fact the clawfoot tub had a rainshower head that was fantastic and offered ample water pressure. Mary was a delight throughout the whole process from booking, making our dinner reservation and making some amazing breakfasts! The wine and cheese hour was the highlight of our stay. We were able to taste FANTASTIC local cheese and FANTASTIC local wines while meeting other guests. We truly enjoyed that aspect of the Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was my third visit here, but my first under the current ownership of the Wilson's. This time I was here for a Matrix winemaker dinner weekend and I was not disappointed. We stayed in the Delormier room, which I really liked. If I had any criticism of the room, it would be that the shower is small. The staff was very friendly and Mary made a fabulous breakfast both mornings. I love the location here....so easy to walk to the square for dinner and strolling. I never tire of looking at the wallpaper on the ceiling here. I have never seen anything quite like it. I am sure we will be back again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaBettyBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

A perfect place for a special weekend. The house is beautifully decorated with special attention to wallpapers, furnishings, etc. which suit the house but are inviting and comfortable. Breakfasts were delightful and yummy. Very comfy beds. Staff was unobtrusive yet helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

This was our second trip to Calderwood Inn and we loved it again. Mary, the inkeeper is great - informative, fun to talk with, great with suggestions and directions, not to mention she's a great chef! Breakfasts were wonderful, as were the "Wine Hour" appetizers. The house iself is a beautiful old Victorian with a great front veranda (with swing) and plenty of gathering space inside. The wall paper in the house is truely amazing. The bedrooms are very nicely appointed. And, you can't beat their off-season special - 2 night for the in-season price of one night, plus a $75 gift certificate to local restaurants and free wine tasting at 8 local wineries. Very convenients located within walking distance of the downtown square and restaurants. One minor improvement suggestion - replace queen beds with kings. Regardless, we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobfrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.5 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.4 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
7.1 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calderwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calderwood Inn

Property: Calderwood Inn
Address: 25 W Grant St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4804
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calderwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known on the California and Sonoma County Landmarks Registry as the John Miller House, this historic Queen Anne Victorian was built in 1902. Miller was a prominent fruit grower, packer and dehydrator in the early 1900s. He was also one of the first to make a commercial business of marketing dehydrated fruit. Among Miller's claims to fame is that he was the first provider to the U.S. Military of dehydrated foods. Known as K-rations during WW I and MREs today, Miller was cited by the military for "feeding the troops during WW I". (1) Miller and his wife were, like many prominent citizens of the community, anxious to furnish their home lavishly. The home is reputed to be the first in Healdsburg with two bathrooms, with indoor plumbing upstairs and downstairs.The noted horticulturist, Luther Burbank, was a good friend and assisted in the design and development of the original landscape at the front of the home, some of which remains today. The large cedar, cypress, and redwood heritage trees were planted by Burbank over 100 years ago. The lush grounds have been accented with rose bushes and numerous flowering shrubs. The same archaeological report from Sonoma State University indicates that some of the first plantings of some of Burbank's new species were planted on the Miller property. Sadly, the location and botanical name of the plants were never recorded. It is unknown if they remain on the property today.The home remained in the Miller family until the late 1930s and was a private residence until the early 1980s when it became a Bed and Breakfast. The inn has undergone extensive restoration over the years. Beautiful hand-silk screened period wall and ceiling papers accent the spacious common areas and some guest rooms. The papers are produced by Bradbury & Bradbury of Benicia, CA and are based on designs of William Morris, a prominent textile designer of the mid- to late 1800s.The formal, yet welcoming rooms include a spacious parlor with fireplace-the perfect place to enjoy the morning paper or a board game on a quiet afternoon. The spacious dining room that seats up to 14 showcases original wainscoting and built-in china cabinet and bench. The large antique table is where guests dine on Calderwood's signature gourmet breakfasts. The covered front porch with its antique wicker furniture and lacquered floor beckons you to enjoy the lush grounds, review the activities of your day or curl up with a good book. The porch is often used by local wineries who frequently co-host our complimentary evening wine hour. All nine guest rooms have private baths. Each room is decorated differently to incorporate an extensive collection of beautiful, yet comfortable period ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Calderwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing