We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but lovely”
Review of Camellia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camellia Inn
Ranked #7 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We recently stayed at the Camellia Inn in the town of Healdsburg. It is centrally located within walking distance of great shops and wonderful restaurants. The best was we did not have to do any driving when going to dinner.
The Inn itself is quaint not a four star but clean and comfortable and the staff is wonderful. We met an interesting group of people around the pool during the evening wine hour so breakfast the next morning was a lively affair as we shared where we ate dinner and what wineries to visit that day. Breakfast was good homecooked fare that everyone enjoyed, nothing gourmet but tasty.
The neighborhood is dotted with abandoned homes so it is a bit eclectic, but a wonderful restaurant, Zin, is just up the street that worked for us.
All in all a good place to stay,

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msbgd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Camellia Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Camellia Inn on the final leg of a 4 day bike tour through the wine country.

The Inn itself is pretty typical for a B&B - a little funky but clean and pleasant. Make sure you don't get the apartments or the cottage if you are expecting breakfast.

The host met us and was very friendly and welcoming. She suggested that we take a dip in the pool to cool off and told us about the wine and cheese at 5:00 that would be served out by the pool.

The wine and cheese wasn't fancy - the wines are bottled by a winery owned by the inn so it was fun tasting something new. A group of 10 or so had gathered for drinks and conversation - it was a lot of fun as we met couples from as far away as England.

After dinner we walked a couple blocks to dinner at one of the restaurants in Healdsburg where we had a wonderful dinner and struck up conversations with even more travelers.

Back at the inn my wife and I went for a swim under the stars before heading in to bed - where we discovered Godiva Chocolates and chocolate body paint.

We slept well (eventually) and in the morning had a very good breakfast around the big dining room table with many of the guests that we had met the night before. There were hot and cold options including fruit and cereal - eggs, ham and warm croissants.

The inn is in a great location to base your tour in the wine country as it is just off the main plaza in Healdsburg and within biking distance of the dry creek and russian river vinards.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveldad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We loved our stay at the Camellia Inn. It's a wonderful old Victorian full of charm and friendly people. The wine and cheese hour by the pool at 5:30 was a great way to exchange tips and restaurant plans with other guests, not to mention we were served award-winning wines from the Camellia Cellars. The owners were wonderfully generous and helpful. The room was very comfortable, well-appointed, and a great value. The breakfasts were great as well. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bkm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed in the budget room and it far exceeded my expectations. The room was small but very maneuverable and the bed was incredibly comfortable.The private bath right across the hall was enormous. Breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed socializing with the other guests around the lovely, large dining room table. There is also a wine happy hour around the pool that we thoroughly enjoyed.
Lucy is an exceptionally capable innkeeper, both professional and personable. We loved our stay at the Camellia Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We couldn't sleep all night. We stayed 4 people at the 2 bedroom downtown apartment in Healdsburg. The pictures the Camellia Inn showed looked nice on their website. But once you got to the place it was located between 2 restaurant kitchens. The extractors were so loud it was almost impossible to sleep. And to add more aggravation, starting around midnight the restaurants didn't stop dumping bottles into the recycling bins until almost 2:30 am. Truly a nightmare. We informed the management at the Camellia Inn the next day. They apologized and still charged us the $250 plus the $30 cleaning fee. I will never stay in any property managed by the Camellia Inn or the All Seasons Vacation Suites.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mandarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

We stayed at the Camellia in for 5 nights in early june of 2008. My experience there far exceeded my expectations. The inn and its facilities including breakfast, sitting rooms, and happy hour at the pool were all outstanding. Our room was beautiful. The location 2 blocks from downtown Healdsburg is very convenient for walking to area eateries and shops. However, the best resource is the staff. Lucy, the proprietor, and Ann, her innkeeper are the most lovely people and continually went out of there way to guide us in our activity selection and do everything in their power to ensure that our stay was a memorable one, and a vacation worth repeating. They succeeded. A first rate B&B.
-daniel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dnymrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We stay in B&Bs a fair amount and we found Camellia to be one of the nicest. The house is charming, with a large pool in the back. Our room was large, had good AC and a nice bathroom. Lucy and her staff were ready to help at all times. Breakfast is copious and tasty. Corny as it sounds, we felt "at home" and look forward to going back.
The Inn is two blocks from the main square in Healdsburg and you can take day trips to Sonoma wine country, Napa, the sea shore etc.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank jazzyepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Inn

Address: 211 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: £212 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camellia Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 50 varieties of its signature camellias, the inn blends an authentic vintage environment with modern luxury amenities. Our professional staff works to think of everything you might need during your stay. The inn is located just steps from the historic Healdsburg Plaza, affording guests the opportunity to easily explore on foot the many specialty shops, antique stores, wine tasting rooms and trendy Zagat-rated restaurants. PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL TO BOOK DIRECTLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Camellia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camellia Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing