We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, friendly, helpful, and a great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camellia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camellia Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Missouri
2 reviews
“Lovely, friendly, helpful, and a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

We had a wonderful stay at The Camellia Inn. Everyone was very helpful with information on wineries, tours, day trip to the coast, dinner reservations - anything. The room was lovely, breakfast wonderful and the location perfect for walking to restaurants and in town tasting rooms. We had reservations for two nights and extended to three after the first night. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RandJofSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    34
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
171
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

there are not enough wonderful things to say about our stay here. we were going to stay a few days, but then extended our stay to a week because the bed and breakfast so nice, the food was wonderful, and the owner lucy and managers ann and others were so kind and helpful each day helping us make plans for our activities. we had never been to healdsburg and enjoyed the town which is just a few blocks from the camellia inn. we visited wineries, a redwood forest, drove up the coast to mendocino, and drove to napa one day. we stayed at the camellia inn after we read other reviews in trip advisor. we were not disappointed. our stay was better that we even could have imagined. i travel frequently and always consult tripadvisor, but have never before been so impressed by someplace that i have written a review until now. i would definitely recommend the camellia inn, and will look forward to staying there again as soon as i can.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

We stayed at the Camellia Inn for three nights just before Thanksgiving 2008. The room was very well appointed with a comfortable queen size four poster bed, tiled shower and ample storage for our clothes. The room also had a gas fireplace which we used to heat up the room since it was about 50 degrees at night! It worked very well and added ambience. The rest of the house was elegantly decorated but not overdone as many Victorian B&Bs can tend to be. The living/front rooms were open for guests and were used in the evening wine and cheese tastings. There was a TV room downstairs but no TVs in the rooms (which we prefer). We were able to park our rented tandem bike in the garage and there was plenty of off-street parking for guests' cars. The pool looked lovely although it was closed for the season in November. The service was outstanding. Lucy asked every guest what their plans were for the evening and the next day and promptly suggested and arranged dining reservations, tasting reservations, etc. She even knew which restaurants had the best hamburgers in town and who was open on a Monday night for dinner. We had many questions and concerns about driving directions, hours of operation, and practical matters and Lucy always had an answer or a solution. The service, in a word, was outstanding. The morning breakfast buffet was very well balanced. There was fresh bread for toast, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, cereals, coffee, and tea. Every day there was a new smoothie and a freshly made and delicious breakfast entree. We enjoyed almond croissants with huevos rancheros one morning. There was something to satisfy every taste and appetite and lighter healthier options as well.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingboobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

Wonderful atmosphere, great inn keepers, enjoyed the wine! A refreshing change from hotel rooms. Try to get there for a Wednesday night and experience being "covered in chocolate". Good company around the breakfast table and good food too!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank threefold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

We stayed at the Camellia Inn last week and enjoyed it thoroughly. It is not located between two restaurants as Mandarina indicated. The breakfasts were wonderful and the innkeepers were very accommodating. Our room was very nice and included a separate bath, unlike other B&Bs that fit the bath, sink, and shower into the room in the strangest ways.

  • Liked — Lots of little things - fresh baked cookies on the buffet, pod coffee maker in the room, antiques, friendly staff,
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lanne625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

We don't usually write reviews but the people there were so nice. As a special act when we got back home we realized we had left a hat and phone charger. I emailed Lucy at the Inn and she promptly replied that they had already mailed the items to us. Thanks. We will echo the other good reviews as to the nice breakfast (served until a civilized 10:00am) and the 5:00pm wine and cheese gathering by the pool where you meet some nice people. Also while we are not wine experts the small wineries in northern Sonoma County were very nice without the high pressure of some Nappa wineries.

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — budget room kind of small
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gregIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

We recently stayed at the Camellia Inn in the town of Healdsburg. It is centrally located within walking distance of great shops and wonderful restaurants. The best was we did not have to do any driving when going to dinner.
The Inn itself is quaint not a four star but clean and comfortable and the staff is wonderful. We met an interesting group of people around the pool during the evening wine hour so breakfast the next morning was a lively affair as we shared where we ate dinner and what wineries to visit that day. Breakfast was good homecooked fare that everyone enjoyed, nothing gourmet but tasty.
The neighborhood is dotted with abandoned homes so it is a bit eclectic, but a wonderful restaurant, Zin, is just up the street that worked for us.
All in all a good place to stay,

  • Liked — location was perfect for our needs
  • Disliked — A bit "old" but most B&B's are that way
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Msbgd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.3 mi away
Haydon Street Inn B & B
Haydon Street Inn B & B
#7 of 15 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Inn

Property: Camellia Inn
Address: 211 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 50 varieties of its signature camellias, the inn blends an authentic vintage environment with modern luxury amenities. Our professional staff works to think of everything you might need during your stay. The inn is located just steps from the historic Healdsburg Plaza, affording guests the opportunity to easily explore on foot the many specialty shops, antique stores, wine tasting rooms and trendy Zagat-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camellia Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing