We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hotel. Right Off the Square. Nice Rooms. Great Stay.”
Review of Camellia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camellia Inn
Ranked #8 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from our second stay at stay at Camellia Inn. We had visited in the past during Christmas and this time we came in the summer for our Anniversary. The rooms are lovely, the sheets are so soft, the wine and cheese hour at the pool 5:30-6:30 is fun and the breakfast is great.

Camellia Inn is an ideal place to stay if you plan to spend your evenings tasting wine and enjoying the many fantastic restaurants downtown. They have parking in the back and it is just a few blocks from Cyrus, Dry Creek Kitchen, numerous tasting rooms and other fantastic restaurants. You can walk everywhere and not worry about cabs or designating a driver.

We just love staying here and will return... maybe in November so we can enjoy the lovely Thanksgiving decorations Lucy will have up!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beerpwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

This place was recommended by our bicycle tour company 'Wine Country Bike Tours' and it did not disappoint. Lucy and Archie were fabulous and a great source of information. The wine and cheese by the pool each night and the very friendly breakfasts allowed us to make new friends and trade stories for the day. When (not if) we go back, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. The inn is quaint and Lucy and Archie are very nice and a great source of information. We really enjoyed wine and cheese around the pool in the evening to find out what others had done that day.The breakfast is serve yourself (which we prefer) cereal, fruit, toast, "smoothie shot" and also a hot dish which is different each day We loved Healdsburg. You can walk to shops and restaurants and there is music in the park on some Tuesdays. We biked around Dry Creek and also along the Russian River. You can easily take daytrips to Lake Sonoma, Bodega Bay, Muir Woods, Sonoma, Calistoga and Napa. We left here and stayed in Sonoma for 2 days but wish we would have stayed here 7 days and just taken a day trip to Sonoma. The atmosphere is casual and easygoing, not pretentious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italygirlSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Camellia Inn to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We picked it because it was associated with Wine Country Bicycles, even though we ended up doing a bicycle tour with a different group. The Camellia Inn is a lovely old Victorian house a block off the square in Healdsburg. We walked or biked everywhere and did not need our car. The inn is very quaint -- lots of antiques, doilies, etc. If you are looking for modern and new, this is not the place for you. But the Inn is lovely and well cared for and has everything you need and would expect in a nice B&B. The breakfast is terrific. We also enjoyed the fresh cookies every evening and the wine and cheese by the pool. We also enjoyed the pool (even though it was cold) after our hot bike ride. The innkeepers - Lucy and her husband (whose name escapes me at the moment) are great. All, in all, we highly recommend this place and will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majorprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed at the Camellia Inn for one night in June 2012. The entire staff was lovely & so helpful. The location is perfect - right in the downtown area. Easy walking distance to shops & restaurants. Lucy was a wealth of information & quite friendly.

Breakfast was very good & hearty, but I would not describe it as gourmet. There was a peach smoothie "shot", 2 juices, coffee, tea & milk. To eat, there was cereal, toast, yogurt, granola, pastry & an egg casserole. More than enough to please everyone!

We stayed in the Family Suite. It was perfect for our party of 3 ladies. The wallpaper & stenciled border were a little outdated, but the bedding was EXCELLENT! And the bathroom had beautiful granite countertops & a grogeous garden tub.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selenac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

As people who rarely go to the same place twice my wife and I have just returned to the Camellia Inn from Manchester, UK for the third time!!. What brings us back time and again? Well the warm welcome we receive from Lucy the owner, Archie her husband and the rest of the team is a great start.

In addition the Inn is full of charm and character with great en suite rooms and is ideally located close to the centre of Healdsberg where there are a number of great restaurants and places of interest. This type of accomodation is all about meeting and mixing with your fellow guests usually around the pool in the early evening for the complimentry cheese and wine or at the large breakfast table in the morning for Lucy's hearty breakfast where you can pick up tips for restaurants or wine tasting at one of the hundreds of wineries in the area.

Lucy and Archie are also great sources of information as well, regularly dining in the town and being active members in the local business community. As with all good inn keepers Lucy and her team make it seem so effortless but don't be fooled she works very hard to make the Camellia Inn a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All seem quiet and restful but our favourite is Moonglow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Sale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here for my fiance's 30th birthday celebration in May 2012. The location is great, just a couple minute walk to the main square of Healdsburg which has countless restaurants and wine bars. The staff was great, very helpful with information and recommendations. Everything was clean and well done. The place has old charm. I'd recommend this to anyone and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d7smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
498 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Inn

Address: 211 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: £209 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camellia Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 50 varieties of its signature camellias, the inn blends an authentic vintage environment with modern luxury amenities. Our professional staff works to think of everything you might need during your stay. The inn is located just steps from the historic Healdsburg Plaza, affording guests the opportunity to easily explore on foot the many specialty shops, antique stores, wine tasting rooms and trendy Zagat-rated restaurants. PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL TO BOOK DIRECTLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camellia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camellia Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing